Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,126 Members 42,895 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

KFHD System.img Recovery Tool

Tip us?
 
drr00t
Old
#21  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 44
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brasília - DF
Hi,

My problem were drivers for kindle. Until now Allan working greate.

Thanks

Sent from my HTC Incredible S using xda premium
 
slacka-vt
Old
#22  
slacka-vt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 367
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern Vermont
Thanks, Onemeila. Just got my KFHD 8.9 for Christmas. Going to try your 8.1.4 updated tool as soon as I finish downloading.
Current Devices
Verizon HTC One - S-Off BoneStock v4.1
Google Nexus 7 - Stock KitKat 4.4.3
Amazon Kindle Fire HD 8.9 - Stock

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Previous Devices
HTC Incredible 4G LTE - Retired
HTC Incredible 2 - R.I.P.
Motorola Xoom - Retired
Motorola Droid X2 - Traded for Dinc2
HTC Incredible - Retired
Motorola Droid X - R.I.P.
HTC Eris - Retired
HTC Imagio - Retired
Samsung Omnia - Retired
 
drr00t
Old
#23  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 44
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brasília - DF
Hi,

I loose my root one day after restore with this method like Onemelia sad..., so i had ti root with another method and all works greate again. I can't wait ti have cyanogenmod

Sent from my HTC Incredible S using xda premium
 
gunnyman
Old
#24  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2655
Posts: 7,882
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Greenville SC

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm trying this tool from my mac running VMware. I enable fastboot then select my option 2 and itsays waiting for device. any hints?
adb devices shows the kindle connected. I feel like I'm missing something obvious.

Since this is just a front end for fastboot can I just execute the fastboot command from my terminal on my mac?
I don't see the kindle reboot to a bootloader mode so I don't know if it has to or not.
Thanks for answering my stupid questions.
Uncle Gunny says, "MAKE A NANDROID"
LG G2 Uncarriered
LG Gpad 8.3 GPE
Rooted and Xposed
Don't be a d*ck -Wil Wheaton
Unlocking and rooting your HTC One with a Mac
Oh BTW I'm fat.
 
onemeila
Old
#25  
onemeila's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 237
Posts: 296
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Winchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman View Post
I'm trying this tool from my mac running VMware. I enable fastboot then select my option 2 and itsays waiting for device. any hints?
adb devices shows the kindle connected. I feel like I'm missing something obvious.

Since this is just a front end for fastboot can I just execute the fastboot command from my terminal on my mac?
I don't see the kindle reboot to a bootloader mode so I don't know if it has to or not.
Thanks for answering my stupid questions.
Yeah all this script does is run a couple simple fastboot and adb commands. If you don't see big blue letters that say fastboot then it's not there. With the device powered down leave it unplugged, run the fastboot command or option from tool then plug it into pc\mac
The Following User Says Thank You to onemeila For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
onemeila
Old
#26  
onemeila's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 237
Posts: 296
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Winchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by onemeila View Post

Thanks to mdblaze for bringing to my attention that a factory cable is not needed with this device
Again Thanks to kinfauns for the how to on backing up and restoring system software.
.

Would anyone like a backup w/ deodexed system apps and framework?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to onemeila For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gunnyman
Old
#27  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2655
Posts: 7,882
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Greenville SC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by onemeila View Post

Yeah all this script does is run a couple simple fastboot and adb commands. If you don't see big blue letters that say fastboot then it's not there. With the device powered down leave it unplugged, run the fastboot command or option from tool then plug it into pc\mac
Many thanks
Uncle Gunny says, "MAKE A NANDROID"
LG G2 Uncarriered
LG Gpad 8.3 GPE
Rooted and Xposed
Don't be a d*ck -Wil Wheaton
Unlocking and rooting your HTC One with a Mac
Oh BTW I'm fat.
 
gunnyman
Old
#28  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2655
Posts: 7,882
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Greenville SC

 
DONATE TO ME
Onemeilia:
would you be able to post an unmodified system image for restore back to stock?
Is it already there and I'm missing something?
Uncle Gunny says, "MAKE A NANDROID"
LG G2 Uncarriered
LG Gpad 8.3 GPE
Rooted and Xposed
Don't be a d*ck -Wil Wheaton
Unlocking and rooting your HTC One with a Mac
Oh BTW I'm fat.
 
onemeila
Old
#29  
onemeila's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 237
Posts: 296
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Winchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman View Post
Onemeilia:
would you be able to post an unmodified system image for restore back to stock?
Is it already there and I'm missing something?
There is no way to make a system.img backup without being rooted. If you use the option with su binary/superuser.apk only, it is as close to stock as you can get. To get to completely stock you would just need to move superuser.apk from system/app folder to data/app folder, then go to system/xbin folder and delete the su files. After this do a factory reset and you'll be back to stock.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to onemeila For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gunnyman
Old
#30  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2655
Posts: 7,882
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Greenville SC

 
DONATE TO ME
got it. thanks
Uncle Gunny says, "MAKE A NANDROID"
LG G2 Uncarriered
LG Gpad 8.3 GPE
Rooted and Xposed
Don't be a d*ck -Wil Wheaton
Unlocking and rooting your HTC One with a Mac
Oh BTW I'm fat.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes