FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

[ROM] [AOSP] LIQUIDSMOOTH JellyBean [4.1.2] RC 8 [QUINCYATT] 15th November

1,231 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,755
 
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
15th November 2012, 07:31 PM |#21  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Downloaded but not installed. If they're corrupt than I'll just wait it out until they're up again.
 
 
15th November 2012, 08:11 PM |#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Why is the file size so small compared to Padawan ics rom?
15th November 2012, 08:16 PM |#23  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCranium666

Why is the file size so small compared to Padawan ics rom?

because this is bare basics of jelly bean, it doesnt even come with the playstore. While padawan comes with a bunch of stuff.


Flashing right now with latest jb gapps, not liquid gapps, because the link was down. I love slow days at work. I will report back later
Last edited by charlesthedestroyer; 15th November 2012 at 08:19 PM.
15th November 2012, 08:21 PM |#24  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
It's also 29 MB smaller than RC7, but the addons are a separate 18 MB file. Maybe they were included for RC7. Overall, the sizes seem fine.
15th November 2012, 08:22 PM |#25  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto, ON
Thanks Meter: 92
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SayWhat10

Is there really a difference between installing an app from the market, and restoring app-only from TB?

I suspect there is a difference, but whether that difference is the cause for the various problems people might have is a different question. I don't think TB goes through the package manager when restoring an app. It simply copies (to my knowledge) the .apk back into /data/app. Restoring data copies back the appropriate subdirectory in /data/data . If you look in your TB backup folder, you'll see three files associated with each backup instance: the APK, the tar file with the /data/data directory structure, and a properties text file.

Quote:

Furthermore, has it been proven that restoring data causes problems with THIS rom?(JB to JB,not including system apps, although most stuff in green work flawlessly )?

I can see how simply re-copying the files might cause problems whereas running through the installation process (which may or may not involve an installation script and tweaking some system databases that Package Manager normally handles) is the "official" method. But I don't know if that's merely correlation, or if actual causation has been established. I think the warning is more of a cover-your-ass approach, since in most instances we simply don't know. So to be safe, we are told to not use TB, even though it might not be causing any problems. My approach has been to restore only user app+data with TB. If there is a problem, I will uninstall the app and reinstall from Google Play to see if that makes a difference.

For example, I'm seeing a problem with the Liquid Launcher with RC8. If I try to install any widget, the launcher crashes. I don't know if this was a problem with RC7, since I was using GO Launcher EX and I could add widgets to it just fine. I uninstalled the widgets in question (HD Widgets and Agenda), reinstalled from Google Play, and the problem persists. Even the built-in analog clock widget is causing Liquid Launcher to crash, so I'm pretty sure this isn't because I restored my other widgets with TB. But just to be completely sure, I'm wiping everything and starting over to see if it makes a difference.
15th November 2012, 08:30 PM |#26  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by taob


For example, I'm seeing a problem with the Liquid Launcher with RC8. If I try to install any widget, the launcher crashes. I don't know if this was a problem with RC7, since I was using GO Launcher EX and I could add widgets to it just fine. I uninstalled the widgets in question (HD Widgets and Agenda), reinstalled from Google Play, and the problem persists. Even the built-in analog clock widget is causing Liquid Launcher to crash, so I'm pretty sure this isn't because I restored my other widgets with TB. But just to be completely sure, I'm wiping everything and starting over to see if it makes a difference.

I am experiencing the same crashes with widgets. I wiped dalvik, cache, system and I restored no apps.
15th November 2012, 08:30 PM |#27  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto, ON
Thanks Meter: 92
 
More
Liquid Launcher crashes when adding widgets
Quote:
Originally Posted by taob

For example, I'm seeing a problem with the Liquid Launcher with RC8. If I try to install any widget, the launcher crashes. I don't know if this was a problem with RC7, since I was using GO Launcher EX and I could add widgets to it just fine. I uninstalled the widgets in question (HD Widgets and Agenda), reinstalled from Google Play, and the problem persists. Even the built-in analog clock widget is causing Liquid Launcher to crash, so I'm pretty sure this isn't because I restored my other widgets with TB. But just to be completely sure, I'm wiping everything and starting over to see if it makes a difference.

Confirmed the problem with adding widgets. I did a factory reset, logged back into my Google account, but did not even visit the Play store. Tried adding the default analog clock widget to Liquid Launcher. Crash. Tried adding the default power control widget. Crash. Anyone else getting this? Let me install QuickSSHD so I can at least login to the phone and grab a logcat...
15th November 2012, 08:34 PM |#28  
mangiant's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Question
Installed successfully for me (clean install from stock touchwiz).

No crashes, all is well except for 1 thing so far:

Sorry if this has been answered already, but I can't set google now settings. When I select "settings", a "google now has stopped working" dialog pops up and very quickly disappears.
15th November 2012, 09:10 PM |#29  
Bataga's Avatar
Senior Member
Georgia
Thanks Meter: 923
 
More
Still fc when opening display in settings. Can't set to landscape

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda app-developers app
15th November 2012, 11:28 PM |#30  
omariscal1019's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sun Valley, CA
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
Its aweso.e download and install this morning... havent had a reboot... the keyboard heptic feedback is awesome...

So satble and fast... lovin it..

Sent from my SGH-I717 using xda app-developers app
16th November 2012, 12:00 AM |#31  
Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by taob

Confirmed the problem with adding widgets. I did a factory reset, logged back into my Google account, but did not even visit the Play store. Tried adding the default analog clock widget to Liquid Launcher. Crash. Tried adding the default power control widget. Crash. Anyone else getting this? Let me install QuickSSHD so I can at least login to the phone and grab a logcat...

I'm having the same problem with HD widget, when try to add to main screen it FC. I also did factory reset and wipe system to do clean install.

Read More
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes