FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8 Gb RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit ready. … more

CM, Micromax and OnePlus – Sales Ban Lifted

It’s less than a week since our recent in-depth analysis of the legal battle over the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Can I unlock my US Cellular Samsung Galaxy Note 2?

OP sole_taker

3rd December 2012, 07:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I couldn't find an area for US Cellular phones, but I'm in dire need of assistance. I currently have a US Cellular Samsung Galaxy Note 2 that I need to use for T-Mobile. Can someone shed some light on how to unlock this device? Thank you in advance friends.

BTW it's a Samsung Galaxy Note SCH-R950
The Following User Says Thank You to sole_taker For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th December 2012, 04:57 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Galaxy NOte II
Quote:
Originally Posted by sole_taker

I couldn't find an area for US Cellular phones, but I'm in dire need of assistance. I currently have a US Cellular Samsung Galaxy Note 2 that I need to use for T-Mobile. Can someone shed some light on how to unlock this device? Thank you in advance friends.

BTW it's a Samsung Galaxy Note SCH-R950

DId you get it unlocked?
17th December 2012, 04:24 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Anyone else able to unlock a Galaxy Note 2 on US CELLULAR? I am looking to purchase one but if I cannot unlock it I will go with AT&T version.

Please respond ASAP with a solution.

Thanks!
17th December 2012, 07:27 AM   |  #4  
JUSMEJOSE's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 218
 
1,269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
There's a thread in here that unlocks the gs3 and note2 for free I'll try to find it ...

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium
17th December 2012, 12:15 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dilloncsr

Anyone else able to unlock a Galaxy Note 2 on US CELLULAR? I am looking to purchase one but if I cannot unlock it I will go with AT&T version.

Please respond ASAP with a solution.

Thanks!

To Unlock Galaxy S3/Galaxy Note 2/Galaxy Note 2 LTE

Open Phone app and dial - *#197328640#
From Main menu, navigate to [1] UMTS >> [1] Debug Screen >> [8] Phone Control >> [6] Network Lock >> Options
From Options, select [3] Perso SHA256 OFF and wait for about 30 seconds after choosing the option
Now go back one step by pressing Menu button and then select Back (this should be in [6] Network Lock)
Choose NW Lock NV Data INITIALLIZE and wait for a minute
Reboot device
To verify, insert a SIM card from different carrier/provider. If the new SIM card works then the phone has been unlocked.

Try this out, if it works do let me know...

---------- Post added at 04:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:35 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sylvester114

To Unlock Galaxy S3/Galaxy Note 2/Galaxy Note 2 LTE

Open Phone app and dial - *#197328640#
From Main menu, navigate to [1] UMTS >> [1] Debug Screen >> [8] Phone Control >> [6] Network Lock >> Options
From Options, select [3] Perso SHA256 OFF and wait for about 30 seconds after choosing the option
Now go back one step by pressing Menu button and then select Back (this should be in [6] Network Lock)
Choose NW Lock NV Data INITIALLIZE and wait for a minute
Reboot device
To verify, insert a SIM card from different carrier/provider. If the new SIM card works then the phone has been unlocked.

Try this out, if it works do let me know...

Sorry, forgot to mention. You require 4.1 Jelly Bean for this unlock to work, update if running a lower version of android.
17th December 2012, 02:46 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I don't think this works for US Cellular version.
17th December 2012, 04:50 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sole_taker

I don't think this works for US Cellular version.

Try it out. There's no where specified about that.

---------- Post added at 09:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:12 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sylvester114

Try it out. There's no where specified about that.

I guess the LTE version is only avialable in d US n dis thing works on that.
17th December 2012, 11:23 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I tried those steps you mentioned and the number to dial won't even work. Am I doing it all wrong? I tried it under a us cellular version.
18th December 2012, 01:34 AM   |  #9  
gagdude's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northbrook
Thanks Meter: 569
 
2,499 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
All US Cellular phones are CDMA and will NEVER be able to be unlocked, as that is a GSM "feature."

Sent from my DROID2 using xda premium
18th December 2012, 03:39 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I might (ignorantly) disagree
Quote:
Originally Posted by gagdude

All US Cellular phones are CDMA and will NEVER be able to be unlocked, as that is a GSM "feature."

Sent from my DROID2 using xda premium

I have a thought on how to circumvent the USCC version of the phone, but i'm not sure how to make it happen:
first a note: USCC removed the ability to manually program the phone (using dialer codes) as a "safeguard"
note: i think where i am stuck is that i can't find the build.sh file

1) root phone
2) access build.prop file
3) edit CDMA line with GSM line from another provider
4) save
5) reboot
Quote:

# su
cd system
# vi build.prop

then i want to replace
Quote:

USE CDMALTE PHONE
telephony.lte0nCdmaDevice=1

or copy the build.sh file from a friend's T-mobile build file

thanks

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes