Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,027 Members 49,093 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] AT&T i317 with N7105 ROM and i317 Modem ==> TOTAL HAPPINESS

Tip us?
 
miscom
Old
(Last edited by miscom; 28th November 2012 at 03:15 AM.) Reason: Solved
#1  
miscom's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1028
Posts: 1,043
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Gallatin, TN

 
DONATE TO ME
Question [Q] AT&T i317 with N7105 ROM and i317 Modem ==> TOTAL HAPPINESS

SOLVED

See post #7 below

Greetings,

My apologies if this question has already been answered in another thread but after searching for several hours and finding nothing I decided to ask:

Is it possible to flash an N7105 Stock ROM into an i317? Will this brick the device?

To preserve AT&T's LTE I am assuming that I should flash the AT&T radio.Will this setup work OK?

Thanks for advance for your help.
__________________
Main Device: Samsung Galaxy S5 G906S
Android ROM:Custom ROM G906SKSU1ANFI
__________________
 
dandaman1219
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jul 2012
I would like a definite answer on this as well. The other threads were too vague with too many different answers. I know it's probably not recommended, but that is what nandroids are for!
 
miscom
Old
#3  
miscom's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1028
Posts: 1,043
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Gallatin, TN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dandaman1219 View Post
I would like a definite answer on this as well. The other threads were too vague with too many different answers. I know it's probably not recommended, but that is what nandroids are for!
Exactly: A definite answer. I have seen a lot of people asking the same question and no clear answer anywhere.

If I flash STOCK ROM N7105XXALJ5 (or similar) in a i317, would the device get bricked? How about LTE? If it doesn't work, does it work after flashing the AT&T modem UCALI6?

And how about the EFS partition? Would it get damaged by flashing an N7105 Stock ROM?
__________________
Main Device: Samsung Galaxy S5 G906S
Android ROM:Custom ROM G906SKSU1ANFI
__________________
 
antiochasylum
Old
#4  
antiochasylum's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 7619
Posts: 4,046
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burleson TX

 
DONATE TO ME
There are other factors besides just a modem that need to be present and enabled for the rom to work.

If your flashing through odin I would be careful, I would flash through recovery and make sure all the mount points are correct first. The device SHOULD(in theory) not brick - since they are in a nut shell *the same*

EFS partition should be fine, your not touching that UNLESS you flash a modem, if you retain the stock modem and do not flash a new one you should not have to worry about your EFS.

Modem's in my opinion are something that should not be flashed again and again. Flash one and leave it, less likely to corrupt the EFS.

You'll need a kernel as well for LTE, i supposed the stock 7105 will work, because the bands of the modem are defined in the modem.bin.

I'm about to flash omega 7.1 on my 317, I've copied over all the needed files, and edited installer NOT to flash a kernel or modem. So It should work with flying colors



Click below to see my teams work

 
Team Asylum CM 10.1 for the Galaxy Note 2 LTE
Team Asylum Omni 4.4.2 for the Galaxy Note 2 HSPA
Team Asylum Omni 4.4.2 for the Nexus 4(mako)
Team Asylum Omni 4.4.2 For the N7000



Nexus One < Tab 7 < Xoom < Tab 10.1 < Nexus S < Galaxy S II < Tab 7 Plus < Galaxy Nexus < Galaxy Note N7K < Nexus 7 < Galaxy S III < AT&T Galaxy S III < Galaxy Note II < Nexus 4 < Nexus 7 2013 < Galaxy Note 3 < Nexus 5
 
jwt0044
Old
#5  
jwt0044's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 497
Posts: 834
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by antiochasylum View Post
There are other factors besides just a modem that need to be present and enabled for the rom to work.

If your flashing through odin I would be careful, I would flash through recovery and make sure all the mount points are correct first. The device SHOULD(in theory) not brick - since they are in a nut shell *the same*

EFS partition should be fine, your not touching that UNLESS you flash a modem, if you retain the stock modem and do not flash a new one you should not have to worry about your EFS.

Modem's in my opinion are something that should not be flashed again and again. Flash one and leave it, less likely to corrupt the EFS.

You'll need a kernel as well for LTE, i supposed the stock 7105 will work, because the bands of the modem are defined in the modem.bin.

I'm about to flash omega 7.1 on my 317, I've copied over all the needed files, and edited installer NOT to flash a kernel or modem. So It should work with flying colors
Could you please explain what you did in more detail. I have also been trying to port.
Thanks!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda app-developers app
 
miscom
Old
#6  
miscom's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1028
Posts: 1,043
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Gallatin, TN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by antiochasylum View Post
There are other factors besides just a modem that need to be present and enabled for the rom to work.

If your flashing through odin I would be careful, I would flash through recovery and make sure all the mount points are correct first. The device SHOULD(in theory) not brick - since they are in a nut shell *the same*

EFS partition should be fine, your not touching that UNLESS you flash a modem, if you retain the stock modem and do not flash a new one you should not have to worry about your EFS.

Modem's in my opinion are something that should not be flashed again and again. Flash one and leave it, less likely to corrupt the EFS.

You'll need a kernel as well for LTE, i supposed the stock 7105 will work, because the bands of the modem are defined in the modem.bin.

I'm about to flash omega 7.1 on my 317, I've copied over all the needed files, and edited installer NOT to flash a kernel or modem. So It should work with flying colors
Well, what you are going to do with Omega 7.1 is basically the same thing I want to do with a Stock N7105. Please let me know how it goes.
__________________
Main Device: Samsung Galaxy S5 G906S
Android ROM:Custom ROM G906SKSU1ANFI
__________________
 
miscom
Old
#7  
miscom's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1028
Posts: 1,043
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Gallatin, TN

 
DONATE TO ME
Thumbs up Sunccess!!!

Greetings,

Please see the attached screen shots.I have the N7105 ROM running on my i317 (didn't even wipe data!).

To make this long store short I downloaded Samsung-Updates.com-GT-N7105_MM1_1_20121012152856_ah7cer98dy.zip and unpacked it and ran it through the kitchen found at http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=633246 to create a new flashable ZIP file (CDW or TWRP, although I only tested it through TWRP.

This ROM is pure stock, none wipe zip aligned and I removed the N7105 modem.bin. Oh, and before I forget I removed all the customizations from SG. If someone wants those APK I can publish them.

I have AT&T LTE speeds with an N7105 ROM. And Multi Window is working too.

If someone wants to test it AT THEIR OWN RISK please PM me. I am going to upload this ROM to my dropbox account and then share it.

If this works OK I will open a new thread in development where I will try to have the latest N7105 converted for our i317 or create a ROM on request.

So to recap: This ROM won't replace your radio and it won't wipe your data. If you want to test it you do it at your own risk. I cannot be held responsible for any issues that happen with your phone or if you brick it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshots_2012-11-25-16-34-21.jpg
Views:	735
Size:	28.0 KB
ID:	1511238   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshots_2012-11-25-16-44-07.jpg
Views:	706
Size:	35.0 KB
ID:	1511239   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshots_2012-11-25-17-08-17.jpg
Views:	689
Size:	41.9 KB
ID:	1511240  
__________________
Main Device: Samsung Galaxy S5 G906S
Android ROM:Custom ROM G906SKSU1ANFI
__________________
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to miscom For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
440hsp
Old
#8  
440hsp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 246
Join Date: Jun 2011
Guys I've been looking into this also. I had the int. 32gb gt-i9300 until it took a an accidental bath in the washing machine. Then I seen that the i317 carried the same internal components as the int. version but with 2gb of ram and lte support. It was a win win in my book. Noticed dev support isn't as great as int. Version and I got used to having so many options with my s3. If we could use these int. roms on our phones we would definitely have the best of both worlds. I've never used the kitchen as described in an earlier post but with a little help I would be willing to give it a shot. I miss the omega roms and others to boot. I liked having so many options to choose from. Lets get together guys and work this out.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda premium
Sent from my AT&T SGH-I317 GALAXY NOTE 2
 
darktriad
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 17
Join Date: Nov 2012
It would be great if you can show more proof that it was actually done in lte since it only shows 4G in the symbol and not 4GLTE (unless its in the rom itself tgat it couldnt display the symbol at all, just guessing)

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317
 
miscom
Old
#10  
miscom's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1028
Posts: 1,043
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Gallatin, TN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by darktriad View Post
It would be great if you can show more proof that it was actually done in lte since it only shows 4G in the symbol and not 4GLTE (unless its in the rom itself tgat it couldnt display the symbol at all, just guessing)

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317
The international version doesn't show LTE but it's still using it.

I will have the ROM up this morning in the development section. I wanted some people to test it before releasing it.
__________________
Main Device: Samsung Galaxy S5 G906S
Android ROM:Custom ROM G906SKSU1ANFI
__________________

The Following User Says Thank You to miscom For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes