Post Reply

[RECOVERY](Updated 2-8-14) Official ClockworkMod Recovery 6.0.4.7

17th November 2012, 02:45 PM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomwalker

Did you reboot after installing CWM? If so, did you remove install.sh, that will restore the stock recovery?

Yes after flashing the recovery I did "fastboot-mac reboot" and it rebooted fine. But like I said after that I wanted to reboot to recovery to see how this recovery worked and that's where I have my problem.

Now what is this install.sh you're talking about? I've never heard of that or had to deal with that when flashing a recovery before (at least not that I remember)??
17th November 2012, 02:52 PM   |  #22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
333 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I haven't tried CWM on my N10 yet, but at least that's what was required for CWM to stick on the Nexus S (and also A510):

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...48&postcount=2
Last edited by Randomwalker; 17th November 2012 at 02:56 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Randomwalker For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th November 2012, 03:00 PM   |  #23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomwalker

I haven't tried CWM on my N10 yet, but at least that's what was required for CWM to stick on the Nexus S (and also A510):

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...48&postcount=2

Whew, renaming the install-recovery.sh file seems to have done the trick, and should probably be added to the OP. Thanks!!
The Following User Says Thank You to joeski27 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th November 2012, 03:31 PM   |  #24  
Gunthermic's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,818
 
3,067 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeski27

Whew, renaming the install-recovery.sh file seems to have done the trick, and should probably be added to the OP. Thanks!!

okay I give, how to you rename this file? that link is for an older system...
17th November 2012, 03:43 PM   |  #25  
shimp208's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1,563
 
2,247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeski27

Whew, renaming the install-recovery.sh file seems to have done the trick, and should probably be added to the OP. Thanks!!

Will add this to the original post thanks for the information!
Last edited by shimp208; 17th November 2012 at 03:52 PM.
17th November 2012, 03:47 PM   |  #26  
shimp208's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1,563
 
2,247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lumsdoni

So,

Am I right in thinking...

cd to the adb tools folder where the sdk is saved.

I need to unlock the boot loader via fastboot oem.

Then copy your file to the same directory on my Mac

Then type in the command line you suggested with the correct filename?

After that I will be rooted

Swype'd at pace from my Galaxy S2

Yes that is procedure that should be followed, also I updated the orginal post to reflect the most recent procedure that should be preformed that doesn't require the use of adb but still requires fastboot.
17th November 2012, 03:49 PM   |  #27  
shimp208's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1,563
 
2,247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by impulse101

so can I permanently flash this now instead of fastboot?

Yup you should now be good to permanently as damien667 fixed the random reboot issues that were occurring .
17th November 2012, 05:04 PM   |  #28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Thank you!
17th November 2012, 06:12 PM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 34
 
256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by damien667

I took the stock recovery.img from https://developers.google.com/androi...mantarayjop40c, unpacked it, copied over the recovery binary from cwm touch 6.0.1.6 and resource files into the ramdisk... repacked it, and voila... no more reboots!

I'm sure Koush will eventually figure out what's going on with his automatic build system... my manually made recovery seems to work ok.

Please have at it (and feel free to thank me and report bugs), and if you want a tgz of my "unpacked" recovery I'll upload as well. You can also just unpack my uploaded file and see where the differences are yourself.

I've done recovery mods in the past for the G1, G2, and Gnexus when stuff like this happens when a device first comes out and recoveries have bugs in them.

Just "fastboot flash recovery $file.img" to try it out. I've got it running on my nexus 10 already and it hasn't rebooted (I succesfully installed CWM-SuperSU-v0.98.zip from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1538053 )

So Koush's CWM from the CWM website is not final yet for the Nexus 10? Or rather there are bugs?
18th November 2012, 01:35 AM   |  #30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
somehow I ended up with clockworkmod recovery v 6.0.1.7 when I booted into it I can move the curser but i can't select anything, when I hold the power button to reboot it just takes me back there. Help, how do I get out of it? It doesn't show up using fastboot.

I was able to boot into the regular bootloader but holding power and volume up but I can't select anything and am not able to do anything through adb or fastboot. When I hold the power button from there I just go back into clockworkmod where I can't select anything using the power button.
Last edited by crookedpriority; 18th November 2012 at 02:14 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes