Post Reply

SD Card Unexpectedly Removed

13th December 2012, 05:32 PM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Flag Boynton Beach
Thanks Meter: 449
 
1,694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
If that doesnt work I would odin stock rom and factory reset. If that dont help then maybe time to replace the phone.
13th December 2012, 10:43 PM   |  #22  
limpysmalls's Avatar
Member
Flag Eugene
Thanks Meter: 7
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevessvt

If that doesnt work I would odin stock rom and factory reset. If that dont help then maybe time to replace the phone.

Should you really have to Odin a phone that has not been rooted or messed with in any way other than signing into your Google account and installing apps from the market? I know that bad devices go out so I am not holding it against Samsung or T-Mobile, I am just not going to put much more effort into this. If you are going to put an SD slot on a phone it better work.

The strange thing is it is just saying the Card has been removed, not actually removing the card. I was listening to music on the phone while working on my car today and the message "It is now safe to remove your SD Card was displaying in notifications for over 2 hours with the music from the card still playing. It may not be an issue at all since the card has always been available when I try to access it no matter what it might say in the notifications bar.

If this doesn't fix it I will be visiting my friends at the T-Mobile store to raise some hell because a refurbished phone will not cut it.

Fingers are crossed
The Following User Says Thank You to limpysmalls For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2012, 10:55 PM   |  #23  
Senior Member
Flag Boynton Beach
Thanks Meter: 449
 
1,694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Well, I'm just that way. I try everything possible before giving up. The only thing I can think of at this point is bad driver. If you get a replacement phone your going to have to set it up again anyways. FYI, my sd card reader just upped and quite working this week, and I got a replacement, and as far as I can tell, it's a new phone. Maybe it isn't, but cosmetically speaking, it looks perfect.
The Following User Says Thank You to stevessvt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2012, 11:29 PM   |  #24  
limpysmalls's Avatar
Member
Flag Eugene
Thanks Meter: 7
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Well it worked for an hour before acting up. Time for the un-fun part of this process.

In the past with my phones I would go the extra mile but with the cost of phones now I want some service to go with them from T-Mobile. The guy took for ever getting me the phone also. I was there 2 hours while he set up my account from Classic to value and was still not done when the movie I was there for was about to start. I went to the movie and came back and still had to wait another hour for them to finish everything so I could leave. I was about to just say screw it and not get a new phone. My SII was running great so I really didn't need the note 2, just wanted it.

I might go down there tonight to see what I can get done.
14th December 2012, 08:03 PM   |  #25  
limpysmalls's Avatar
Member
Flag Eugene
Thanks Meter: 7
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Of course it was acting fine when I went to the T-mobile store yesterday.

Now it is getting worse and saying the SD-Card is damaged no matter what card I put in.

Hope it keeps it up when I go down there today.

Sent from my SGH-T889 using xda premium
15th December 2012, 02:30 AM   |  #26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Samsung Galaxy Note II - Having the same issue with Micro SD CARD

Please let me know how your trip to T-Mobile went.

My wife and I bought a Samsung Note 2 last month and both of us bought and have installed a Sandisk 32GB Class 10 Micro SD.
Last week, within a day of each other, we started encountering the following EVERYTIME we use our phones:

SD CARD UNEXPECTEDLY REMOVED
REMOVING SD CARD
PREPARING SD CARD

It happens when we wake it up from being asleep, and randomly during using it.
I can't find any reason why it is doing this.
We have saved everything off of the SD Micro Cards, and reformatted, yet the same issue persist - have you found a solution yet?
The Following User Says Thank You to William_KM For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th December 2012, 05:37 PM   |  #27  
limpysmalls's Avatar
Member
Flag Eugene
Thanks Meter: 7
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I have not found a solution yet. Decided to go see the Hobbit instead of hanging out at the T-Mobile store. It doesn't happen every time so showing it to the folks at the store could take awhile.

I have the exact thing happening. It seems to get better for an hour or 2 after a format but always comes back in the end. Going to try a few more things today.
15th December 2012, 05:39 PM   |  #28  
Junior Member
Flag Avon, CT
Thanks Meter: 6
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
It seems the device corrupts certain kind/class of 32gb or above sd cards. I had similar issues and am fine with a 16 gb one for weeks now. I am surprised this issue has not trickled up and hasn't received much attention.

sent from my TmobileUS SGN2 using Tapatalk 2
15th December 2012, 09:34 PM   |  #29  
iunlock's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Honolulu
Thanks Meter: 53
 
631 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Always Fat32 ..... Never do ExFat for phones.
Edit: This is true for older phones, but with the Note II, it supports exFat. Although the SIII is new, it will crap out or not even work with exFat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevessvt

How about card format? All fat32? Exfat?



---------- Post added at 10:55 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:48 AM ----------

The opposite can be said for those (the majority) who love Touchwiz. IMO it is the most balanced UI for any phone. Great for beginners and great for geeks like most of us who love the flexibility.

Quote:
Originally Posted by limpysmalls

All fat32 for me. Phone is stock, holding out on root for awhile so I can learn why Touchwiz is so hated.

Sent from my SGH-T889 using xda premium



---------- Post added at 10:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:55 AM ----------

Never format ExFat .... Always Fat32.
Edit: This is true for older phones, but with the Note II, it supports exFat. Although the SIII is new, it will crap out or not even work with exFat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by predation

curious about this as well.
you guys not having problems, you format exfat??/ what is the difference between exfat and fat32?



---------- Post added at 11:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:56 AM ----------

+2 !!!!

Formatted Fat32 before putting in the phone then formatted it again with the phone.

Cherry.



[QUOTE=Jerry D;35190326]
Quote:
Originally Posted by havocd

I have a sandisk 64gb class 10 I havent had this problem as of yet...

+1

Last edited by iunlock; 19th December 2012 at 07:14 PM.
16th December 2012, 12:18 AM   |  #30  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I asked this before, but it might be worth mentioning again. I noticed that nearly all of the cards affected are SanDisk. Has anyone seen this issue with a Samsung card?

Swyped from the closest Galaxy.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes