The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[TOOL] SynapticsToTouch - Use Synaptics Touchpad as a touch input device

OP jessenic

6th December 2012, 10:22 PM   |  #1  
jessenic's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 283
 
447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Hello all,
Today I started working on an app to test Windows 8 touch capabilities with my Synaptics touchpad. The app kind of works at the moment, but only with one touch point. I haven't figured out how to get the number of the touch point in the touchpad packet data.

How To:
Download the app (link below) and run the SynapticsToTouch.exe. It should work now, try using your touchpad. You may want to calibrate your touchpad with the Calibrate button. Click it and follow the instructions.

Download v0.3 alpha: https://github.com/downloads/Digiex/...c3902b3a54.zip
Source code: https://github.com/Digiex/SynapticsToTouch/
Issue Tracker: https://github.com/Digiex/SynapticsToTouch/issues/

Please fork and fix any bugs you might find

Bug reports and feature requests should go to the issue tracker You can report in this thread too, but they might get ignored.
Last edited by jessenic; 8th December 2012 at 12:29 AM.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to jessenic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th December 2012, 03:46 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Buenos Aires
Thanks Meter: 114
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Awesome work, I always wanted to try Windows 8's touch interface.
It works nicely, however it has some glitches, like tapping in one section of the panel actually translates in the other side of the screen, taps on the start screen get interpreted as scrolling, etc.
It's kinda difficult to hit small buttons tho
Nice work, would like to see more of this.

Keep it up
7th December 2012, 03:12 PM   |  #3  
jessenic's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 283
 
447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lean946

Awesome work, I always wanted to try Windows 8's touch interface.
It works nicely, however it has some glitches, like tapping in one section of the panel actually translates in the other side of the screen, taps on the start screen get interpreted as scrolling, etc.
It's kinda difficult to hit small buttons tho
Nice work, would like to see more of this.

Keep it up

I fixed the tapping bug, thanks. v0.2 alpha: https://github.com/downloads/Digiex/...5e3350da3a.zip
----
v0.3 alpha adds minimizing to taskbar and saving calibration settings. Also a button to run as admin so touch input works everywhere. Download: https://github.com/downloads/Digiex/...c3902b3a54.zip
Last edited by jessenic; 8th December 2012 at 12:29 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jessenic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd December 2013, 10:15 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
This is Great! I have been looking everywhere for something like this. To be honest I don't know why the synaptics touchpad isn't designed like this from the start. Synaptics says it has a suite of gestures. Well that's all well and good but half the time the gestures just get in the way. For instance sometimes I just move my finger from left to right and all of a sudden I find myself going from the desktop to the "Start" menu (the one with the apps).
Just noticed something: Is there anyway you can make a keyboard shortcut override? Because of course as soon as you touch the pad it is interpreted as a mouse/finger down event, yet getting the precise location is difficult. So if there was a way to override the mouse/finger down event just until you are in the right area that would be good I think. At least until the user gets used to where on the touchpad to touch in relation to the display.
18th January 2014, 09:39 PM   |  #5  
vasiaeva's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 91
 
635 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
What the deference with official Synaptics app. official work very good for me
18th January 2014, 09:40 PM   |  #6  
jessenic's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 283
 
447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vasiaeva

What the deference with official Synaptics app. official work very good for me

What official app?
18th January 2014, 10:35 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by vasiaeva

What the deference with official Synaptics app. official work very good for me

This app allows you to touch anywhere on your touchpad and have the cursor move to that location on the screen as if you had a touch screen

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
synaptics, touch, touchpad, windows 8
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes