FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

My N10 Keeps freezing and resetting

108 posts
Thanks Meter: 12
 
By dankerton, Senior Member on 17th November 2012, 08:20 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
23rd February 2013, 04:53 AM |#351  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Re: My N10 Keeps freezing and resetting
Quote:
Originally Posted by rxnelson

Thank you. Mine freezes as soon as I touch the box icon in Astro. Maybe time to RMA and see what happens?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2

So I reflashed 4.2.2 and let it restore apps. Astro didn't restore. I think I uninstalled and reinstalled multiple times to try to fix it. So I downloaded it and it worked like a champ. Crazy device...can't reflash every time I hit an app it doesn't like.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
 
 
1st March 2013, 10:37 PM |#352  
bigmatty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Glad I finally found this thread! Started in the normal-human-forums but SO happy to advance to the tech-guru-forums!

I am no dev, so no true program knowledge here - but I am an IT guy, so I am good at "troubleshooting". Here is what I did:
-I am on 4.2.2
-Using a 3 day test cycle, my goal was to see the unit on w/ no crash for 72 hours
-Factory wipe & reset
-Full charge, unplug
-Dont even sign in to Google, just let the tablet sit there
-Occasionally turn it on to check uptime

The uptime got to 69 hours before it crashed & rebooted! No Chrome use! No extra apps installed! Nothin! Anyways, I do see now that even if you dont connect a Google Account, both Play and Maps still run in the background and "perform activites". So who knows - maybe if I would have added 'disable all disableable services' I would have been able to get 72. (So close!)

I chimed in on that Google thread too.
Last edited by bigmatty; 1st March 2013 at 10:48 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bigmatty For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st March 2013, 11:29 PM |#353  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Re: My N10 Keeps freezing and resetting
Mine has been running great since I reflashed. I got over 7 days of uptime before I rebooted to update the SuperSU binary. Bootlog Uptime shows that as a crash but it wasn't. Zero real crashes so far.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
1st March 2013, 11:31 PM |#354  
Senior Member
Miami
Thanks Meter: 199
 
More
Re: My N10 Keeps freezing and resetting
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmatty

Glad I finally found this thread! Started in the normal-human-forums but SO happy to advance to the tech-guru-forums!

I am no dev, so no true program knowledge here - but I am an IT guy, so I am good at "troubleshooting". Here is what I did:
-I am on 4.2.2
-Using a 3 day test cycle, my goal was to see the unit on w/ no crash for 72 hours
-Factory wipe & reset
-Full charge, unplug
-Dont even sign in to Google, just let the tablet sit there
-Occasionally turn it on to check uptime

The uptime got to 69 hours before it crashed & rebooted! No Chrome use! No extra apps installed! Nothin! Anyways, I do see now that even if you dont connect a Google Account, both Play and Maps still run in the background and "perform activites". So who knows - maybe if I would have added 'disable all disableable services' I would have been able to get 72. (So close!)

I chimed in on that Google thread too.

wow thats crazy. crashing with NOTHING
glad u took time out to do this though
would take me forever if i was trying to find a faulty app one by one
1st March 2013, 11:38 PM |#355  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 88
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmatty

Glad I finally found this thread! Started in the normal-human-forums but SO happy to advance to the tech-guru-forums!

I am no dev, so no true program knowledge here - but I am an IT guy, so I am good at "troubleshooting". Here is what I did:
-I am on 4.2.2
-Using a 3 day test cycle, my goal was to see the unit on w/ no crash for 72 hours
-Factory wipe & reset
-Full charge, unplug
-Dont even sign in to Google, just let the tablet sit there
-Occasionally turn it on to check uptime

The uptime got to 69 hours before it crashed & rebooted! No Chrome use! No extra apps installed! Nothin! Anyways, I do see now that even if you dont connect a Google Account, both Play and Maps still run in the background and "perform activites". So who knows - maybe if I would have added 'disable all disableable services' I would have been able to get 72. (So close!)

I chimed in on that Google thread too.

