Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,304 Members 41,301 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

TMobile $30 5GB plan DOES NOT WORK on Nexus 7 GSM!

Tip us?
 
CLShortFuse
Old
(Last edited by CLShortFuse; 16th November 2012 at 07:18 PM.)
#1  
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 763
Posts: 525
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Default TMobile $30 5GB plan DOES NOT WORK on Nexus 7 GSM!

Got my SIM card yesterday from T-Mobile.com
Got my Nexus 7 GSM today.

Cut up my full sized sim to fix into micro sim slot. Worked fine.
Inserted SIM into tablet. Got signal. So far so good.

Nexus 7 doesn't have Phone.apk or MMS.apk on launcher.
Fired up Wi-Fi, went to go Play Store.
Installed Go SMS Pro.

Set up my sim card online. Activated with $30 100 minutes, UL txt, 5GB plan.

Had to retry "nearest city" options and zip codes, but eventually got it to work.

Got my SMS notification on my tablet saying account is good.

Refilled for a month.

Got my SMS notification of the refill.

Setup a T-Mobile account with my prepaid number. All good.

0KB used.

Reboot tablet. I get "Sign into network" which is a html redirect page.

Every page redirects to sign in page. Can never sign in.

Research online.

Turns out it's detected as a tablet. IMEIs are apparently flagged by T-Mobile.

BAH!

I'll root and mess around my /efs/nv_data.bin and reboot back, but so far :-/

Edit: No /efs folder
The Following User Says Thank You to CLShortFuse For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
phonic
Old
#2  
phonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 411
Posts: 1,129
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLShortFuse View Post
Got my SIM card yesterday from T-Mobile.com
Got my Nexus 7 GSM today.

Cut up my full sized sim to fix into micro sim slot. Worked fine.
Inserted SIM into tablet. Got signal. So far so good.

Nexus 7 doesn't have Phone.apk or MMS.apk on launcher.
Fired up Wi-Fi, went to go Play Store.
Installed Go SMS Pro.

Set up my sim card online. Activated with $30 100 minutes, UL txt, 5GB plan.

Had to retry "nearest city" options and zip codes, but eventually got it to work.

Got my SMS notification on my tablet saying account is good.

Refilled for a month.

Got my SMS notification of the refill.

Setup a T-Mobile account with my prepaid number. All good.

0KB used.

Reboot tablet. I get "Sign into network" which is a html redirect page.

Every page redirects to sign in page. Can never sign in.

Research online.

Turns out it's detected as a tablet. IMEIs are apparently flagged by T-Mobile.

BAH!

I'll root and mess around my /efs/nv_data.bin and reboot back, but so far :-/
That really sucks.

While I'm probably going to go with the $15 AT&T plan, the $30 TMO plan you referenced sounds like a perfect one for people who want a lot of data, SMS capabilities and some minutes for light talk usage. I was hoping it would work. Have you tried talking to T-Mobile about it?

Thanks for sharing. Hopefully there is a solution.
 
CLShortFuse
Old
#3  
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 763
Posts: 525
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by phonic View Post
That really sucks.

While I'm probably going to go with the $15 AT&T plan, the $30 TMO plan you referenced sounds like a perfect one for people who want a lot of data, SMS capabilities and some minutes for light talk usage. I was hoping it would work. Have you tried talking to T-Mobile about it?

Thanks for sharing. Hopefully there is a solution.
I have the $15 AT&T plan (actually $10 unlimited) that I'm using for my Galaxy Note 10.1. I would try swapping around but the sim sizes are different. I'm pretty sure that TMobile will say that the Nexus 7 is a data-only device and won't let me do it.

Google has stripped WiFi tethering, MMS and Phone from the device and I'm sure it's no coincidence.
 
phonic
Old
#4  
phonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 411
Posts: 1,129
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLShortFuse View Post
I have the $15 AT&T plan (actually $10 unlimited) that I'm using for my Galaxy Note 10.1. I would try swapping around but the sim sizes are different. I'm pretty sure that TMobile will say that the Nexus 7 is a data-only device and won't let me do it.

Google has stripped WiFi tethering, MMS and Phone from the device and I'm sure it's no coincidence.
"Stripped" might be too strong a word.

The non-3G versions never had any of those functions. I think it's more likely that they simply chose not (or forgot) to include them in the 3G version.

SMS actually does work, but inbound only (according to rumors) by default. But you can apparently use an SMS app to do outbound fine. There is another thread discussing the phone mod. Apparently a framework change can enable it, but no one has been able to test whether it works or not yet to place calls.

I imagine it would be trivial for a developer to add tethering support, though I don't see the need personally. Most people only care about tethering a non-3G tablet to a phone, not the other way around.

What $10 AT&T plan? Is that the "share your data" plan or an independent pre-paid one?

I don't need a lot of data, but I want to be able to have some if necessary. I also don't want to pay too much for it. $15 seems reasonable, but $10 is better - assuming I don't already need to have a phone with them.
 
isosunrise
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2011
Did you register your sim to N7 IMEI or normal phone IMEI? Wonder if that makes a difference.
 
jdsemler
Old
#6  
jdsemler's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 238
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Austin
Did you ensure the APN was what phones use for data rather than tablets/modems? Tweakker on the market will set it for you if you are unsure.
 
CLShortFuse
Old
#7  
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 763
Posts: 525
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by isosunrise View Post
Did you register your sim to N7 IMEI or normal phone IMEI? Wonder if that makes a difference.
I did all 1s a couple of times but I when I successfully activated I used the N7 IMEI and changed the "nearest city" option. I strongly doubt that was the issue since other people who have this problem with the TMobile branded Springboard say the SIM works on other devices. I can't test this since I have no other device (tablet or smartphone) that takes microSIM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsemler View Post
Did you ensure the APN was what phones use for data rather than tablets/modems? Tweakker on the market will set it for you if you are unsure.
I checked them all manually. They were a little different than standard APNs (had a masked password and server field), but I modified them. I was still redirected. I'm pretty sure it's IMEI detection. I'll try it anyway. Edit: Tweaker is not supported on Play Store. I'll have to search for the APK
 
chismay
Old
#8  
chismay's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 153
Posts: 960
Join Date: May 2011
Location: LONDON
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLShortFuse View Post
I checked them all manually. They were a little different than standard APNs (had a masked password and server field), but I modified them. I was still redirected. I'm pretty sure it's IMEI detection. I'll try it anyway. Edit: Tweaker is not supported on Play Store. I'll have to search for the APK
wow operators starting to b a-holes eh?
If I Have Helped You Please Click The Thanks Button

ASUS GOOGLE NEXUS 7 32GB
ACER ICONIA A500 ICS FLEXREAPER-EX V5.1
HTC HERO GSM CYANOGENMOD7
GOOGLE GALAXY NEXUS STOCK
MK808 4.2.2 ANDROID TV STICK
SAMSUNG GALAXY ACE THE MYTH ROM ICS V3
SAMSUNG GALAXY S I9003 TITANIUM ROM V3
SAMSUNG GALAXY S3 I9300 STOCK
SAMSUNG GALAXY MIN S8850 STOCK
ELONEX TAB 2.1(CRAP)
MISCROLL TAB 3.2(SLIGHTLY BETTER)
 
jdsemler
Old
#9  
jdsemler's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 238
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Austin
Look for Tweakker with two k's
 
smerrill
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2007
When I try to install Tweakker from the store, Google Play reports that it is not compatible with my N7. (I did upgrade it to 4.2.)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes