FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

[App-Mod/Source] WifiTether for JB TouchWiz Roms

2,031 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,666
 
By TrevE, Retired Recognized Developer on 13th November 2012, 03:09 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
14th November 2012, 07:36 AM |#21  
adlakeche's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chelan, Washington
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Great Job Trev
Good work. Don't stop.
The Following User Says Thank You to adlakeche For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
14th November 2012, 12:13 PM |#22  
Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevE

Few things I've seen
-Encryption doesnt work.
Ill look into it, but I know its a longrunning bug for some devices. Use access control for now. I dont actually have a GS3 so its kinda a wonder this works at all

-Tether doesnt work
Please give some more details- what mode are you in regular or fallback?
does tethering turn on and show statistics at bottom of screen? if not what does the log show inside of wifitether? if so does windows see the accesspoint?

As far as Sprint LJ7 ill download the rom and check it but answers to above will help. a logcat of it turning on and off would be most helpful I threw a bunch of debugging lines in

I get the numbers at the bottom just windows 7 wont see it. I left everything as installed only just installed samsung binaries as a few from the sprint gs3 forum suggested and still a no go

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda app-developers app
14th November 2012, 01:38 PM |#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thank You ,
THanks, COnfirmed working on TeamSonic FreeGS3 JB 1.0 . Once Again THX
14th November 2012, 02:53 PM |#24  
1brainsurgeon's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Flag Gig Harbor
Thanks Meter: 6,216
 
Donate to Me
More
Working great out of the box on Wicked LJ7. No changes in settings. GREAT WORK! I just about had a heart attack when I saw this. I told all of my friends, so at least 3 people know

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2
14th November 2012, 03:19 PM |#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevE

-Tether doesnt work
Please give some more details- what mode are you in regular or fallback?
does tethering turn on and show statistics at bottom of screen? if not what does the log show inside of wifitether? if so does windows see the accesspoint?

As far as Sprint LJ7 ill download the rom and check it but answers to above will help. a logcat of it turning on and off would be most helpful I threw a bunch of debugging lines in

I'm having trouble getting it working with my rooted stock L710 on JB.

I've tried a combination of all the following settings:
-fallback & regular
-device profile auto, CDMA Nexus & Samsung S3
-Access control on/off (I've kept encryption off)

My old handset sees the network just fine (and statistics show up at the bottom of my S3's screen), but the EVO can't connect.

Thanks for all your work on this!
Last edited by mch42; 14th November 2012 at 03:23 PM.
14th November 2012, 04:57 PM |#26  
proxhack's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Silicon Valley
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
I know that this is a galaxy S III thread but...I downloaded the apk. used on my Sprint note 2, went to settings, changed the profile to toro on fallback and the phone started broadcasting for about a minute, I was able to see the upload and download counter moving.
The tried with the following settings too.
Generic ICS/JB(wlan0)
fallback tether mode
SSID androidtether not Androidtether
chanel 2
the counter it is still moving but can't see the phone on my IPad.
14th November 2012, 05:07 PM |#27  
eyecon82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,654
 
More
I have the sprint SGSIII rooted with stock JB ROM

it keeps asking me for SU rights over and over and over again even though I have the "dont ask again" clicked...anyone else getting this?

I then uninstalled and reinstalled and now it starts up, but I can't see the SSID from my laptop

---------- Post added at 12:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:59 AM ----------

I read on AC that
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunkape60

You need to be on a deodexed rom. Stock rom is odexed. ]


That may be the reason why it isn't working for those of us on stock rooted rom, which is odexed
14th November 2012, 05:29 PM |#28  
skwon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
Anyone else getting errors?

14th November 2012, 06:40 PM |#29  
rueben68's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Working great using Wicked Sensations Rom - Jelly Bean Style 4.1.1

Thanks TrevE great job!
14th November 2012, 07:16 PM |#30  
open1your1eyes0's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 3,641
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevE

Few things I've seen
-Encryption doesnt work.
Ill look into it, but I know its a longrunning bug for some devices. Use access control for now. I dont actually have a GS3 so its kinda a wonder this works at all

-Tether doesnt work
Please give some more details- what mode are you in regular or fallback?
does tethering turn on and show statistics at bottom of screen? if not what does the log show inside of wifitether? if so does windows see the accesspoint?

As far as Sprint LJ7 ill download the rom and check it but answers to above will help. a logcat of it turning on and off would be most helpful I threw a bunch of debugging lines in

Regular mode. Tethering turns on after accepting like 10 superuser request messages. I see the statistics at the bottom showing data transferred usage. Everything looks normal but the wifi connection it creates does not show up on any device (Windows, tablet, etc...). Had a similar issue with the app from the Play Store even on ICS but after toggling and a reboots it starts to work. On Jelly Bean however I can't this version or the Play Store version to work at all.
14th November 2012, 07:34 PM |#31  
NxtGenCowboy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago,IL
Thanks Meter: 209
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by open1your1eyes0

Regular mode. Tethering turns on after accepting like 10 superuser request messages. I see the statistics at the bottom showing data transferred usage. Everything looks normal but the wifi connection it creates does not show up on any device (Windows, tablet, etc...). Had a similar issue with the app from the Play Store even on ICS but after toggling and a reboots it starts to work. On Jelly Bean however I can't this version or the Play Store version to work at all.

Which rom are you on again?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes