Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Toolkit] Wug's Nexus Root Toolkit v1.9.9 [Updated 11/26/14]: Nexus 10 Thread

OP WugFresh

27th November 2012, 04:56 PM   |  #11  
jonstrong's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 663
 
1,615 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmtend

I am having the same problem. I think it's because debug is checked but not functioning. In the ROM I'm running after you check the debug option nothing will happen unless you also select what app to debug. Because I don't know what app to debug, the Toolkit does not recognize it as being debuged and hangs at that point.
For me it's not a driver issue. It fails the full driver test because of my debug problem. What specific app should we apply the debug to?

Are you referring to the "Android debugging"? That should be under Settings / Developer Options. Scroll down to the "Debugging" section, and simply check "Android debugging" (the subtitle is "Allow Android debug mode, the adb interface on USB (or on network)". You're not actively debugging anything in particular -- simply allowing the activation of debug mode.
27th November 2012, 04:59 PM   |  #12  
Quote:
Originally Posted by WugFresh

Adb/fastboot communicate with the drivers, not the toolkit specifically, so what you are describing doesn't make sense. Are you saying that everything worked fine, then you went ahead and tried installing more/different drivers with this toolkit, and now it doesn't work? If that is the case, then it makes sense.. no need to install drivers when you have ones working. You should start over at step one. Uninstall all the drivers, reboot, and try driver solution #3. Cheers.

{{ WugFresh }}

I kinda follow. However.

I went to use your toolkit, and it says no fastboot device seen.

I use the other toolkit and it boots to fastboot and functions.

After 1.6.0 said that it see no fastboot device, then i tried your drivers, and it fails.

After tryign to install your drivers, i can still go to other toolkit and/or cmd line and fastboot still works and can issue commands.
27th November 2012, 05:09 PM   |  #13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunthermic

I kinda follow. However.

I went to use your toolkit, and it says no fastboot device seen.

I use the other toolkit and it boots to fastboot and functions.

After 1.6.0 said that it see no fastboot device, then i tried your drivers, and it fails.

After tryign to install your drivers, i can still go to other toolkit and/or cmd line and fastboot still works and can issue commands.

This is exactly my experience as well. In fact, I was able to fully use the previously posted toolkit to unlock my device, while this one still fails during the fastboot check. If you bring up a command line and look at the fastboot devices, it shows my device... yet it is still failing in the fastboot check in the toolkit. /shrug

In a slightly related note.. since the 4.2.1 update is pushing out OTA... will JUST an unlocked bootloader on this device prevent OTA's? (I usually would expect to still get OTA's, especially if still running the stock bootloader (which I am... I have not flashed TWRP / CWM yet, and have not yet rooted).
27th November 2012, 05:25 PM   |  #14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
answer
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonstrong

Are you referring to the "Android debugging"? That should be under Settings / Developer Options. Scroll down to the "Debugging" section, and simply check "Android debugging" (the subtitle is "Allow Android debug mode, the adb interface on USB (or on network)". You're not actively debugging anything in particular -- simply allowing the activation of debug mode.

Yes I have debuging checked however, I don't think anything is debuged until you go further down the menu and it ask's what app to debug. I think in the factory ROM once you check debug everything is debuged. In my custom ROM you must also select what you want debug to apply to. If you do not select the correct one the Toolkit assumes you are not debuged.
27th November 2012, 05:41 PM   |  #15  
jonstrong's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 663
 
1,615 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmtend

Yes I have debuging checked however, I don't think anything is debuged until you go further down the menu and it ask's what app to debug. I think in the factory ROM once you check debug everything is debuged. In my custom ROM you must also select what you want debug to apply to. If you do not select the correct one the Toolkit assumes you are not debuged.

I've got the same option as well ("Select debug app") - also shows "No debug application set". Never been an issue...
27th November 2012, 06:29 PM   |  #16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
answer
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonstrong

I've got the same option as well ("Select debug app") - also shows "No debug application set". Never been an issue...

Debug then must not be the cause of my problem it then must be a driver issue. I have tried all three driver options and all three seamed to install correctly. I don't know what else to try. If it's of interest my ROM is ParanoidAndroid v 2.99.3 and the build number is pa_manta-userdebug 4.2 JOP40C eng.block.20121125.113032 test-keys
27th November 2012, 06:32 PM   |  #17  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 6,199
 
1,818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunthermic

I kinda follow. However.

I went to use your toolkit, and it says no fastboot device seen.

I use the other toolkit and it boots to fastboot and functions.

After 1.6.0 said that it see no fastboot device, then i tried your drivers, and it fails.

After tryign to install your drivers, i can still go to other toolkit and/or cmd line and fastboot still works and can issue commands.

Please try what I suggested. Fully uninstalling ALL adb/fastboot drivers (step 1 of driver guide).. Rebooting your computer like it says (essential step), then reinstalling the drivers (solution #3), then trying the driver test. Also, please try rebooting your computer before using this toolkit if you were using a different one before, or try force closing any background instances of adb.exe/fastboot.exe. Like I said, drivers are associated with those processes, not the toolkit. If the you had drivers working correctly with adb.exe or fastboot.exe then they will work. Chances are something else is causing your problem.

That said, I noticed that 1wayjonny released newer universal drivers then the ones in this release, I will push an update out with those. But the signed google drivers which are included in driver solution #3 are all you need.

If you are still experiencing problems hit me up on gchat and we will see if we can get it resolved.

{{ WugFresh }}
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to WugFresh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th November 2012, 09:28 PM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
I have the same problem.
Fastboot device is not recognized in the GUI but if I run fastboot.exe from your installation it recognizes the device i.e. the correct driver is installed.
27th November 2012, 11:09 PM   |  #19  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 6,199
 
1,818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johan1976

I have the same problem.
Fastboot device is not recognized in the GUI but if I run fastboot.exe from your installation it recognizes the device i.e. the correct driver is installed.

To clarify, when your device is in bootloader mode, connected via usb - and you use the toolkits list devices (fastboot) in quick tools, what happens?

{{ WugFresh }}
28th November 2012, 01:00 AM   |  #20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
I think it says something about failed fastboot connection. I'll check tomorrow. Anyway i'm unlocked now which was essential from start since that wipes the tablet. Now i'm prepared for root later on.

Skickat från min Nexus 10 via Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes