Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,360 Members 53,492 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Unroot] How to Unroot Nexus 10! [Factory Firmware]

Tip us?
 
zedomax
Old
#1  
zedomax's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2539
Posts: 1,136
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Unroot] How to Unroot Nexus 10! [Factory Firmware]

Here's a video tutorial guide for noobs who want to unroot/unbrick your Nexus 10.



Drivers: http://stockroms.net/file/Drivers/an...usb_driver.zip
fastboot for Windows/Mac/Linux: http://downloadandroidrom.com/file/tools/fastboot.zip
Stock Firmware: http://stockroms.net/file/Nexus10

For Windows, type: (XXX may depend on the stock firmware)

Code:
fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-XXX.img
fastboot reboot-bootloader
fastboot flash radio radio-XXX-XXX.img
fastboot reboot-bootloader
fastboot -w update image-XXX-XXX.zip
For Mac OSX, type: (XXX may depend on the stock firmware)

Code:
./fastboot-mac flash bootloader bootloader-XXX.img
./fastboot-mac reboot-bootloader
./fastboot-mac flash radio radio-XXX-XXX.img
./fastboot-mac reboot-bootloader
./fastboot-mac -w update image-XXX-XXX.zip
For Linux, type: (XXX may depend on the stock firmware)

Code:
./fastboot-linux flash bootloader bootloader-XXX.img
./fastboot-linux reboot-bootloader
./fastboot-linux flash radio radio-XXX-XXX.img
./fastboot-linux reboot-bootloader
./fastboot-linux -w update image-XXX-XXX.zip
*Note – If you do not have radio image, you can skip that one.
*Note for Mac/Linux – If you get permissions error, try “chmod 755 *” before doing all the commands and also try adding “sudo” in front of the commands if you still have trouble.

Step-by-Step guide with photos here
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to zedomax For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jarjar124
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3496
Posts: 3,588
Join Date: Apr 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
for some reason after doing the last step it automatically reboots and it ends up with an android with a triangle with an exclamation point ...help?
 
zedomax
Old
#3  
zedomax's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2539
Posts: 1,136
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarjar124 View Post
for some reason after doing the last step it automatically reboots and it ends up with an android with a triangle with an exclamation point ...help?
Try pressing power, volumeup, and volumedown, all together until you see the blue menus, once you see that, do a factory reset and reboot.
 
jarjar124
Old
(Last edited by jarjar124; 18th November 2012 at 03:29 AM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3496
Posts: 3,588
Join Date: Apr 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by zedomax View Post
Try pressing power, volumeup, and volumedown, all together until you see the blue menus, once you see that, do a factory reset and reboot.
doesnt that bring me to the bootloader?

edit: now i cant mount sd card in recovery after doing this....i think this is why its not booting....any help?
 
padest.com
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 84
Join Date: Sep 2012
Don't we need do the following code before unroot?
Code:
fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata
 
c0t0d0s2
Old
#6  
c0t0d0s2's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 73
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: DFW
if you really bricked yours as badly as I did, you might have to re format one or more partitions.

Fastboot format partitionname

Then fastboot flash partitionname imagefilename.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using xda premium
If you want great battery life, get a blackberry and quitcherbitchin.
 
zedomax
Old
#7  
zedomax's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2539
Posts: 1,136
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by padest.com View Post
Don't we need do the following code before unroot?
Code:
fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata
Don't think so, it overwrites everything so i don't think it matters.
 
phroghollow
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2011
I've fully flashed the factory image and it just sits there seemingly looping.

I've flashed the stock recovery, from Stockroms . net, the bootloader and image from the Google Developers page and it still just sits there.
Anyone have any ideas?

I've also tried erasing all partitions and then flashing again. Right now i`m willing to try anything
 
H3g3m0n
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 57
Join Date: Sep 2009
Why not link to the official source?
https://developers.google.com/androi...mages#mantaray
 
espionage724
Old
#10  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 505
Posts: 2,501
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleroi, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by H3g3m0n View Post
Why not link to the official source?
https://developers.google.com/androi...mages#mantaray
Also doesn't the official archive even come with a batch file that does all the necessary commands automatically? The latest pre-4.2 image from Google for the Nexus 7 did anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by padest.com View Post
Don't we need do the following code before unroot?
Code:
fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata
The batch file I mentioned above for the N7 did this, and a guide somewhere else written before said that this was necessary due to some bug in the past (I guess something wasn't being overwritten properly).


Device Ownership:
 

Current Devices:
None
Side Devices:
Nexus 7 (grouper) (franco.Kernel + Rasbeanjelly)
Galaxy Rush (SPH-M830) (Stock)

Ex Devices:
Galaxy Tab 7.0 (SGH-T849)
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 (GT-P3113)
Galaxy Prevail (SPH-M820) (KoumaKernel + CTMod)
Nexus 4 (LGE960/mako) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber)
Nexus 10 (GT-P8110/manta) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes