Post Reply

[MOD][4.2.1/4.2][JOP40D/JOP40C] Tethering/Wifi Hotspot for the Nexus 7 3G

OP stridger

16th November 2012, 11:27 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
PLEASE USE WITH CAUTION AND ONLY IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING. I WILL NOT BE RESPONSIBLE FOR BRICKED DEVICES.

You may have noticed that the Nexus 7 3G does not have the tethering options enabled by default.

I couldn't live with that (that was partially the point why I got the 3G version), so have patched the framework to enable those options. Partial credits go to PaulOBrien@MoDaCo who has fixed the apktool for Android 4.2 .

To get it to work just flash the ZIP below. It will only work on the JOP40D and JOP40C releases, and obviously only if you have a 3G device. Please do not try it on the WiFi-only Nexus 7 .

Please note that it doesn't do a backup of the original framework-res.apk, so you can either make one yourself, or you can reflash the factory system image if you want to go back to stock later.

4.2.1 (JOP40D):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/oti37qsc26...her-JOP40D.zip

4.2 (JOP40C):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/9tswcvz50o...her-JOP40C.zip
Last edited by stridger; 3rd December 2012 at 03:37 PM.
The Following 48 Users Say Thank You to stridger For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th November 2012, 04:10 PM   |  #2  
kenkiller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 446
 
2,982 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Just to check, it works for you?
16th November 2012, 05:09 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Derby UK - Las Vegas US - Christchurch NZ
Thanks Meter: 31
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
More
Brilliant - Gold Star to that man..

Works perfectly. Now what about Voice Calls
17th November 2012, 01:42 AM   |  #4  
yeahmon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sarasota, FL
Thanks Meter: 33
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
tag for later
17th November 2012, 02:10 AM   |  #5  
phonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 411
 
1,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahmon

tag for later

You know you can just hit the "subscribe" button at the top, right? You don't need to post something completely irrelevant in the thread just to mark it.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to phonic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th November 2012, 01:37 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashyphotos

Now what about Voice Calls

Unfortunately voice calls seem to be blocked at radio level. If you try to do voice dial, it craps out with a CME ERROR 4 (Operation not supported). So unfortunately it looks like it will need to be a radio hack, which is beyond me (and I don't want to risk bricking the device )

Radio log is below in case it helps someone.

Code:
D/AT      (  129): AT< +XCSQ: 11, 23
D/GSM     (  762): isTwoDigitShortCode
D/GSM     (  762): dialing w/ mmi 'null'...
D/GSM     (  762): [GSMConn] acquireWakeLock
D/RILJ    (  762): [0364]> SET_MUTE false
D/RILJ    (  762): [0365]> DIAL
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: SET_MUTE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CMUT=0
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: DIAL
D/AT      (  129): AT> ATD+XXXXXXXXXX;
D/RILJ    (  762): [0364]< SET_MUTE 
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RILJ    (  762): [0365]< DIAL 
D/GSM     (  762): [GsmDCT] handleMessage msg={ what=270343 when=-122ms obj=android.os.AsyncResult@41621518 }
D/GSM     (  762): [GsmDCT] onVoiceCallStarted
D/RILJ    (  762): [0366]> GET_CURRENT_CALLS
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: GET_CURRENT_CALLS
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CLCC
D/AT      (  129): AT< OK
D/RILJ    (  762): [0366]< GET_CURRENT_CALLS  
D/RILJ    (  762): [0367]> SET_MUTE false
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: SET_MUTE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CMUT=0
D/RILJ    (  762): [0368]> SET_MUTE false
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RILJ    (  762): [0367]< SET_MUTE 
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: SET_MUTE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CMUT=0
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RILJ    (  762): [0368]< SET_MUTE 
D/PHONE   (  762): VM: PhoneSubInfo.getVoiceMailNUmber: 
D/GSM     (  762): Pending MO dropped before poll fg state:DIALING
D/RILJ    (  762): [0369]> LAST_CALL_FAIL_CAUSE
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: LAST_CALL_FAIL_CAUSE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CEER
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CEER: "No report available"
D/AT      (  129): AT< OK
D/RILJ    (  762): [0369]< LAST_CALL_FAIL_CAUSE error: com.android.internal.telephony.CommandException: GENERIC_FAILURE
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to stridger For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th November 2012, 02:56 PM   |  #7  
phonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 411
 
1,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stridger

Unfortunately voice calls seem to be blocked at radio level. If you try to do voice dial, it craps out with a CME ERROR 4 (Operation not supported). So unfortunately it looks like it will need to be a radio hack, which is beyond me (and I don't want to risk bricking the device )

Radio log is below in case it helps someone.

Code:
D/AT      (  129): AT< +XCSQ: 11, 23
D/GSM     (  762): isTwoDigitShortCode
D/GSM     (  762): dialing w/ mmi 'null'...
D/GSM     (  762): [GSMConn] acquireWakeLock
D/RILJ    (  762): [0364]> SET_MUTE false
D/RILJ    (  762): [0365]> DIAL
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: SET_MUTE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CMUT=0
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: DIAL
D/AT      (  129): AT> ATD+XXXXXXXXXX;
D/RILJ    (  762): [0364]< SET_MUTE 
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RILJ    (  762): [0365]< DIAL 
D/GSM     (  762): [GsmDCT] handleMessage msg={ what=270343 when=-122ms obj=android.os.AsyncResult@41621518 }
D/GSM     (  762): [GsmDCT] onVoiceCallStarted
D/RILJ    (  762): [0366]> GET_CURRENT_CALLS
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: GET_CURRENT_CALLS
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CLCC
D/AT      (  129): AT< OK
D/RILJ    (  762): [0366]< GET_CURRENT_CALLS  
D/RILJ    (  762): [0367]> SET_MUTE false
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: SET_MUTE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CMUT=0
D/RILJ    (  762): [0368]> SET_MUTE false
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RILJ    (  762): [0367]< SET_MUTE 
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: SET_MUTE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CMUT=0
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RILJ    (  762): [0368]< SET_MUTE 
D/PHONE   (  762): VM: PhoneSubInfo.getVoiceMailNUmber: 
D/GSM     (  762): Pending MO dropped before poll fg state:DIALING
D/RILJ    (  762): [0369]> LAST_CALL_FAIL_CAUSE
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: LAST_CALL_FAIL_CAUSE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CEER
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CEER: "No report available"
D/AT      (  129): AT< OK
D/RILJ    (  762): [0369]< LAST_CALL_FAIL_CAUSE error: com.android.internal.telephony.CommandException: GENERIC_FAILURE

Yup, I think that might be the nail in the coffin.

I don't know anything about radio hardware, but I imagine it's cheaper to use data only components versus ones that support data and voice. If that's true, I'm not surprised that Assus decided to use the cheaper components. Whether this can be fixed with a different radio firmware or hardware hack is up to someone smarter than I, but it looks like we're stuck with data only.

---------- Post added at 09:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:00 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by stridger

...Partial credits go to PaulOBrien@MoDaCo who has fixed the apktool for Android 4.2 .

Can you please provide the link (or more info) on the fix for apktool? I can't find it and want to decompile my framework. Thanks!

---------- Post added at 09:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:34 AM ----------

Nevermind found it the github commit. Built apktool and decompiled framework.

Ok, I enabled voice calling, but can't find the option to enable tethering...
17th November 2012, 04:06 PM   |  #8  
H4CK_H0PP3R's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag R00T3D MUMB4I
Thanks Meter: 35
 
331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phonic

Yup, I think that might be the nail in the coffin.

I don't know anything about radio hardware, but I imagine it's cheaper to use data only components versus ones that support data and voice. If that's true, I'm not surprised that Assus decided to use the cheaper components. Whether this can be fixed with a different radio firmware or hardware hack is up to someone smarter than I, but it looks like we're stuck with data only.

---------- Post added at 09:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:00 AM ----------



Can you please provide the link (or more info) on the fix for apktool? I can't find it and want to decompile my framework. Thanks!

---------- Post added at 09:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:34 AM ----------

Nevermind found it the github commit. Built apktool and decompiled framework.

Ok, I enabled voice calling, but can't find the option to enable tethering...

How did you enabled voice calling ? Is it possible?
17th November 2012, 04:29 PM   |  #9  
phonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 411
 
1,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4CK_H0PP3R

How did you enabled voice calling ? Is it possible?

Yes and no. You can enable the FUNCTION of voice calling in the framework (it's in values/bools.xml). All this does is allow the dialer to come up. However, so far, no one has been able to actually get voice calls to work through it.

---------- Post added at 11:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:16 AM ----------

Is there a reason why customized versions of framework.apk are half the size of the original?
17th November 2012, 10:34 PM   |  #10  
NORCALkID's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 244
 
822 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phonic

Yes and no. You can enable the FUNCTION of voice calling in the framework (it's in values/bools.xml). All this does is allow the dialer to come up. However, so far, no one has been able to actually get voice calls to work through it.

----------
lqqu at 11:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:16 AM ----------


Is there a reason why customized versions of framework.apk are half the size of the original?

What do you mean by customized?... there's a difference between an odexed apk and deodexed apk and that will change the size of it.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 7 3G Android Development by ThreadRank