FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

[Q] Can I unlock my US Cellular Samsung Galaxy Note 2?

11 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By sole_taker, Junior Member on 3rd December 2012, 06:51 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I couldn't find an area for US Cellular phones, but I'm in dire need of assistance. I currently have a US Cellular Samsung Galaxy Note 2 that I need to use for T-Mobile. Can someone shed some light on how to unlock this device? Thank you in advance friends.

BTW it's a Samsung Galaxy Note SCH-R950
The Following User Says Thank You to sole_taker For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
15th December 2012, 03:57 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Galaxy NOte II
Quote:
Originally Posted by sole_taker

I couldn't find an area for US Cellular phones, but I'm in dire need of assistance. I currently have a US Cellular Samsung Galaxy Note 2 that I need to use for T-Mobile. Can someone shed some light on how to unlock this device? Thank you in advance friends.

BTW it's a Samsung Galaxy Note SCH-R950

DId you get it unlocked?
17th December 2012, 03:24 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Anyone else able to unlock a Galaxy Note 2 on US CELLULAR? I am looking to purchase one but if I cannot unlock it I will go with AT&T version.

Please respond ASAP with a solution.

Thanks!
17th December 2012, 06:27 AM |#4  
JUSMEJOSE's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
There's a thread in here that unlocks the gs3 and note2 for free I'll try to find it ...

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium
17th December 2012, 11:15 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dilloncsr

Anyone else able to unlock a Galaxy Note 2 on US CELLULAR? I am looking to purchase one but if I cannot unlock it I will go with AT&T version.

Please respond ASAP with a solution.

Thanks!

To Unlock Galaxy S3/Galaxy Note 2/Galaxy Note 2 LTE

Open Phone app and dial - *#197328640#
From Main menu, navigate to [1] UMTS >> [1] Debug Screen >> [8] Phone Control >> [6] Network Lock >> Options
From Options, select [3] Perso SHA256 OFF and wait for about 30 seconds after choosing the option
Now go back one step by pressing Menu button and then select Back (this should be in [6] Network Lock)
Choose NW Lock NV Data INITIALLIZE and wait for a minute
Reboot device
To verify, insert a SIM card from different carrier/provider. If the new SIM card works then the phone has been unlocked.

Try this out, if it works do let me know...

---------- Post added at 04:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:35 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sylvester114

To Unlock Galaxy S3/Galaxy Note 2/Galaxy Note 2 LTE

Open Phone app and dial - *#197328640#
From Main menu, navigate to [1] UMTS >> [1] Debug Screen >> [8] Phone Control >> [6] Network Lock >> Options
From Options, select [3] Perso SHA256 OFF and wait for about 30 seconds after choosing the option
Now go back one step by pressing Menu button and then select Back (this should be in [6] Network Lock)
Choose NW Lock NV Data INITIALLIZE and wait for a minute
Reboot device
To verify, insert a SIM card from different carrier/provider. If the new SIM card works then the phone has been unlocked.

Try this out, if it works do let me know...

Sorry, forgot to mention. You require 4.1 Jelly Bean for this unlock to work, update if running a lower version of android.
17th December 2012, 01:46 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I don't think this works for US Cellular version.
17th December 2012, 03:50 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sole_taker

I don't think this works for US Cellular version.

Try it out. There's no where specified about that.

---------- Post added at 09:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:12 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sylvester114

Try it out. There's no where specified about that.

I guess the LTE version is only avialable in d US n dis thing works on that.
17th December 2012, 10:23 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I tried those steps you mentioned and the number to dial won't even work. Am I doing it all wrong? I tried it under a us cellular version.
18th December 2012, 12:34 AM |#9  
gagdude's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northbrook
Thanks Meter: 573
 
Donate to Me
More
All US Cellular phones are CDMA and will NEVER be able to be unlocked, as that is a GSM "feature."

Sent from my DROID2 using xda premium
18th December 2012, 02:39 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I might (ignorantly) disagree
Quote:
Originally Posted by gagdude

All US Cellular phones are CDMA and will NEVER be able to be unlocked, as that is a GSM "feature."

Sent from my DROID2 using xda premium

I have a thought on how to circumvent the USCC version of the phone, but i'm not sure how to make it happen:
first a note: USCC removed the ability to manually program the phone (using dialer codes) as a "safeguard"
note: i think where i am stuck is that i can't find the build.sh file

1) root phone
2) access build.prop file
3) edit CDMA line with GSM line from another provider
4) save
5) reboot
Quote:

# su
cd system
# vi build.prop

then i want to replace
Quote:

USE CDMALTE PHONE
telephony.lte0nCdmaDevice=1

or copy the build.sh file from a friend's T-mobile build file

thanks
18th December 2012, 02:52 AM |#11  
gagdude's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northbrook
Thanks Meter: 573
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by metzoforte

I have a thought on how to circumvent the USCC version of the phone, but i'm not sure how to make it happen:
first a note: USCC removed the ability to manually program the phone (using dialer codes) as a "safeguard"
note: i think where i am stuck is that i can't find the build.sh file

1) root phone
2) access build.prop file
3) edit CDMA line with GSM line from another provider
4) save
5) reboot


then i want to replace


or copy the build.sh file from a friend's T-mobile build file

thanks

Even so, there wouldn't be a SIM card slot, and without that you cannot access T-Mobile network with the phone

Sent from my Nexus 4

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes