Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,734,299 Members 49,001 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP] Nook Touch Mod Manager

Tip us?
 
jeff_kz
Old
(Last edited by jeff_kz; 29th December 2012 at 01:38 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 48
Join Date: Nov 2012
Prompt [APP] Nook Touch Mod Manager

Nook Touch Mod Manager

This app+patched jars allows you to customize the behavior of your Nook. All customizations are opt-in and can be enabled/disabled through the use of the NTMM app. If you install the patched jars and do not configure them with using the app, your Nook's behavior will not change in any way.

Features:
  • Re-map the n button, quicknav buttons (including the glowlight button), and top statusbar buttons to run installed programs or trigger defined actions (toggle glowlight, home, back, etc)
  • Option to disable slide to unlock screensaver (avoid battery drain from constantly looping animation)
  • Option to always show the back and menu buttons on the statusbar.
  • Option to restore the Glowlight state after waking from screensaver.
  • Option to disable or customize the "press the n button to unlock" text on the screensaver (1.2+ only)
  • Option to remap side buttons (1.2+ only)
  • Completely open source, including both the application and the patches to the jars
.

Requires patched jars.

Patches are available for software revisions 1.1.5, 1.2.0, and 1.2.1 (1.2.0 and 1.2.1 use the same patches). You can upgrade to 1.2.1 using the directions on the B&N support page.

Instructions for building the patched jars are available here: https://github.com/doozan/NookTouchPatches

Download NTMM 0.4.0
The Following 19 Users Say Thank You to jeff_kz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ladykayaker
Old
(Last edited by ladykayaker; 18th November 2012 at 05:54 PM.)
#2  
ladykayaker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 152
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Annapolis
EDIT: @jeff_kz has fixed this.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

I would like to try this. I get an error:

Quote:
C:\nooksmods>java -jar baksmali-1.4.0.jar -o android.policy android.policy.orig.jar

C:\nooksmods>patch -p1 < android.policy.patch
patching file android.policy/com/android/internal/policy/impl/LockScreen.smali
missing header for unified diff at line 20 of patch
can't find file to patch at input line 20
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|8,7 @@
|
| .field private mSelector:Lcom/android/internal/widget/LeftSlidingTab;
|
|+.field private mNotFirstResume:Z
|
| # direct methods
| .method static constructor <clinit>()V
--------------------------
File to patch:
 
jeff_kz
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 48
Join Date: Nov 2012
I think git is messing with the line-endings. Patch.exe expects them to be Windows \r\n and I think they're getting converted to Unix \n somewhere in the process. You can use a text editor like Notepad2 to open and re-save the patches with Windows line endings.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jeff_kz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ladykayaker
Old
(Last edited by ladykayaker; 18th November 2012 at 05:54 PM.)
#4  
ladykayaker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 152
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Annapolis
EDIT: @jeff_kz has fixed this.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is line 14 to 23. I am not sure exactly what line endings to change?

[QUOTE]
.field private mSelector:Lcom/android/internal/widget/LeftSlidingTab;

+.field private mNotFirstResume:Z

# direct methods
.method static constructor <clinit>()V
@@ -950,6 +951,47 @@
.line 693
.end local v0 #r:Landroid/graphics/Rect;
:cond_17

[\QUOTE]
 
jeff_kz
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 48
Join Date: Nov 2012
Open the patch file using notepad2, go to File | Line Endings and choose "Windows (CR+LF)" and save.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jeff_kz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
domi.nos
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 305
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Warszaw
Excuse me, so I can just update my NST to 1.1.5/1.2.0, and it will work?

NookSimpleTouch/Tapatalk 2
 
ladykayaker
Old
(Last edited by ladykayaker; 18th November 2012 at 05:55 PM.)
#7  
ladykayaker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 152
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Annapolis
EDIT: @jeff_kz has fixed this.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------


I like that this can set the quicknav Glowlight button!
The status bar back and menu buttons work at times, but not consistently.
The side buttons work in some apps, but not in the Reader.apk or Library.apk.
 
jeff_kz
Old
(Last edited by jeff_kz; 14th November 2012 at 07:35 PM.)
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 48
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by domi.nos View Post
Excuse me, so I can just update my NST to 1.1.5/1.2.0, and it will work?
Yes, you can update your non-glowtouch nook to 1.1.5 and it will work with this tool. 1.2.0 is not yet supported. The 1.1.5 factory zip is in the "Nook ST Glowlight - ready to root" thread, see my post on the "uk nst vs us nst" thread for directions on flashing new software (sorry, can't post links yet).
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jeff_kz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ladykayaker
Old
#9  
ladykayaker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 152
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Annapolis
@jeff_kz, where are you storing the images for the quicknav buttons. Previously I had changed these in the framework-res.apk. with your nooktouchmod it is using other images, is it possible for me to put in my own images?
 
jeff_kz
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 48
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladykayaker View Post
@jeff_kz, where are you storing the images for the quicknav buttons. Previously I had changed these in the
framework-res.apk. with your nooktouchmod it is using other images, is it possible for me to put in my own images?
The action icons (back/home/glow) are loaded from system resources, by resource id. The application icons are read from the application's package. You can customize the icons by pulling settings.db and adjusting the mod.<button>.icon value. An integer value will load a system icon by id, a package name will load the package's icon. Currently, there's no way to read an icon from an external file.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jeff_kz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes