5,598,542 Members 45,802 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO] Port N7100 ROMs to I317 and N7105

Tip us?
 
madmack
Old
(Last edited by madmack; 14th December 2012 at 03:09 AM.)
#1  
madmack's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4280
Posts: 3,479
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [HOWTO] Port N7100 ROMs to I317 and N7105

I spent the entire day yesterday trying to make Android Revolution HD work on my I317. At the end of the day, success ! and here is how:


Please do not experiment with this stuff if you're not familiar with partitions and the way things work. You do run the risk of bricking your device permanently if you don't know what you're doing. I'll write this so that developers can start porting their ROMs to the LTE variants.

The two devices are identical except for the modem (and rild files) and the GPS initialization at bootup.

1. You'll need to rewrite the updater-script in most CWM flashable ROMs to make sure.. again, MAKE SURE that you do not flash anything else except /system /data and the boot partition. Overwriting your modem partition with a modem from the N7100 phone or the bootloader partitions will blow up your phone. You've been warned ! The partition labels and numbers are identical so you won't have to change that.

2. Make sure you bundle a kernel (boot.img) from one of I317/N7105 (depending on which device you own). Obviously we're talking about TW kernels here so for example stock JB kernels or Perseus will do just fine. Do not flash boot.img kernels from the N7100 section.

3. You'll need to add and remove a bunch of userland library files from your device. I won't attach these files here but you can grab them from any I317/N7105 ROM:

Files to ADD/REPLACE (Yes, every single one counts as they're dynamically linked). The stuff in /system/bin are started by the initramfs in the kernel so add them all in as well:

Code:
./system
./system/bin
./system/bin/qcks
./system/bin/sec-ril
./system/bin/qmuxd
./system/bin/efsks
./system/bin/diag_uart_log
./system/bin/netmgrd
./system/bin/gsiff_daemon
./system/bin/ks
./system/bin/rild
./system/bin/qmiproxy
./system/bin/secstarter
./system/etc
./system/etc/gps.conf
./system/lib
./system/lib/hw
./system/lib/hw/audio.primary.smdk4x12.so
./system/lib/hw/gps.default.so
./system/lib/hw/audio_policy.smdk4x12.so
./system/lib/libril-qc-qmi-1.so
./system/lib/libnetmgr.so
./system/lib/libaudio-ril.so
./system/lib/libloc_api_v02.so
./system/lib/libril-qcril-hook-oem.so
./system/lib/libqdp.so
./system/lib/libdsutils.so
./system/lib/libqmiservices.so
./system/lib/libqmi_client_qmux.so
./system/lib/libloc_adapter.so
./system/lib/libqmi_common_so.so
./system/lib/libqdi.so
./system/lib/libqmi.so
./system/lib/libcsd-client.so
./system/lib/libloc_eng.so
./system/lib/libqmi_encdec.so
./system/lib/libqcci_legacy.so
./system/lib/libqmi_cci.so
./system/lib/libssaudio-client.so
./system/lib/libidl.so
./system/lib/libril.so
./system/lib/libqmi_csi.so
./system/lib/libdiag.so
./system/lib/libdsi_netctrl.so
./system/lib/libgps.utils.so
./system/lib/libgps.so
To remove !!! Moi importante !
Code:
./system/lib/hw/gps.exynos4.so
If you don't remove that GPS exynos4 file, HAL will load it and never the gps.default.so file so your gps won't work. Took me three friggin hours to figure out.

4. Lastly, you'll need to change build.prop so that it loads our RILD files instead of the N7100's:
Code:
replace
rild.libpath=/system/lib/libsec-ril.so
with
rild.libpath=/system/lib/libril-qc-qmi-1.so
5. ???

6. Profit.


When I get sometime, I'll try to port CM10 from the N7100 tree. Done.
The Following 102 Users Say Thank You to madmack For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
drakeymcmb
Old
#2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 7128
Posts: 2,704
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tinley park,il

 
DONATE TO ME
im going to try this I hope it works thanks
 
madmack
Old
#3  
madmack's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4280
Posts: 3,479
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakeymcmb View Post
im going to try this I hope it works thanks
well, attached is what I'm seeing on my phone now
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	13541135240120.jpg
Views:	8106
Size:	30.9 KB
ID:	1518967  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to madmack For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
drakeymcmb
Old
#4  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 7128
Posts: 2,704
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tinley park,il

 
DONATE TO ME
does signal and lte work ?

---------- Post added at 03:49 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:46 PM ----------

can u please upload the ported android revolution thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to drakeymcmb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
noobhero
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 657
Join Date: Mar 2010
this is good news to alot of 7105 users
thank u. from the bottom of my heart heh!
 
madmack
Old
#6  
madmack's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4280
Posts: 3,479
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakeymcmb View Post
does signal and lte work ?

---------- Post added at 03:49 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:46 PM ----------

can u please upload the ported android revolution thanks
LTE works. Si senior. Shows as proper "4G" on top.

I'm not going to upload it because I'm too lazy to ask for his permission. silly i know
 
drakeymcmb
Old
#7  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 7128
Posts: 2,704
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tinley park,il

 
DONATE TO ME
il ask for u and then u can upload it but does calling work like can u call your voicemail ? and thanks so much me gusta lol
 
MonsterBandit
Old
(Last edited by MonsterBandit; 28th November 2012 at 03:03 PM.)
#8  
MonsterBandit's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 473
Posts: 719
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Jersey
Thanks for this...are you looking at porting over imilka's CM10 build?

my day just got better
Phone: AT&T Samsung Galaxy Note II
Rom: Madmack's Official CM10.2
Kernel: Stock
Mod: Working Software Buttons (WIP)
Jellytime Project Hosting (I have retired from this project).
 
madmack
Old
#9  
madmack's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4280
Posts: 3,479
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA

 
DONATE TO ME
dammit.. phone call goes through but I can't hear anything!!

Lemme see if I can fix that.
 
markkohfm
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 208
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by madmack View Post
dammit.. phone call goes through but I can't hear anything!!

Lemme see if I can fix that.
This is truly a breakthrough if you can get everything to work!!! Am really excited.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes