Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,814 Members 43,649 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Where's this 2GB of RAM at?

Tip us?
 
penguintamer
Old
#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by bioorganic View Post
I'm by no means an expert on this, but I dug into android memory management quite a bit when trying to optimize Shadowgun Deadzone performance. I don't think any of the apps measure memory used by native code. There's an adb command that will show you native memory use for an app, but I never dug that far into it. Again, I'm not a developer, but I assume your missing memory is being used by used by the parts android running native code. What's not clear to me is how android handles how much native memory an app can use. I got over my gaming fixation, but I'm still curious about this. If anyone can shed some light on this, I'd love to hear it.
I've checked /proc/meminfo and it looks like even the kernel doesn't see the full 2GB (assuming it is really there). MemTotal is 1,686,380 kB. Even if they were using 2GB==2,000,000,000 B, it's still missing over 150MB. I'd really like to know what is going on, but even Google support is completely clueless.
I'll probably just return it for something that lets me use the amount of RAM advertised.
 
androme
Old
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 47
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Arles
May be video ram is shared with main memory ?
Samsung S2 Cyanogen 9 (04/19) Neak Kernel (AOSP 2.02)
Google Nexus 10 (PA Rom + KTManta kernel)
 
mieszk3
Old
#13  
mieszk3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 113
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Poznan
About 160MB is taken by Android OS (kernel + necessary libraries). It's reserved only for the OS, so it's unavailable for the user. It's common for all Android devices I've had.
For example my i9001 (SGS+) has also missing ~160MB of RAM (should have 512MB, but has only ~350MB available for apps.
 
penguintamer
Old
#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
If the video memory is shared at the hardware level, the number would make sense. What irks me is that I don't see that mentioned anywhere even on 'techie' blogs/reviews and even Google support doesn't know this about their device.
From what I understand, unless the kernel was modified to report less memory than is really available, meminfo should report the full amount accurately.
 
JarGnex
Old
(Last edited by JarGnex; 19th February 2013 at 06:40 PM.)
#15  
JarGnex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 117
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: [Q] Where's this 2GB of RAM at?


I don't even get 1.6 GB of ram
Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 2
 
y2whisper
Old
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 2,184
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto
thats seems to be a normal thing for 4.2.2
Google Nexus 5 by LG 32GB
Slimkat 6.6
Faux Kernel


Google Nexus 7 by Asus 32GB
Stock L Preview - Rooted
Stock Kernel
 
dibblebill
Old
#17  
dibblebill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 653
Posts: 1,296
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
As an owner of a previous tablet, my Acer Iconia a500 reported (in 3.0, 3.1, 3.2, 4.0, 4.1, and 4.2) that it only had 725MB of RAM (it shipped with 1GB). My guess is that the missing chunk is graphics memory. I also show 1.6GB of RAM in my Nexus 10.
Lord of the Snarkô
ROM's:
Tempest [OmniROM] 4.4 (Manta) (m7att)
 
espionage724
Old
#18  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 506
Posts: 2,503
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleroi, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
prior to 4.2.2, the GPU had 400-some MB reserved. At 4.2.2, there is almost an extra 400MB (386MB I think to be exact) reserved for the GPU, so 2GB - 800MB = 1.2GB

The extra GPU memory is to prevent userspace fragmentation if I read right.


Device Ownership:
 

Current Devices:
None
Side Devices:
Nexus 7 (grouper) (franco.Kernel + Rasbeanjelly)
Galaxy Rush (SPH-M830) (Stock)

Ex Devices:
Galaxy Tab 7.0 (SGH-T849)
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 (GT-P3113)
Galaxy Prevail (SPH-M820) (KoumaKernel + CTMod)
Nexus 4 (LGE960/mako) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber)
Nexus 10 (GT-P8110/manta) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to espionage724 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dibblebill
Old
#19  
dibblebill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 653
Posts: 1,296
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Default Re: [Q] Where's this 2GB of RAM at?

Awesome. Thanks for the explanation. I just noticed that after the CyanogenMod 4.2.2 patch, mine dropped as well. Honeycomb and Ice Cream Sandwich must've reserved around 256MB of memory.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using XDA Premium HD app
Lord of the Snarkô
ROM's:
Tempest [OmniROM] 4.4 (Manta) (m7att)
 
IRX120
Old
#20  
IRX120's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 646
Posts: 1,806
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta
Default Re: [Q] Where's this 2GB of RAM at?

Odd, seeing as how the N7 has 975/1024 available
And my nexus 4 has 1.8 of the 2gb available.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app

Tags
memory, missing, ram
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


ARChon Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more

Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more