FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Root Sprint LG Optimus G (Windows Only / English)

580 posts
Thanks Meter: 957
 
By AdriVelazquez, Senior Member on 15th November 2012, 09:50 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi All, Windows Only!

Since this hasn't been posted. Here's the steps to Root your device.


1. Install the LG driver. You're on your own with this one. Get it from LG Drivers
2. Download and unRar the attached file to your desktop.
3. On your phone, make sure USB debugging and allow unknown sources is checked.
4. Plug the phone into your computer, and make sure that Windows see the device's adb connection correctly.
5. Open the folder you extracted in step 2, and right click on the RootOptimusG.bat file. Choose Run as Administrator (If you're having trouble, don't run as admin)
6. You'll see this firs type the letter y, then enter.
7. When you see "Press any key to continue..." press any key.
8. You'll see it say "Restore my data" Look at your phone, tap the button that says " Restore my data".


The phone will reboot twice, be rooted, and ready for fun. To exit the DOS routine just press another key.


Here's the .bat script. Thanks to fiddy619 for translating.
Attached Files
File Type: rar RootOptimusG-English.rar - [Click for QR Code] (2.13 MB, 17517 views)
Last edited by AdriVelazquez; 22nd November 2012 at 01:37 AM.
The Following 19 Users Say Thank You to AdriVelazquez For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
16th November 2012, 01:56 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
has anyone tried this? i'm scared to until i hear that someone else has had luck with it...

*edit

I sacked up and tried it and it worked like a charm. now if someone could only put out a 4.2 rom
Last edited by twan2001; 16th November 2012 at 04:52 AM.
16th November 2012, 01:59 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
If you have total equipment protection you have nothing to lose

Sent from my LG-LS970 using Tapatalk 2
16th November 2012, 02:21 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
does this apply for macs also?? i know i know android and a mac user dont get me started...

edit: i would just like to root in order to get google now and the new 4.2 camera app. if anyone knows a way to achieve this not rooted please let me know!

Thanks for your time,
Tim
Last edited by poopedtim; 16th November 2012 at 02:38 AM.
16th November 2012, 04:06 AM |#5  
AdriVelazquez's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 957
 
Donate to Me
More
This is windows also!

Also I've done this and it works flawlessly.
16th November 2012, 04:34 AM |#6  
_Epic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lakeland, FL
Thanks Meter: 1,196
 
More
Rooted mine this way, worked perfect!
Also, does anyone has a list of applications we can freeze/uninstall? I've seen a few threads saying different things.
16th November 2012, 06:48 AM |#7  
BigRitz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Carson Cty , NV
Thanks Meter: 582
 
Donate to Me
More
Rooted mine this way as well , haven't had a single issue

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
16th November 2012, 07:22 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Yes this worked. I used this method. 2 days ago. See pic for verifacation
16th November 2012, 12:46 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsamthrax

If you have total equipment protection you have nothing to lose

Sent from my LG-LS970 using Tapatalk 2

Good I was worry about that lol. It better still work because we have to pay an extra 3 bucks for the Optimus G >_>
16th November 2012, 06:52 PM |#10  
Member
Flag Columbus, OH
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Just did it and AdFree is working fine.
17th November 2012, 04:07 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
Does this method unlock the boot loader?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
optimus, root, sprint
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes