Post Reply

[N10] CF-Auto-Root

2nd December 2012, 10:43 AM   |  #1  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 50,242
 
9,112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
CF-Root is the root for "rooting beginners" and those who want to keep as close to stock as possible. CF-Root is meant to be used in combination with stock firmwares, and be the quickest and easiest way for your first root.

Donate
CF-Root has been available for many devices and has clocked over 9.5 million downloads. This is not even counting custom ROMs that already include it. Don't be a leech, buy me a beer (and use the "Thanks" button!). Imagine if every CF-Root user has donated me $1...

What's installed
- SuperSU binary and APK
- Nothing else, that's it.

Installation and usage

- Download the ZIP file (see post below for link)
- Extract the ZIP file
- Boot your device in bootloader/fastboot mode. Usually this can be done by turning your device off, then holding VolUp+VolDown+Power to turn it on.
- Connect your device to your computer using USB

- Windows:
--- Run root-windows.bat

- Linux
--- chmod +x root-linux.sh
--- Run root-linux.sh

- Mac OS X
--- chmod +x root-mac.sh
--- Run root-mac.sh

- Follow the on-screen instructions - watch both the computer and the device !

Note that if your device had not been unlocked before, this procedure will wipe all your data !

Are you having fastboot driver issues? You can find fastboot drivers in many places, but the easiest way is probably just installing the Android SDK.

Did you see the red Android logo during rooting, but SuperSU does not appear? This may sometimes occur due to left-over files and settings, however, you can usually install SuperSU from Google Play at this stage and it'll just work.

Not included - adbd Insecure
As this CF-Root does not include a custom kernel, adb shell does not have root access by default (you can still get it by typing su inside the shell), nor is adb remount supported, nor will adb push and adb pull work on system files. adbd Insecure can be used to remedy this situation. (No idea what this is about ? Don't worry about it !)

CF-Auto-Root homepage
http://autoroot.chainfire.eu/

CF-Auto-Root main thread
[CENTRAL] CF-Auto-Root
For requests for new roots and generic discussion - please keep device specific discussion in the thread you are viewing now.
Last edited by Chainfire; 23rd May 2013 at 11:50 AM.
The Following 57 Users Say Thank You to Chainfire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd December 2012, 10:45 AM   |  #2  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 50,242
 
9,112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Download
2013.05.20 --- CF-Auto-Root

SuperSU: v1.30

Download: CF-Auto-Root-manta-mantaray-nexus10.zip


--- History ---
2013.05.20: SuperSU v1.30
2013.02.20: SuperSU v1.05
2012.12.02: SuperSU v0.98
Last edited by Chainfire; 23rd May 2013 at 11:47 AM.
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to Chainfire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd December 2012, 02:33 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Thanks!

Newbie question: Does CF-Auto-root unlock the bootloader as well? (probably not, as I understand from your post and that's what I want, but I want to be sure...)
The Following User Says Thank You to case-sensitive For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd December 2012, 02:36 PM   |  #4  
task650's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Portland, Oregon
Thanks Meter: 47,842
 
21,891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by case-sensitive

Thanks!

Newbie question: Does CF-Auto-root unlock the bootloader as well? (probably not, as I understand from your post and that's what I want, but I want to be sure...)

From the OP... i marked in bold the important part.


What's installed
- SuperSU binary and APK
- Nothing else, that's it.
3rd December 2012, 03:44 AM   |  #5  
shimp208's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1,567
 
2,249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by case-sensitive

Thanks!

Newbie question: Does CF-Auto-root unlock the bootloader as well? (probably not, as I understand from your post and that's what I want, but I want to be sure...)

No, this does not unlock the bootloader it only gives you root acess and installs the SuperSu app. To unlock the bootloader you must use fastboot and type the command:

fastboot oem unlock

I would suggest taking a look at mskip and wugfreshs toolkits located in the original development and development section of the nexus 10 forums respectively for a simple way to unlock your bootloader.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium
3rd December 2012, 09:02 AM   |  #6  
notoriouspk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 27
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Red face
Good to see nexus 10 getting all this support from Android gurus here on xda ...but again it's a nexus device ...me glad I bought it ...extremely happy with my purchase thanks chainfire for this easy root method as usual it works
4th December 2012, 03:30 AM   |  #7  
nofam's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
So if this doesn't unlock your device, why does the OP state:

Note that if your device had not been unlocked before, this procedure will wipe all your data !?

Does rooting/installing SU wipe this device?
4th December 2012, 04:26 PM   |  #8  
ShadowVlican's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 52
 
414 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
His previous version didn't wipe the device, so I'm guessing this one doesn't either

Didn't need to unlock boot loader to root
5th December 2012, 02:30 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by shimp208

No, this does not unlock the bootloader it only gives you root acess and installs the SuperSu app. To unlock the bootloader you must use fastboot and type the command:

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium

Are you sure? The script in the ZIP in OP has the following command:
Code:
tools\fastboot-windows.exe oem unlock
Does that not issue a unlock? Is it necessary to run this command?
6th December 2012, 05:07 AM   |  #10  
d0nald01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
hi there, not sure how to get this to work

its giving error because it can't find adbwinapi.dll

I installed the sdk for 4.2 already, not sure what i am missing

Thanks for help

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 10 Original Android Development by ThreadRank