5,594,077 Members 46,559 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[NOW PUBLIC] Team Codefire Presents: Project FreeGee for Bell, Rogers and Telus

Tip us?
 
thracky
Old
#21  
thracky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 187
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mississauga

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by brunswick000 View Post
I rooted and unlocked without any issues. However, when I enter CMW and attempt to make a nandroid backup of the original Rom it says "Can't mount unlock path". I've never run into this before. Do I need to mount something in the Mounts & Storage?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
Make sure you do backup to internal sdcard, we don't have external.
  • HTC One - Telus - OmniRom
  • LG Optimus G LG-E973 - Telus - Rooted and Freegee'd, CM 10.1
  • Samsung Galaxy S III SGH-i747 - Telus - CM10 Personal kangs. Headphone jack issues, exchanged!
  • Samsung Galaxy S II GT-i9100 - Unlocked - CM9 personal kangs.Sold!
 
Haze028
Old
#22  
Haze028's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 379
Posts: 401
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BumRush View Post
If it disables LG Security does that mean we can safely uninstall google apps like movies and books?
Dont quote me, but Im pretty sure uninstalling google Apps will still Produce a Security error. I would old off personally.


Edit: you can till safely freeze them.
My Work: Step By Step Source Build Guide, PAC-Man 4.3.1 for Optimus G

My Devices: Current - LG Optimus G, Acer Iconia Tab a500 Past -Motorola Atrix, Samsung Omnia II(O2Droid), Samsung Galaxy i7500



If I helped you out, take a second to press the Thanks button!!!
 
brunswick000
Old
#23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 546
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kingston, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by thracky View Post
Make sure you do backup to internal sdcard, we don't have external.
WOW! I feel really stupid right now. Thanks.
 
BloodBaron
Old
#24  
BloodBaron's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 409
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haze028 View Post
Dont quote me, but Im pretty sure uninstalling google Apps will still Produce a Security error. I would old off personally.


Edit: you can till safely freeze them.
thought version 0.5 got rid of the LG security error all together
LG Nexus 5 : w/ CM11 + Chaos kernel
HP Touchpad : w/ CM11
 
Haze028
Old
#25  
Haze028's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 379
Posts: 401
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodBaron View Post
thought version 0.5 got rid of the LG security error all together


As I said, don't quote me, just didn't want anyone going through unnessesary crap. If it has be removed then all is good and ignore my post. Sorry for my ignorance

---------- Post added at 09:37 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:34 AM ----------

Just had a huge scare! I'm running a bell og, when i got up today i turned it on, checked xda, made a post. 20 mins later i tried to turn it on and the capacitive buttons lit up but nothing on the screen...just black. I tried plugging it in to charge/computer, but the actuall screen was not turning on, only the cap. buttons.

I did adb reboot and it booted up as per normal with screen working fine. I assume this screen tearing is a result of something in the freegee, but as it wasn't permanent, only just a slight scare.

Just though people should know so they don't panic should it happen to them.
My Work: Step By Step Source Build Guide, PAC-Man 4.3.1 for Optimus G

My Devices: Current - LG Optimus G, Acer Iconia Tab a500 Past -Motorola Atrix, Samsung Omnia II(O2Droid), Samsung Galaxy i7500



If I helped you out, take a second to press the Thanks button!!!
 
Shelnutt2
Old
#26  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1605
Posts: 801
Join Date: Mar 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haze028 View Post
]Just had a huge scare! I'm running a bell og, when i got up today i turned it on, checked xda, made a post. 20 mins later i tried to turn it on and the capacitive buttons lit up but nothing on the screen...just black. I tried plugging it in to charge/computer, but the actuall screen was not turning on, only the cap. buttons.

I did adb reboot and it booted up as per normal with screen working fine. I assume this screen tearing is a result of something in the freegee, but as it wasn't permanent, only just a slight scare.

Just though people should know so they don't panic should it happen to them.

We appreciate you letting us know about any bugs. However it's unlikely this was caused my freegee. Your original kernel and ramdisk are intact, minus the single change made to disable security checks. I think it's more an LG bug, but if it does happen again let us know and pull the logcat and kmsg for us.
 
DarknessTM
Old
#27  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 82
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default Sorry but...

This is to unlock the bootloader?
 
Shelnutt2
Old
#28  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 1605
Posts: 801
Join Date: Mar 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarknessTM View Post
This is to unlock the bootloader?
Yes, that's what this does.

Sent from my LG-LS970 using xda app-developers app
 
BloodBaron
Old
#29  
BloodBaron's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 409
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Winnipeg
I just removed a bunch of Rogers and fido apps and did not receive the security error upon reboot

Sent from my LG-E971 using xda premium
LG Nexus 5 : w/ CM11 + Chaos kernel
HP Touchpad : w/ CM11
 
brunswick000
Old
#30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 546
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Kingston, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodBaron View Post
I just removed a bunch of Rogers and fido apps and did not receive the security error upon reboot

Sent from my LG-E971 using xda premium
I can't remove the Rogers apps. When I attempt to remove them with titanium it says "can't find .apk" Weird, because it will allow me to freeze them. We should begin a list in another thread in regards to which systems apps can be removed without consequence. Some of the service apps may pose problems when deleted if they are embedded into the Rom.

Sent from my LG-E971 using xda premium

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes