Post Reply

[MOD][VZW Edition] Add all apps to multi-window build LJB

OP hairdewx

4th December 2012, 04:12 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 269
 
658 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
This is only for Verizon Stock with root injected

4.1.1
Build: JRO03C.I605VRALJB


Steps:
1) Please mount your system as read/write, extract the files in the attached zip file, and copy:

FlashBarService.odex to /system/app

services.odex to /system/framework

Make sure you are actually replacing the old files and not renaming them.

The proper permissions should be rw- r-- r-- on both files (thanks Sylvaria)

2) Then reboot. Shouldn't have to clear dalvik-cache...

3) (recommended) delete "/data/data/com.sec.android.app.FlashBarService" and reboot once more

Potential issues
**If your apps appear in the edit menu and you have trouble adding apps to the multi-window bar, check in your /data/data folder and see if you have a folder named flashbar. If so, delete it and reboot to see if that fixes your issue. "/data/data/com.sec.android.app.FlashBarService"

**If you cannot see the edit button on your multi-window bar, make sure your DPI is set to 320 via http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=108

Warning
services.odex is actually in use, so you may not be able to replace it before it reboots, which will cause you to boot loop. Just ODIN the root image again and try again. People have gotten it to be replaced after an attempt or two.

from nosit1: "This might sound extremely stupid, but when replacing services.odex (do it last of course) if you screen is on, turn it off before pushing it to your device (if using adb). "
from shelooga: "I went into a bootloop, but a battery pull fixed it, no odin required, fyi."

---

Please let me know if this works, as it works for me. If you do go into a boot loop you will have to re-flash the root ODIN image.

Tips!
How to stop Netflix player from pausing while in multi-window

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=35016271




Attached Files
File Type: zip multiwindow.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.60 MB, 3375 views)
Last edited by hairdewx; 18th January 2013 at 11:52 PM.
The Following 62 Users Say Thank You to hairdewx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th December 2012, 04:31 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 111
 
1,029 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
I don't have the time to test right now. ... More like the time to fix a boot loop. Will at work tomorrow but thank you for the post!

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
4th December 2012, 04:31 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 286
 
857 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Nice! Does it matter if I've uninstalled some of the stock apps?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda premium
4th December 2012, 04:36 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Works. Mine did too, but you beat me to it :P
Good work
The Following User Says Thank You to Currentweb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th December 2012, 04:37 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 269
 
658 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleevasteve

Nice! Does it matter if I've uninstalled some of the stock apps?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda premium

It should still work fine
4th December 2012, 04:44 AM   |  #6  
inline6power's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
450 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Works great. I now have every one of my apps in multi window. Thanks a bunch

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to inline6power For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th December 2012, 05:01 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Is YouTube working with this?
4th December 2012, 05:05 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 269
 
658 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by my_handle

Is YouTube working with this?

youtube works great
The Following User Says Thank You to hairdewx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th December 2012, 05:07 AM   |  #9  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,552
 
5,263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Can some one verify that Netflix will continue to play even if you switch to the second window? Thanks.
4th December 2012, 05:09 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Getting this weird issue where I can't add apps that aren't listed in the first page of apps. Like, the first 8 rows of apps add fine, but everything below that (once I have to scroll down to see them) only add apps from those first 8 rows, instead of adding the actual app I'm drag-and-dropping.

Not sure what's up.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy Note II Android Development by ThreadRank