5,597,354 Members 32,402 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Network Unlock your ATT SGS3 for free (howto)

Tip us?
 
yulet
Old
#21  
yulet's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 98
Posts: 170
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
After the update it worked on TELUS, too!
Tried with a Wind Mobile sim card.

Sent from my SGH-I747M
 
REEFERKIEF
Old
#22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 14
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Bell Canada GS3 Jelly Bean Unlocked

This method worked on my GS3 SGH-I747M Bell Mobility Canada Running Stock Jelly bean that was released yesterday. I tried before on LH1 ice cream sandwich but the last menu option was not there.
 
ser_98
Old
#23  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 72
Join Date: Feb 2008
can i root it and install a custom rom after it ? i have a bell sgs3
 
dillis
Old
#24  
dillis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 228
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewartsoda View Post
I just saw this on Reddit and tried it on my ATT SGS3. I used an old StarHub SIM I had laying around and it didn't ask for the unlock code, so I'm pretty sure it worked.

The instructions are for the GSM Note 2, but the author says it works for the GSM SGS3, too.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...89&postcount=1

I think you have to be on a stock ROM to get it to work. I was running UCALH9, bone stock. Don't forget to thank the OP on the other thread!
thanks so much worked for me!
 
trendiggity
Old
#25  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 48
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Halifax
Quote:
Originally Posted by ser_98 View Post
can i root it and install a custom rom after it ? i have a bell sgs3
I'm kind of curious about this as well. Is this a "soft" unlock? Can it be "reset" with the phone? Is it Samsung's software that allows it, or is it the modem, so it may be used by custom roms?
 
Voicebox
Old
#26  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 34
Join Date: Sep 2010
Running the rooted stock new AT&T Jellybean and it seems to have worked for me. But does anyone know the code to check carrier lock status for sure? I've tried the code that is probably for ICS or maybe the I9300 and it didn't work. I tried *#7465625# .

Before I did the procedure I got an error with an old foreign sim. Said something about a lock. Afterwards, it gave no error with that sim except that the account wasn't registered. The APNs were now for that carrier and not AT&T. Tried a second foreign sim from a different provider that is active and in the upper left corner it showed Tmobile and the provider, which is right as that provider uses Tmobile as the roaming partner in my area. The APN was showing for that provider, so both times it changed the APN and no longer showed the AT&T APN.
 
HiKsFiles
Old
#27  
HiKsFiles's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 152
Posts: 500
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Québec city

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Voicebox View Post
Running the rooted stock new AT&T Jellybean and it seems to have worked for me. But does anyone know the code to check carrier lock status for sure? I've tried the code that is probably for ICS or maybe the I9300 and it didn't work. I tried *#7465625# .
+1

That code *#7465625# used to work on Sammy roms on my good ol' GS1 (i9000), but it doesn't seem to work on the GS3.

There's gotta be a code to see the network lock status...
Samsung Galaxy S3 i747m 32Gb + 64Gb ext. SD
Stock TW JB 4.3 + root + Xposed + Wanam
Daily driver phone
Samsung Galaxy S i9000m 16Gb + 16Gb ext. SD
Slim Kat & Semaphore JB kernel
Backup & flash addiction relief phone
 
Savok
Old
#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 281
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Bought mine in July and called AT&T 2 weeks later and told them I was going abroad and needed the unlock key. Gave them my IEMI and got the code. Stuck in a T-Mobile SIM card and unlocked.

Always try to call first, you maybe surprised.

Sent from my Nexus 7
Device: AT&T Samsung GSIII ROM: Stock rooted | Device: Acer A500 Tablet ROM: Flex**
If you make something idiot proof someone will come up with a better idiot.
 
JohnM109R
Old
#29  
JohnM109R's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 349
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vaudreuil-Dorion
Quote:
Originally Posted by Savok View Post
Bought mine in July and called AT&T 2 weeks later and told them I was going abroad and needed the unlock key. Gave them my IEMI and got the code. Stuck in a T-Mobile SIM card and unlocked.

Always try to call first, you maybe surprised.

Sent from my Nexus 7
Not if your your on the the Canadian side I tried Believe me...

And this procedure worked for me to once it was done there is no confirmation...you just need another sim from another Provider which I had
and it worked no Problem at all

so +1

Phone: Samsung Galaxy Rooted
Model:SGH-i747M
Android Version:4.1.1
Baseband Version I747MVLDLK4
ROM: Trying out New Roms Now
Launcher: Nova Prime 2.0
Build: JRO03L.I747MVLDLK4
Recovery: TWRP 2.4.1.0
ROGERS GS3 [XDA] Unlocked ON FIDO NETWORK


----------------------------
Asus Transformer TF101 B50 MEGATRON V1.1.6
 
ndy4eva
Old
#30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 118
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Westminster, BC
It works with Rogers GS3 (i747m) after JB (LK4) update.
Samsung Galaxy S4 i337m - JB (MDJ)
Samsung Galaxy SIII i747m - JB (LK4)
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 - ICS (LPL)
iPhone5 32GB (iOS 6.0.1)
iPad 16GB Wifi (iOS 5.1.1)
Previous Devices;
Palm Personal, Visor Deluxe, Palm TT, Palm T5, Treo650, Treo680, iPhone4, Infuse 4G, Galaxy S2(i9100m), Galaxy Nexus

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes