Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,124 Members 42,592 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

OK, What? [Cotulla Twitter]

Tip us?
 
aaaaa0
Old
#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2008
Dude, there are going to be a mountain of problems getting the thing actually to work completely and reliably on WP8.

There is a huge difference between getting it to sort of boot and sort of work (easy), and making it something actually usable (very very hard).

UEFI loader might be done, but ACPI is going to be screwed, power management screwed, WiFi screwed, Bluetooth screwed, phone modem screwed, graphics not/partially GPU accelerated, audio hw codecs, video hw codecs... list is gonna go on and on.

There is gonna be a mountain of work ahead if u want to make such a ROM actually self-hostable, good luck with that.
 
tfouto
Old
#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 615
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigeldg View Post
Nah, counter-intuitively it's actually class 2 cards you want for running an OS from the SD card. Class 10 performs the worst in this case.
I am sorry but i dont bite that. It a too generic statementto be made. I guess it depends from card to card.
 
Cotulla
Old
#23  
Cotulla's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 5434
Posts: 881
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
well there are class 10 5~10MB/S. It's not hyper fast, but hey not that slow...

UEFI MAGLDR is really amazing. Wow...

Any chance of Windows 8 RT on HD2? I am kidding
The most important thing for SD is speed on the small blocks like 512 bytes and 4096 bytes.
For example one noname card 4Gb gives me 2.5mb/sec and Sandisk 16Gb gives me only 1.2mb/sec for 512 blocks.

For Windows RT it can be insufficient RAM, but it's possible to try
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to Cotulla For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tfouto
Old
#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 615
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cotulla View Post
The most important thing for SD is speed on the small blocks like 512 bytes and 4096 bytes.
For example one noname card 4Gb gives me 2.5mb/sec and Sandisk 16Gb gives me only 1.2mb/sec for 512 blocks.

For Windows RT it can be insufficient RAM, but it's possible to try
Doesn't Windows use Pagefile?
 
GodlikePL
Old
#25  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 48
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cotulla View Post
The most important thing for SD is speed on the small blocks like 512 bytes and 4096 bytes.
For example one noname card 4Gb gives me 2.5mb/sec and Sandisk 16Gb gives me only 1.2mb/sec for 512 blocks.

For Windows RT it can be insufficient RAM, but it's possible to try

Im glad HTC Mozart has 576 instead of Leo 448, small difference but always better

Regards
 
Fears
Old
#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 115
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Besanšon
I'm seriously proud for owning this phone !
 
Thanksbra
Old
#27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cotulla View Post
Hello,


For now it's actually just a proof of concept.
I honestly dunno how far it can goes forward; a lot of problems appear and not sure will be it's possible to solve them.
And not only to solve them, but get an acceptable user experience

It was implied as "a crazy experiment" at the start up time

For now it's implemented only few functionality like SD card, screen output, touch screen input.
All other things are not working. I won't add "YET" it can be very hard to get some things to work.
and DFT didn't yet decided about future developments in that direction.



they can be right also . . .I don't know yet.
But NT is much more heavy system than CE. remember that.
Amazing....HTC Leo does never die!

[IMG]http://***********************/instances/400x/31065642.jpg[/IMG]
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Thanksbra For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nikola360
Old
#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 101
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodlikePL View Post
Im glad HTC Mozart has 576 instead of Leo 448, small difference but always better

Regards
HD2 has 576MB too but Windows Mobile 6.5 (Original HTC ROM ) on EU version use only 448 MB and the CPU use only 768Mhz insted 1Ghz (998Mhz real) but if you use custom rom you can use all power
 
retsam88
Old
(Last edited by retsam88; 30th November 2012 at 05:48 PM.)
#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 356
Join Date: Feb 2009
I just can't describe how awesome Cotulla is.


It doesn't matter if it will run well in future or not, it's just a unbelieveable proof-of-concept that it's actually possible to run w8.


HD2 is a LEGEND
 
Nigeldg
Old
#30  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1079
Posts: 2,957
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tfouto View Post
I am sorry but i dont bite that. It a too generic statementto be made. I guess it depends from card to card.
Whether or not you believe me isn't the question, just search and you will find a thread with a bunch of benchmarks showing that this is indeed the case I guess you'll believe cotulla though :P

Sent from my HTC HD2 using xda app-developers app
Primary device: Nexus 4 running Paranoidandroid
Ultimate Nexus 4 Root guide

Secondary device: HTC HD2 running NexusHD2 JB
How to be a new user, and not a noob - Some people REALLY need to read this!
How to flash an HD2 with NAND Android
A guide to all of the terms for the HD2
Android 4.2 keyboard and Camera!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes