Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] 4g with straight talk

OP mikep401

13th November 2012, 02:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
is it possible to buy the att sim card from straight talk for my 4g t-mobile galaxy. get on the $45 UNLIMITED EVERYTHING from straight talk and get the 4g speeds. only reason i want to do this is att has 4g coverage where i live. can only get 4g with t-mobile 30 miles away where i work. att has a lot more 4g coverage. ive seen on google where this is being done with straight talk. and its cheaper too. thanks
13th November 2012, 03:04 AM   |  #2  
th3controller's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 209
 
526 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Yes, use this to unlock your phone for other carriers http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1419468

If you don't want the trouble of installing busybox, use this instead: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1978974
But however the flash method is currently known to work on ICS only. FB is working on a fix for GB.
13th November 2012, 03:07 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by th3controller

Yes, use this to unlock your phone for other carriers http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1419468

If you don't want the trouble of installing busybox, use this instead: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1978974
But however the flash method is currently known to work on ICS only. FB is working on a fix for GB.

my phone is already unlocked. my main question is can 4g be achieved through straight talk
13th November 2012, 04:15 AM   |  #4  
th3controller's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 209
 
526 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
I would say yes because my friends S2 (T-mobile) worked for Simple Mobile. Simple Mobile goes under TracFone Wireless Inc. which owns both Simple Mobile and Straight Talk.

Or as long as they support HSDPA your good to go!

So when your getting a plan from Straight Talk make sure to ask them if they support HSDPA.
13th November 2012, 05:46 PM   |  #5  
gregcapps's Avatar
Senior Member
Clarkesville, GA
Thanks Meter: 590
 
1,669 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by th3controller

I would say yes because my friends S2 (T-mobile) worked for Simple Mobile. Simple Mobile goes under TracFone Wireless Inc. which owns both Simple Mobile and Straight Talk.

Or as long as they support HSDPA your good to go!

So when your getting a plan from Straight Talk make sure to ask them if they support HSDPA.

It depends on the sim card you get I have heard reports that the 4g on our phones does not work well on at&t but if you get a T-Mobile supported sim should be no problem.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using xda premium
13th November 2012, 05:58 PM   |  #6  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 767
 
1,868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by th3controller

So when your getting a plan from Straight Talk make sure to ask them if they support HSDPA.

This statement made me laugh. Asking them this will only create anger issues. The support people I have dealt with NEVER have a clue.

Its cool tho. People if you consider going to Straight Talk be prepared to have almost no tech support.

As posted above att will be iffy on this phone. If you are looking to get better data speeds I suggest steering away from Straight Talk there is a unknown daily data cap. And it sounds like you are looking to get faster data speeds to do something that will probably put you over the daily data cap. At that point Straight Talk will cancel your service and you have to call and bitch to get it turned back on. Hopefully they will publish something on what the daily limit is soon.
The Following User Says Thank You to eollie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th November 2012, 03:17 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by eollie

This statement made me laugh. Asking them this will only create anger issues. The support people I have dealt with NEVER have a clue.

Its cool tho. People if you consider going to Straight Talk be prepared to have almost no tech support.

As posted above att will be iffy on this phone. If you are looking to get better data speeds I suggest steering away from Straight Talk there is a unknown daily data cap. And it sounds like you are looking to get faster data speeds to do something that will probably put you over the daily data cap. At that point Straight Talk will cancel your service and you have to call and bitch to get it turned back on. Hopefully they will publish something on what the daily limit is soon.

once again my main goal here is to get more 4g coverage area. i have t-moble 4g service with t-moble. but the coverage area is slim, cant get it where i live. only 2g where i live. very agravating. would like the larger coverage area with att, and with straight talk its only $45. for unlimmited. wanted to know if anyone out therehas done this with straight talk. thanks
14th November 2012, 04:10 AM   |  #8  
gregcapps's Avatar
Senior Member
Clarkesville, GA
Thanks Meter: 590
 
1,669 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikep401

once again my main goal here is to get more 4g coverage area. i have t-moble 4g service with t-moble. but the coverage area is slim, cant get it where i live. only 2g where i live. very agravating. would like the larger coverage area with att, and with straight talk its only $45. for unlimmited. wanted to know if anyone out therehas done this with straight talk. thanks

The only problem with trying to expand your 4g coverage by using a at&t sim thru straight talk is the T-Mobile 4g and At&t 4g work differently. Some of at&t 4g coverage is actually 4g lte which this phone does not support. Even their hspa+ network may be configured slightly different. Bhundven has an unlocked sgs4g and has tried his At&t sim and has reported that the 4g does not work well on it. Barely even gets 4g reception and dismal speeds at that.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using xda premium
24th November 2012, 09:54 AM   |  #9  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 95
 
523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
At&t ****in sucks anyway

Sent from my SGH-T959V using xda premium
24th November 2012, 10:02 AM   |  #10  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 1,412
 
2,660 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtlepa

At&t ****in sucks anyway

Sent from my SGH-T959V using xda premium

You are a moron. How the hell do you know ATT sucks? Personal experience? Please crawl back into your shell.

The Following User Says Thank You to hechoen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes