Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] How to UNBRICK your Optimus G - security error, bootloop etc

OP potatohead

28th November 2012, 05:47 PM   |  #11  
thracky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mississauga
Thanks Meter: 127
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by potatohead

learned something new, thanks

KDZ-ing of LG's phones of late seem to be not as 'thorough' as previous, it used to be the be all and end all; or maybe i didnt mangle my phone bad enough

has he tried upgrading via LG's update tool instead?

he may need to KDZ an older version first (if available) so LG tool can sense an upgrade is necessary, and hopefully, it is intelligent enough to repartition if one is necessary.

also, LG's update tool has in-built recovery/repair option, not sure how that works though, worth to explore?

Yep update tool was tried, recovery wouldn't work either. He wound up exchanging the phone anyways
28th November 2012, 10:06 PM   |  #12  
ssfirme's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth TX
Thanks Meter: 140
 
474 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
I could not find the KDZ file
30th November 2012, 05:06 AM   |  #13  
Misudoll's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Beijing
Thanks Meter: 23
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Smile
wish to know if there are any other ways to get the kdz?

I've asked some L-01E onwers, they replied that normal ways do not work japan version

look for help THX
30th November 2012, 02:33 PM   |  #14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssfirme

I could not find the KDZ file

Can you give me your IMEI, I'll paste link download for you
30th November 2012, 07:58 PM   |  #15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
keeping getting "upgrade error wparam 100 lparam 72"
1st December 2012, 02:32 PM   |  #16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Question for Sprint
Quote:
Originally Posted by potatohead

6) Unzip the downloaded updater zip file and run KDZ_FW_UPD.exe. Use the settings below

Type: 3GQCT
Phone Mode: CS_Emergency
KDZ file: navigate to the folder which you have saved the downloaded KDZ from the step (1)

Question, on the Sprint version of this phone, would the type be CDMA?

Also, do you think anything else would be different?

*edit* Also, when I try to download the KDZ file, it is instead a .CAB file that has an .wdb, .wdh, and a .dll file inside.

Am I supposed to rename it? convert it?

Thanks!
Last edited by waldo36; 2nd December 2012 at 04:10 PM. Reason: Looking for KDZ? Found CAB.
3rd December 2012, 06:54 PM   |  #17  
trusteelfan's Avatar
Senior Member
Sacramento
Thanks Meter: 2
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
I can not get it to download the KDZ file either. Is there anyway to post a link for a direct download?
3rd December 2012, 07:13 PM   |  #18  
thracky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mississauga
Thanks Meter: 127
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by trusteelfan

I can not get it to download the KDZ file either. Is there anyway to post a link for a direct download?

This should not be used for the Sprint or AT&T variants, please see instructions for restoring with LGNPST in the respective forums as we have .tot files for both AT&T and Sprint.
3rd December 2012, 07:15 PM   |  #19  
trusteelfan's Avatar
Senior Member
Sacramento
Thanks Meter: 2
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by thracky

This should not be used for the Sprint or AT&T variants, please see instructions for restoring with LGNPST in the respective forums as we have .tot files for both AT&T and Sprint.

Thank you. I have seen that but I do not know how to flash the TOT file. I have downloaded that, but do not know how to flash it.
4th December 2012, 01:46 AM   |  #20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I wouldn't work for me until I added 1 more step
First of all, thanks again to the poster and xda in general...y'all freakin rule.

I couldn't get this to work for the longest time, though I knew that these valuable instructions were the key to fixing my device.

The difference between total failure and absolute success for me was making sure to run "msxml.msi" in the KDZ updater before running "KDZ_FW_UPD.exe"

If you're stuck, try that!!!

Thanks once again for helping me fix my device!

The Following User Says Thank You to autotelic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes