Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

KFHD System.img Recovery Tool

OP onemeila

20th December 2012, 05:16 PM   |  #21  
Member
Flag Brasília - DF
Thanks Meter: 0
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Hi,

My problem were drivers for kindle. Until now Allan working greate.

Thanks

Sent from my HTC Incredible S using xda premium
25th December 2012, 04:45 PM   |  #22  
slacka-vt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern Vermont
Thanks Meter: 130
 
367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Thanks, Onemeila. Just got my KFHD 8.9 for Christmas. Going to try your 8.1.4 updated tool as soon as I finish downloading.
29th December 2012, 01:52 AM   |  #23  
Member
Flag Brasília - DF
Thanks Meter: 0
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Hi,

I loose my root one day after restore with this method like Onemelia sad..., so i had ti root with another method and all works greate again. I can't wait ti have cyanogenmod

Sent from my HTC Incredible S using xda premium
31st December 2012, 03:03 AM   |  #24  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,668
 
7,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
I'm trying this tool from my mac running VMware. I enable fastboot then select my option 2 and itsays waiting for device. any hints?
adb devices shows the kindle connected. I feel like I'm missing something obvious.

Since this is just a front end for fastboot can I just execute the fastboot command from my terminal on my mac?
I don't see the kindle reboot to a bootloader mode so I don't know if it has to or not.
Thanks for answering my stupid questions.
31st December 2012, 10:23 AM   |  #25  
onemeila's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Winchester
Thanks Meter: 245
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

I'm trying this tool from my mac running VMware. I enable fastboot then select my option 2 and itsays waiting for device. any hints?
adb devices shows the kindle connected. I feel like I'm missing something obvious.

Since this is just a front end for fastboot can I just execute the fastboot command from my terminal on my mac?
I don't see the kindle reboot to a bootloader mode so I don't know if it has to or not.
Thanks for answering my stupid questions.

Yeah all this script does is run a couple simple fastboot and adb commands. If you don't see big blue letters that say fastboot then it's not there. With the device powered down leave it unplugged, run the fastboot command or option from tool then plug it into pc\mac
The Following User Says Thank You to onemeila For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st December 2012, 11:17 AM   |  #26  
onemeila's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Winchester
Thanks Meter: 245
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by onemeila


Thanks to mdblaze for bringing to my attention that a factory cable is not needed with this device
Again Thanks to kinfauns for the how to on backing up and restoring system software.

.

Would anyone like a backup w/ deodexed system apps and framework?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to onemeila For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st December 2012, 01:16 PM   |  #27  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,668
 
7,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by onemeila


Yeah all this script does is run a couple simple fastboot and adb commands. If you don't see big blue letters that say fastboot then it's not there. With the device powered down leave it unplugged, run the fastboot command or option from tool then plug it into pc\mac

Many thanks
26th January 2013, 08:18 PM   |  #28  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,668
 
7,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Onemeilia:
would you be able to post an unmodified system image for restore back to stock?
Is it already there and I'm missing something?
27th January 2013, 01:43 PM   |  #29  
onemeila's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Winchester
Thanks Meter: 245
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

Onemeilia:
would you be able to post an unmodified system image for restore back to stock?
Is it already there and I'm missing something?

There is no way to make a system.img backup without being rooted. If you use the option with su binary/superuser.apk only, it is as close to stock as you can get. To get to completely stock you would just need to move superuser.apk from system/app folder to data/app folder, then go to system/xbin folder and delete the su files. After this do a factory reset and you'll be back to stock.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to onemeila For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2013, 05:05 PM   |  #30  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,668
 
7,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
got it. thanks

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes