Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Where's this 2GB of RAM at?

OP espionage724

20th February 2013, 04:27 AM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 759
 
1,835 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRX120

Odd, seeing as how the N7 has 975/1024 available
And my nexus 4 has 1.8 of the 2gb available.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app

Doesnt Tegra3 have its own dedicated vram though?
Last edited by EniGmA1987; 20th February 2013 at 04:32 AM.
20th February 2013, 10:02 PM   |  #22  
Traniz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Dalwik might as well use as much as possible since it's needed since all the apps on Android runs on VM.
23rd February 2013, 01:25 AM   |  #23  
beekay201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,132
 
4,675 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Re: [Q] Where's this 2GB of RAM at?
RAM is there to be used.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using xda app-developers app
23rd February 2013, 09:47 AM   |  #24  
Junior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 7
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bk201doesntexist

RAM is there to be used.

Well, obviously, yes.

The issue here is not the fact it's being used, but rather the lack of visibility around what the missing chunk of RAM is being used for.
24th February 2013, 01:32 AM   |  #25  
iamikon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,382
 
1,588 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Re: [Q] Where's this 2GB of RAM at?
You also have to consider our screen has about 4x the pixels. It takes a lot from our gpu to make everything smooth and clean hence the extra 400mb dedicated to it in 4.2.2 since 4.2.1 was a bit laggy graphically

Sent from my Nexus 10 using XDA Premium HD app
29th May 2014, 09:37 AM   |  #26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Hi,
check this on your N10 (4.4.2):

Code:
u0_a192@manta:/ $ more /proc/meminfo
MemTotal:        1124832 kB
MemFree:          168128 kB
Buffers:           15740 kB
Cached:           173812 kB
SwapCached:            0 kB
Active:           518136 kB
Inactive:         112260 kB
Active(anon):     447724 kB
Inactive(anon):     7448 kB
Active(file):      70412 kB
Inactive(file):   104812 kB
Unevictable:        1136 kB
Mlocked:               0 kB
HighTotal:        648576 kB
HighFree:          51600 kB
LowTotal:         476256 kB
LowFree:          116528 kB
SwapTotal:             0 kB
SwapFree:              0 kB
Dirty:                 0 kB
Writeback:             0 kB
AnonPages:        441980 kB
Mapped:           108240 kB
Shmem:             13192 kB
Slab:              33608 kB
SReclaimable:      15328 kB
SUnreclaim:        18280 kB
KernelStack:        7528 kB
PageTables:        10564 kB
NFS_Unstable:          0 kB
Bounce:                0 kB
WritebackTmp:          0 kB
--more--
I'm wondering about the MemTotal: 1124832 kB

Shouldn't show /proc/meminfo the complete 2GB for MemTotal?
29th May 2014, 04:44 PM   |  #27  
demkantor's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag mpls
Thanks Meter: 2,922
 
6,073 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
No because it is showing what is avalilable to the os, there are 2+ pages here explaining where your missing ram has gone

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
memory, missing, ram
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes