Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,079 Members 50,883 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Seems to me T-Mobile GS3 will be receiving LTE

Tip us?
 
moxis
Old
(Last edited by moxis; 15th November 2012 at 02:38 AM.)
#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 29
Join Date: Aug 2010
the nice thing about MSM8960 SOC board is that the radios can be programmed to virtually any current GSM, HSPA or LTE frequency in use in the United States today. the board has a RAT lock on it and not sure if it can be unlocked but all GS3's support any of the three frequency's. now if any one knows how to unlock and program them thats another story.. and just cause the software has a setting doesnt mean tmobile put it in there. and with the gs4 launching in feb-mar im not to sure they would even update the gs3. every one wants lte and if you have to buy a new phone to get it then thats how they make money.
 
walliester
Old
#12  
walliester's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 417
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 213
Well I have talk to several people from samsung and tmobile and they said that the s3 is capable of the LTE, but you can't use them till the end of this year and beginning of 2013 .I hope this is true, if you guys don't believed me ask Samsung or T-Mobile and I try 5 times different people and they all told me the same ....

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app

The Following User Says Thank You to walliester For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Djapatos
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 319
Join Date: Apr 2011
To add to this... if you go on the app manager in the setting.. and go on the all apps.. u ll notice these 2 apps
Com.test.LTEfunctionality.. and com.test.LTEtestmodesetting.
Explain this

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Djapatos For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Teo032
Old
#14  
Teo032's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 589
Posts: 2,419
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djapatos View Post
To add to this... if you go on the app manager in the setting.. and go on the all apps.. u ll notice these 2 apps
Com.test.LTEfunctionality.. and com.test.LTEtestmodesetting.
Explain this

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
This is probably because they use the same build for all 4 models and it's easier to leave it in since 3 carriers carry it?

But anyways the s2 Hercules also had that option, but the hardware didn't allow it.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
my ex-ladies
Nokia 3310 > Samsung D415 > Samsung D600 > iPhone 2g > iPhone 3g > iPhone 3gs > Mytouch 4g > Mytouch 4g Slide > HTC Amaze > Galaxy S2 Hercules > d2tmo.
The Following User Says Thank You to Teo032 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
flipq88
Old
#15  
flipq88's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 605
Posts: 1,513
Join Date: Aug 2011
Seriously I could care less about LTE. First off, I get great speeds with hspa, second, by the time LTE has arrived I will have already moved on to another phone that supports LTE.

Sent from Flip's S3
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to flipq88 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Crisisx1
Old
#16  
Crisisx1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 313
Posts: 1,957
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
By the time lte does roll out... The galaxy s4 will be out and most of us will switch to it. And I'm pretty sure the s4 will support lte

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
Device: T-Mobile LG/Google Nexus 4
Rom: Constantly Changing
Kernel: Stock
Launcher: Stock
Baseband: Stock .84
Recovery: CWM Touch 6




Previous Device: T-Mobile White Samsung Galaxy S3 (SGH T999)(sold), T Mobile LG G2X(sold), T Mobile HTC HD7(sold), T Mobile MyTouch 3G(smashed on purpose lol)
 
crackmulah
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 556
Join Date: Apr 2011
myb
 
redhooka
Old
#18  
redhooka's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 252
Join Date: Jan 2008
A simple Google search will show that this model of the S3 does not have an lte radio.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
 
Shayd93
Old
#19  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 152
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NYC
I dont' think they would pull out the LTE radio from thew chip just for T-mobile so I'm sure it's there BUT, T-mobile as being plain greedy of all companies across world has to release their Long Term Evolution Network on band NOT supported by S3 they will make more money on new phones possible Galaxy S3 Rocket or whatever
 
elesbb
Old
#20  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4256
Posts: 6,660
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddizzy81 View Post
I'm listening of course I just have a different opinion

Sent from my SGH-T999
Well thats your opinion. THere is no reason to post a thread about an opinion with zero information backing it up. It is quite rude of you actually. DocHoliday has been telling everyone that there is no possible way for our phone to support LTE. And why does he say this? Well because thats his opinion, but he has it backed by very simple to understand hardware specs. LTE is a total separate radio then the standard GSM that our device has. So unless they release a new S3 for T-Mobile, then the S3 will never see LTE. There is no amount of software hacking that will put a hardware component into a device. And every T-Mobile person i have asked confirmed the S3 will NOT support LTE. SO EVERYONE just leave it already.

What really annoys me is how you decided you just had to create a whole separate thread about this which has been discussed hundreds of times. you have an opinion great, post in a thread that already exists.

---------- Post added at 08:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:57 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teo032 View Post
This is probably because they use the same build for all 4 models and it's easier to leave it in since 3 carriers carry it?

But anyways the s2 Hercules also had that option, but the hardware didn't allow it.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
Was just about to say this. Thanks Teo!

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to elesbb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes