Post Reply

[How-to]Unlock/Re-lock Nexus 10 Bootloader

13th November 2012, 03:27 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Flag Hitchin, UK
Thanks Meter: 11
 
407 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Thank you, its been so long since I rooted my last device I've forgotten most of it - do I need a new SDK and if so where do I get it?

I'm running Mac OS X 10.7.5

Apoloiges for asking but it has completely left me.
13th November 2012, 11:33 PM   |  #12  
matt95's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Verona
Thanks Meter: 2,334
 
5,786 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lumsdoni

Thank you, its been so long since I rooted my last device I've forgotten most of it - do I need a new SDK and if so where do I get it?

I'm running Mac OS X 10.7.5

Apoloiges for asking but it has completely left me.

no you don't need a newer SDK, if you have the platform-tools and tools folder you are good to go...
14th November 2012, 02:08 AM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 74
 
320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Sdk has been updated

Sent from my SGH-I777 using xda app-developers app
14th November 2012, 01:20 PM   |  #14  
udimars30's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 204
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alias_neo

You should also mention in the OP that in order to re-lock you should flash back to STOCK images (if you have changed anything) otherwise the device will no longer boot.

yeah thanks for reminding dude
14th November 2012, 02:31 PM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Flag Hitchin, UK
Thanks Meter: 11
 
407 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt95

no you don't need a newer SDK, if you have the platform-tools and tools folder you are good to go...

Apologies but is there an online guide? Iv'e got no idea what I did before when I was on my Nexus One, I reckon I might as well delete the SDK and reinstall both SDK and Eclipse sO I can root with a clean system.

---------- Post added at 02:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:15 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt95

no you don't need a newer SDK, if you have the platform-tools and tools folder you are good to go...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lumsdoni

Apologies but is there an online guide? Iv'e got no idea what I did before when I was on my Nexus One, I reckon I might as well delete the SDK and reinstall both SDK and Eclipse sO I can root with a clean system.

It would appear it is a lot simpler now as you can download a sdk / eclipse bundle from here
14th November 2012, 06:12 PM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 737
 
1,779 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by alias_neo

You should also mention in the OP that in order to re-lock you should flash back to STOCK images (if you have changed anything) otherwise the device will no longer boot.

Why do you say that? I have my Galaxy Nexus locked again with a custom ROM and kernel and it works fine. Ive never seen mention of this non-booting thing if the bootloader is locked when running something custom
14th November 2012, 09:56 PM   |  #17  
Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
I unlocked the bootloader but now the tab will not start? I starts to the X of JB and then nothing happens... Help

---------- Post added at 10:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:18 PM ----------

I have the Solution

If you have the same problem - Go into Stock-Recovery and make a "Factory Reset" then reboot the system.
The Following User Says Thank You to Egooktamuck For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th November 2012, 10:24 PM   |  #18  
alias_neo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wilmslow
Thanks Meter: 203
 
2,073 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EniGmA1987

Why do you say that? I have my Galaxy Nexus locked again with a custom ROM and kernel and it works fine. Ive never seen mention of this non-booting thing if the bootloader is locked when running something custom

It's may be wrong, I'm basing it on my XOOM days where it wouldn't boot it you relocked with anything other than stock. If that's different now, feel free to ignore me

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to alias_neo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th November 2012, 11:47 PM   |  #19  
EYEramid's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I know that when an update comes out I have to relock the bootloader, but if I unlock it after the update does it wipe the device again

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
15th November 2012, 05:59 AM   |  #20  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 81
 
168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
I have 3 questions

1. Unlocking nexus 10 means rooting it ?
2. Is unlocking or rooting tablets legal in US?
3. I ordered nexus 10 but read n
ot so good things about the limited applications are supported for 10 inch screen .. Is there any workaround to have apps look as good as iPad I mean using the entire screen ...any custom ROMs available yet

Sent from my SGH-I897
Last edited by Manan79; 15th November 2012 at 06:05 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes