Post Reply

TMobile $30 5GB plan DOES NOT WORK on Nexus 7 GSM!

16th November 2012, 06:09 PM   |  #1  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 773
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
Got my SIM card yesterday from T-Mobile.com
Got my Nexus 7 GSM today.

Cut up my full sized sim to fix into micro sim slot. Worked fine.
Inserted SIM into tablet. Got signal. So far so good.

Nexus 7 doesn't have Phone.apk or MMS.apk on launcher.
Fired up Wi-Fi, went to go Play Store.
Installed Go SMS Pro.

Set up my sim card online. Activated with $30 100 minutes, UL txt, 5GB plan.

Had to retry "nearest city" options and zip codes, but eventually got it to work.

Got my SMS notification on my tablet saying account is good.

Refilled for a month.

Got my SMS notification of the refill.

Setup a T-Mobile account with my prepaid number. All good.

0KB used.

Reboot tablet. I get "Sign into network" which is a html redirect page.

Every page redirects to sign in page. Can never sign in.

Research online.

Turns out it's detected as a tablet. IMEIs are apparently flagged by T-Mobile.

BAH!

I'll root and mess around my /efs/nv_data.bin and reboot back, but so far :-/

Edit: No /efs folder
Last edited by CLShortFuse; 16th November 2012 at 07:18 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to CLShortFuse For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th November 2012, 06:15 PM   |  #2  
phonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 411
 
1,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLShortFuse

Got my SIM card yesterday from T-Mobile.com
Got my Nexus 7 GSM today.

Cut up my full sized sim to fix into micro sim slot. Worked fine.
Inserted SIM into tablet. Got signal. So far so good.

Nexus 7 doesn't have Phone.apk or MMS.apk on launcher.
Fired up Wi-Fi, went to go Play Store.
Installed Go SMS Pro.

Set up my sim card online. Activated with $30 100 minutes, UL txt, 5GB plan.

Had to retry "nearest city" options and zip codes, but eventually got it to work.

Got my SMS notification on my tablet saying account is good.

Refilled for a month.

Got my SMS notification of the refill.

Setup a T-Mobile account with my prepaid number. All good.

0KB used.

Reboot tablet. I get "Sign into network" which is a html redirect page.

Every page redirects to sign in page. Can never sign in.

Research online.

Turns out it's detected as a tablet. IMEIs are apparently flagged by T-Mobile.

BAH!

I'll root and mess around my /efs/nv_data.bin and reboot back, but so far :-/

That really sucks.

While I'm probably going to go with the $15 AT&T plan, the $30 TMO plan you referenced sounds like a perfect one for people who want a lot of data, SMS capabilities and some minutes for light talk usage. I was hoping it would work. Have you tried talking to T-Mobile about it?

Thanks for sharing. Hopefully there is a solution.
16th November 2012, 06:19 PM   |  #3  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 773
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by phonic

That really sucks.

While I'm probably going to go with the $15 AT&T plan, the $30 TMO plan you referenced sounds like a perfect one for people who want a lot of data, SMS capabilities and some minutes for light talk usage. I was hoping it would work. Have you tried talking to T-Mobile about it?

Thanks for sharing. Hopefully there is a solution.

I have the $15 AT&T plan (actually $10 unlimited) that I'm using for my Galaxy Note 10.1. I would try swapping around but the sim sizes are different. I'm pretty sure that TMobile will say that the Nexus 7 is a data-only device and won't let me do it.

Google has stripped WiFi tethering, MMS and Phone from the device and I'm sure it's no coincidence.
16th November 2012, 06:23 PM   |  #4  
phonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 411
 
1,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLShortFuse

I have the $15 AT&T plan (actually $10 unlimited) that I'm using for my Galaxy Note 10.1. I would try swapping around but the sim sizes are different. I'm pretty sure that TMobile will say that the Nexus 7 is a data-only device and won't let me do it.

Google has stripped WiFi tethering, MMS and Phone from the device and I'm sure it's no coincidence.

"Stripped" might be too strong a word.

The non-3G versions never had any of those functions. I think it's more likely that they simply chose not (or forgot) to include them in the 3G version.

SMS actually does work, but inbound only (according to rumors) by default. But you can apparently use an SMS app to do outbound fine. There is another thread discussing the phone mod. Apparently a framework change can enable it, but no one has been able to test whether it works or not yet to place calls.

I imagine it would be trivial for a developer to add tethering support, though I don't see the need personally. Most people only care about tethering a non-3G tablet to a phone, not the other way around.

What $10 AT&T plan? Is that the "share your data" plan or an independent pre-paid one?

I don't need a lot of data, but I want to be able to have some if necessary. I also don't want to pay too much for it. $15 seems reasonable, but $10 is better - assuming I don't already need to have a phone with them.
16th November 2012, 06:24 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Did you register your sim to N7 IMEI or normal phone IMEI? Wonder if that makes a difference.
16th November 2012, 06:38 PM   |  #6  
jdsemler's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 21
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Did you ensure the APN was what phones use for data rather than tablets/modems? Tweakker on the market will set it for you if you are unsure.
16th November 2012, 07:10 PM   |  #7  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 773
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by isosunrise

Did you register your sim to N7 IMEI or normal phone IMEI? Wonder if that makes a difference.

I did all 1s a couple of times but I when I successfully activated I used the N7 IMEI and changed the "nearest city" option. I strongly doubt that was the issue since other people who have this problem with the TMobile branded Springboard say the SIM works on other devices. I can't test this since I have no other device (tablet or smartphone) that takes microSIM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsemler

Did you ensure the APN was what phones use for data rather than tablets/modems? Tweakker on the market will set it for you if you are unsure.

I checked them all manually. They were a little different than standard APNs (had a masked password and server field), but I modified them. I was still redirected. I'm pretty sure it's IMEI detection. I'll try it anyway. Edit: Tweaker is not supported on Play Store. I'll have to search for the APK
16th November 2012, 07:14 PM   |  #8  
chismay's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag LONDON
Thanks Meter: 153
 
960 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLShortFuse

I checked them all manually. They were a little different than standard APNs (had a masked password and server field), but I modified them. I was still redirected. I'm pretty sure it's IMEI detection. I'll try it anyway. Edit: Tweaker is not supported on Play Store. I'll have to search for the APK

wow operators starting to b a-holes eh?
16th November 2012, 08:32 PM   |  #9  
jdsemler's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 21
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Look for Tweakker with two k's
16th November 2012, 08:58 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
When I try to install Tweakker from the store, Google Play reports that it is not compatible with my N7. (I did upgrade it to 4.2.)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 7 General by ThreadRank