After having been on 4.2.2 for a while now, it does seem like the crashes are much less frequent, which is great. I've also noticed that they don't seem to happen for a couple of days right after a cold boot. It would not surprise me if a memory leak was responsible which causes problem after 3 or so days of uptime.
2nd March 2013, 01:37 AM |#356  
bigmatty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottws

Mine has been running great since I reflashed. I got over 7 days of uptime before I rebooted to update the SuperSU binary. Bootlog Uptime shows that as a crash but it wasn't. Zero real crashes so far.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD

All the threads I've looked at re: Nexus 10 errors are bleeding together in my mind, so forgive me that I cant cite the exact links where I saw this, but I've seen people say even after a Recovery generated factory wipe that actifacts are still left in the file system. Is that true? When I have been "factory resetting" I have not been transferring a .img file... I know that photos and stuff I take get wiped out via the method I've been doing.

Can anyone advise?
2nd March 2013, 01:46 AM |#357  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Re: My N10 Keeps freezing and resetting
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmatty

All the threads I've looked at re: Nexus 10 errors are bleeding together in my mind, so forgive me that I cant cite the exact links where I saw this, but I've seen people say even after a Recovery generated factory wipe that actifacts are still left in the file system. Is that true? When I have been "factory resetting" I have not been transferring a .img file... I know that photos and stuff I take get wiped out via the method I've been doing.

Can anyone advise?

I did a complete wipe and re flash of the 4.2.2 image using the Android SDK. Not just a factory reset.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to scottws For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd March 2013, 02:28 AM |#358  
bigmatty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottws

I did a complete wipe and re flash of the 4.2.2 image using the Android SDK. Not just a factory reset.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Ok, I will try that. Could you help me out and verify this is the best advised way?:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=210

I currently am rooted w/ SuperSU and have TWRP installed. I belive 'flash-all' completly overwrites these?

I will try this method (after a recharge here) and then start my "install and do nothing" test again.

~bigmatty
Last edited by bigmatty; 2nd March 2013 at 03:17 AM.
2nd March 2013, 05:43 AM |#359  
irishrally's Avatar
Senior Member
California
Thanks Meter: 509
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmatty

Ok, I will try that. Could you help me out and verify this is the best advised way?:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=210

I currently am rooted w/ SuperSU and have TWRP installed. I belive 'flash-all' completly overwrites these?

I will try this method (after a recharge here) and then start my "install and do nothing" test again.

~bigmatty

Yep that should work. The flash-all commands are listed below. If you don't want to lose user data then skip the erase userdata step and remove the "-w" from the last command.

Code:
fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata 
fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-manta-mantalj12.img
fastboot reboot-bootloader
fastboot -w update image-mantaray-jdq39.zip
I usually just do:

fastboot flash bootloader bootloader.img
fastboot reboot bootloader
fastboot update factoryimage.zip (or "fastboot -w update factoryimage.zip" if you want to erase userdata too)

... but can't hurt to do the other erase commands.
Last edited by irishrally; 2nd March 2013 at 05:47 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to irishrally For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd March 2013, 06:48 AM |#360  
bigmatty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Thank you irishrally!

---------------------------
update - success! a small change in my troubleshooting plan, this time i did sign in to my google account. the other aspects will remain the same - i am now going to not do anything other than power on the screen to check the Status -> Uptime to monitor for reboots. goal = 72 hours. so.... *ahem* my guess i'll be back in less than 3 days time... :|
Last edited by bigmatty; 2nd March 2013 at 07:54 AM.
3rd March 2013, 02:25 AM |#361  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Re: My N10 Keeps freezing and resetting
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmatty

Thank you irishrally!

---------------------------
update - success! a small change in my troubleshooting plan, this time i did sign in to my google account. the other aspects will remain the same - i am now going to not do anything other than power on the screen to check the Status -> Uptime to monitor for reboots. goal = 72 hours. so.... *ahem* my guess i'll be back in less than 3 days time... :|

Good luck. That appears to be what finally worked for me. I'm on 8 days now. This is a launch day tablet. 4.2 base flash rebooted after adding apps. 4.2.1 to 4.2.2 OTA started rebooting after a few days. I RMA'd for reboots plus my screen has lightbleed and a blemish towards the middle. By that time 4.2.2 image was available so I flashed that and it is still up. The RMA unit shipped with 4.2.1 got the OTA in about 30 minutes and it has been up since. I think that was Tuesday.

As far as your method to check for reboots, you do know most of these reboots are "warm" and don't reset the counter. If you are seeing something else I would guess you aren't seeing what the majority of us are/were.



Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
The Following User Says Thank You to rxnelson For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes