Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,679 Members 40,010 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] How to UNBRICK your Optimus G - security error, bootloop etc

Tip us?
 
potatohead
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 199
Join Date: Feb 2006
Info 2 [GUIDE] How to UNBRICK your Optimus G - security error, bootloop etc

For whatever reasons (improper rooting/flashing, power outage during updating, freezing/removal of LG bloatwares or simple bad luck etc), if you bricked your Optimus G and is stuck with a Security Error or in a bootloop, fear not, as long as you can put it into Download and Recovery Mode, all is not lost.

I got the korean version of the (almost) Optimus G (Optimus LTE2, f160k) and ran into the same security error problem that happened out of the blue.

The steps that I undertook below resolved the problem for me and has been proven to work on Optimus G by fellow members.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1&postcount=29


1) Download the latest KDZ from LG's server for your phone via the app below (kudos to the creator)

http://www.mediafire.com/?cgeb6o5osy2yl9c

2) Make sure you have LG United Drivers already installed, otherwise download from below

http://www.mediafire.com/?82nt1aeh04aqa3m

3) Download LG KDZ Updater

http://www.mediafire.com/?sj5y073xal03ntw

4) Download the manual adb wipe batch file

http://www.mediafire.com/?ru7erfxsz7p7s3p

5) Put your Optimus G into Download Mode by switching it off, attaching the usb cable to the phone, holding both the up and down volume buttons at the same time and lastly inserting the usb cable into the computer; wait for the drivers to finish loading if doing it for the first time.

6) Unzip the downloaded updater zip file and run KDZ_FW_UPD.exe. Use the settings below

Type: 3GQCT
Phone Mode: CS_Emergency
KDZ file: navigate to the folder which you have saved the downloaded KDZ from the step (1)

Click Launch Software Update and wait for the flash process to finish

7) Your phone will restart itself when IParam = 90 is displayed and proceed slower until you see IParam=1 again (which signals the end of flash, you can safely exit the program then and remove the cable from the phone). If phone boots up normally, congrats, skip the steps below and proceed to use the phone as per normal.

However, this most probably will not be the case for newer Optimus-es, as the data partition somehow wasn't wiped even when KDZ-ed, remaining 'dirty', thus causing bootloop or security infringement.

8) If the phone is stuck at the booting up LG/Telco logo, you will need to manually wipe the data partition.

9) Force the phone off by holding the power button for appx 15secs.

10) Put the phone into recovery mode by holding the volume up and home button concurrently, then press the power button. Let go of all the buttons after you see the LG logo on screen for the 2nd time and the screen goes blank thereafter (backlight may still be on). The phone will kind of reboot and then enters recovery mode. Repeat the process if you did not get it the first time.

11) With the phone in Recovery Mode, connect it to the computer, wait for the drivers to load (if doing it for the first time), unzip the wipe batch file downloaded earlier from step (4), double click on wipe.bat to execute the wipe command.

12) Your phone will auto reboot when wiped and (hopefully) boot as per normal.

Hope with this simple guide fellow members will feel safer when rooting or removing non essential LG wares from their Optimus G.

The Following 88 Users Say Thank You to potatohead For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chadouming
Old
#2  
chadouming's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,676
Posts: 2,001
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: On the interwebz
Tried this, however the phone get stuck on a bootloop. It's stuck on bootanimation. I also tried to clear data with the adb wipe files but i end up with a phone stuck on that image.
New? Read this post
Member of BBQTeam.
Offering you : BBQTools, OpenDesign and soon BBQDroid

<codeworkx> didn't look at it because i'm lazy.
 
razrgalaxy
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Bell E973

I have E973 from Bell and it's been bricked since sunday after renaming couple of system apps.
I am trying to follow the instruction above but i can't download KDZ file with LG firmware downloader bc it just would not take my SN.
Error msg is "unsuccessful in connecting to server orphone infomations is wrong!"
Could anyone upload KDZ file for Bell E973 somewhere on the net that i can download?

It would be much appreciated..
 
thracky
Old
#4  
thracky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 192
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mississauga

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrgalaxy View Post
I have E973 from Bell and it's been bricked since sunday after renaming couple of system apps.
I am trying to follow the instruction above but i can't download KDZ file with LG firmware downloader bc it just would not take my SN.
Error msg is "unsuccessful in connecting to server orphone infomations is wrong!"
Could anyone upload KDZ file for Bell E973 somewhere on the net that i can download?

It would be much appreciated..
Go here, replacing <yourimei> with your actual imei (just numbers, nothing else), it'll spit out a bunch of text including an address with the kdz.

http://csmg.lgmobile.com:9002/csmg/b2c/client/auth_model_check2.jsp?esn=<yourimei>
  • HTC One - Telus - GPE
  • LG Optimus G LG-E973 - Telus - Rooted and Freegee'd, CM 10.1
  • Samsung Galaxy S III SGH-i747 - Telus - CM10 Personal kangs. Headphone jack issues, exchanged!
  • Samsung Galaxy S II GT-i9100 - Unlocked - CM9 personal kangs.Sold!
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to thracky For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
razrgalaxy
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2012
Thanks thracky for quick response.

but it is just stck at blank window..

---------- Post added at 10:55 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:17 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by razrgalaxy View Post
Thanks thracky for quick response.

but it is just stck at blank window..
Tried it on Chrome but no address with KDZ.
 
thracky
Old
(Last edited by thracky; 27th November 2012 at 04:07 PM.)
#6  
thracky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 192
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mississauga

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrgalaxy View Post
Thanks thracky for quick response.

but it is just stck at blank window..

---------- Post added at 10:55 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:17 AM ----------



Tried it on Chrome but no address with KDZ.
Don't include the <> characters with your imei, I just put those there to mark where the IMEI goes :P

Also, your IMEI should be 15 digits, and I've only used this on my computer, so I'm not sure if it works on mobile browser or not, and if that's how you're trying it.
  • HTC One - Telus - GPE
  • LG Optimus G LG-E973 - Telus - Rooted and Freegee'd, CM 10.1
  • Samsung Galaxy S III SGH-i747 - Telus - CM10 Personal kangs. Headphone jack issues, exchanged!
  • Samsung Galaxy S II GT-i9100 - Unlocked - CM9 personal kangs.Sold!
The Following User Says Thank You to thracky For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
potatohead
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 199
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrgalaxy View Post
I have E973 from Bell and it's been bricked since sunday after renaming couple of system apps.
I am trying to follow the instruction above but i can't download KDZ file with LG firmware downloader bc it just would not take my SN.
Error msg is "unsuccessful in connecting to server orphone infomations is wrong!"
Could anyone upload KDZ file for Bell E973 somewhere on the net that i can download?

It would be much appreciated..
2nd thracky's view.

would recommend u do it on the PC, use the app, enter your model E973, enter your imei (15 digits, usually means omitting the the last 0 or digit), shd be able to download your KDZ.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to potatohead For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
potatohead
Old
(Last edited by potatohead; 28th November 2012 at 02:56 AM.)
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 199
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadouming View Post
Tried this, however the phone get stuck on a bootloop. It's stuck on bootanimation. I also tried to clear data with the adb wipe files but i end up with a phone stuck on that .
did u wipe in recovery mode?

can you put your phone into download mode again?

if yes, try the whole process again?

as long as your phone can still enter download mode, all is not lost, even if this method does not work,

good luck!
 
thracky
Old
#9  
thracky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 192
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mississauga

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by potatohead View Post
did u wipe in recovery mode?

can you put your phone into download mode again?

if yes, try the whole process again?

as long as your phone can still enter download mode, all is not lost, even if this method does not work,

good luck!
He couldn't get into recovery at all, that image he posted was what happened going into recovery.

I think he mangled his partition table, and I feel like KDZ wouldn't necessarily repartition everything based on my experience with tools for other phones like Odin for Samsung phones, where you explicitly have to tell it to repartition and give it a file to dictate the layout.
  • HTC One - Telus - GPE
  • LG Optimus G LG-E973 - Telus - Rooted and Freegee'd, CM 10.1
  • Samsung Galaxy S III SGH-i747 - Telus - CM10 Personal kangs. Headphone jack issues, exchanged!
  • Samsung Galaxy S II GT-i9100 - Unlocked - CM9 personal kangs.Sold!
The Following User Says Thank You to thracky For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
potatohead
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 199
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by thracky View Post
He couldn't get into recovery at all, that image he posted was what happened going into recovery.

I think he mangled his partition table, and I feel like KDZ wouldn't necessarily repartition everything based on my experience with tools for other phones like Odin for Samsung phones, where you explicitly have to tell it to repartition and give it a file to dictate the layout.
learned something new, thanks

KDZ-ing of LG's phones of late seem to be not as 'thorough' as previous, it used to be the be all and end all; or maybe i didnt mangle my phone bad enough

has he tried upgrading via LG's update tool instead?

he may need to KDZ an older version first (if available) so LG tool can sense an upgrade is necessary, and hopefully, it is intelligent enough to repartition if one is necessary.

also, LG's update tool has in-built recovery/repair option, not sure how that works though, worth to explore?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes