FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Slow 3G Speed? Try this

1,785 posts
Thanks Meter: 487
 
By socos25, Senior Member on 28th November 2012, 01:55 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Coming from the Epic 4G I remembered a little script Marcusant wrote awhile back that promised increased 3G speeds. I had forgotten about it, but always had it on my Epic, and didn't think much of it, or even knew if it really worked.

So I noticed my 3G speeds since getting my S3 have seemed slower, so I remembered that thread. Installed it and you can see my results in the picture. 1st three test without, last one with. I was pleasantly surprised. I have done several other tests since this screenshot with similar results. YMMV.

Please make sure to Thank Marcusant.

Thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1346680
File: http://dev-host.org/3nzgolp0e54a/DataSpeedTest.zip

Edit: Pic only had one result after patch. Added link to actual file, it is on the 2nd page of the thread.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2012-11-28-08-13-48.jpg
Views:	6214
Size:	33.8 KB
ID:	1518897  
Last edited by socos25; 28th November 2012 at 02:07 PM.
The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to socos25 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
28th November 2012, 03:13 PM |#2  
running_the_dream's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dub C
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
Cool! I may try this when I get home today. I too am a former Epic guy. That was a nice forum. A LOT of good developers and info.
28th November 2012, 03:47 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Earth
Thanks Meter: 487
 
More
It's really helping me out it seems. I don't remember it being this effective on the Epic.
28th November 2012, 03:50 PM |#4  
LexLuger82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
More
For rooted or non rooted?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda premium
28th November 2012, 03:52 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Great!

Inviato dal mio Nexus 7 con Tapatalk 2
28th November 2012, 03:59 PM |#6  
milky1112's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere on Earth.
Thanks Meter: 867
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by socos25

Coming from the Epic 4G I remembered a little script Marcusant wrote awhile back that promised increased 3G speeds. I had forgotten about it, but always had it on my Epic, and didn't think much of it, or even knew if it really worked.

So I noticed my 3G speeds since getting my S3 have seemed slower, so I remembered that thread. Installed it and you can see my results in the picture. 1st three test without, last one with. I was pleasantly surprised. I have done several other tests since this screenshot with similar results. YMMV.

Please make sure to Thank Marcusant.

Thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1346680
File: http://dev-host.org/3nzgolp0e54a/DataSpeedTest.zip

Edit: Pic only had one result after patch. Added link to actual file, it is on the 2nd page of the thread.

Socos had to dig REALLY deep for this one.. lol.. (yes i remember it to from my OG Epic days) lol.. Good one tho!
28th November 2012, 05:11 PM |#7  
IAmSixNine's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 102
 
More
I have the same question as LexLuger82, Does this require root?
I have an EVO LTE and a GS3.
My guess is it does since its a ZIP format..
Last edited by IAmSixNine; 28th November 2012 at 05:14 PM.
28th November 2012, 05:17 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Earth
Thanks Meter: 487
 
More
Surprisingly enough it is still on the front page of the Epic Development thread, wasn't hard to find at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by milky1112

Socos had to dig REALLY deep for this one.. lol.. (yes i remember it to from my OG Epic days) lol.. Good one tho!

28th November 2012, 05:18 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Earth
Thanks Meter: 487
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmSixNine

I have the same question as LexLuger82, Does this require root?
I have an EVO LTE and a GS3.
My guess is it does since its a ZIP format..

To install the zip you would have to be rooted, and I believe to change the build.prop file you would need to be rooted as well, so I'm saying yes.
28th November 2012, 05:19 PM |#10  
milky1112's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere on Earth.
Thanks Meter: 867
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by socos25

Surprisingly enough it is still on the front page of the Epic Development thread, wasn't hard to find at all

Just one of the stickies that time forgot.. I think i still have that Zip on my SD card from when i had my OG epic! lol Never even thought to flash to my S2 before i gave to wife. lol
28th November 2012, 05:23 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Earth
Thanks Meter: 487
 
More
Like I said I don't remember it giving me much of a boost on my Epic, but I'm glad I found it again

Quote:
Originally Posted by milky1112

Just one of the stickies that time forgot.. I think i still have that Zip on my SD card from when i had my OG epic! lol Never even thought to flash to my S2 before i gave to wife. lol

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes