Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,150 Members 36,974 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD][VZW Edition] Add all apps to multi-window build LJB

Tip us?
 
hairdewx
Old
(Last edited by hairdewx; 18th January 2013 at 11:52 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 269
Posts: 657
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default [MOD][VZW Edition] Add all apps to multi-window build LJB

This is only for Verizon Stock with root injected

4.1.1
Build: JRO03C.I605VRALJB


Steps:
1) Please mount your system as read/write, extract the files in the attached zip file, and copy:

FlashBarService.odex to /system/app

services.odex to /system/framework

Make sure you are actually replacing the old files and not renaming them.

The proper permissions should be rw- r-- r-- on both files (thanks Sylvaria)

2) Then reboot. Shouldn't have to clear dalvik-cache...

3) (recommended) delete "/data/data/com.sec.android.app.FlashBarService" and reboot once more

Potential issues
**If your apps appear in the edit menu and you have trouble adding apps to the multi-window bar, check in your /data/data folder and see if you have a folder named flashbar. If so, delete it and reboot to see if that fixes your issue. "/data/data/com.sec.android.app.FlashBarService"

**If you cannot see the edit button on your multi-window bar, make sure your DPI is set to 320 via http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=108

Warning
services.odex is actually in use, so you may not be able to replace it before it reboots, which will cause you to boot loop. Just ODIN the root image again and try again. People have gotten it to be replaced after an attempt or two.

from nosit1: "This might sound extremely stupid, but when replacing services.odex (do it last of course) if you screen is on, turn it off before pushing it to your device (if using adb). "
from shelooga: "I went into a bootloop, but a battery pull fixed it, no odin required, fyi."

---

Please let me know if this works, as it works for me. If you do go into a boot loop you will have to re-flash the root ODIN image.

Tips!
How to stop Netflix player from pausing while in multi-window

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=35016271




Attached Files
File Type: zip multiwindow.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.60 MB, 3358 views)
See Xperia Play Games on my YouTube channel

http://www.youtube.com/user/hairdewx
The Following 62 Users Say Thank You to hairdewx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JustusIV
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 101
Posts: 995
Join Date: Jan 2008
I don't have the time to test right now. ... More like the time to fix a boot loop. Will at work tomorrow but thank you for the post!

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
 
sleevasteve
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 286
Posts: 857
Join Date: Mar 2012
Nice! Does it matter if I've uninstalled some of the stock apps?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda premium
 
Currentweb
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 61
Join Date: Dec 2010
Works. Mine did too, but you beat me to it :P
Good work
The Following User Says Thank You to Currentweb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hairdewx
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 269
Posts: 657
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleevasteve View Post
Nice! Does it matter if I've uninstalled some of the stock apps?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda premium
It should still work fine
See Xperia Play Games on my YouTube channel

http://www.youtube.com/user/hairdewx
 
inline6power
Old
#6  
inline6power's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 442
Join Date: Mar 2010
Works great. I now have every one of my apps in multi window. Thanks a bunch

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
verizon galaxy note 3
verizon galaxy note 2
verizon galaxy s3
galaxy nexus LTE
thunderbolt
incredible
eris
s-off, rooted, unlocked, hacked.
flash a diff rom every other day.
crackflasher?
The Following User Says Thank You to inline6power For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
my_handle
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 99
Join Date: Jul 2010
Is YouTube working with this?
 
hairdewx
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 269
Posts: 657
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by my_handle View Post
Is YouTube working with this?
youtube works great
See Xperia Play Games on my YouTube channel

http://www.youtube.com/user/hairdewx
The Following User Says Thank You to hairdewx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
buhohitr
Old
#9  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,503
Posts: 5,135
Join Date: Nov 2011
Can some one verify that Netflix will continue to play even if you switch to the second window? Thanks.
 
Deetari
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2010
Getting this weird issue where I can't add apps that aren't listed in the first page of apps. Like, the first 8 rows of apps add fine, but everything below that (once I have to scroll down to see them) only add apps from those first 8 rows, instead of adding the actual app I'm drag-and-dropping.

Not sure what's up.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes