Post Reply

[Kindle Fire 2 Restore][Working!!!]-12/7/2012

OP bodi524

7th December 2012, 05:38 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 429
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
How to restore your Kindle Fire 2

Notes

Using the backup.sh from kinfauns that I modded because the partition table for the KF2 is not the same as the HD.
I attached the new backup.sh for the KF2 on this post.

Links

Restoration tool


I developed a Recovery Tool based of the one onemeila created for the KFHD.
This will restore your boot/recover partitions (good for if you are gonna mess with the Bootloader Crack)
Restore your system.img to a Deodexed Rooted 10.2.1 Software. I have stripped ALOT of Kindle Apps from this backup.
Erase userdata & cache cleanup should be done when restoring.

Credits
Kinfauns for the original backup.sh
Onemeila for his original Recovery Tool for the KFHD

Special thanks
verygreen, hashcode, and fattire for answering my endless and noobish questions and saying there HAS to be a way.

And all those who have offered to help me get a 10.2.1 system.img for the KF2

Enjoy!

Additional Info

The post here contains the partition table for the KF2.

How I did it:
Due to the raw system.img being too big for fastboot to flash back to the KF2 I had to make the raw image
a sparse image file using help found in this post.
  1. Mount the raw system.img (created and extracted from the system.img.gz using the backup.sh)
    Code:
    mkdir sys
    sudo mount -t ext4 -o loop system.img sys/
  2. Create a new flashable(sparse) system image.
    Code:
    sudo ./make_ext4fs -s -l 929038336 -a system new_system.img sys/
    sudo umount sys
    rm -fr sys

With that all said and done I was able to flash the sparse system.img to my KF2 and restore it!
It was bricked big time!!!!
Attached Files
File Type: zip backup.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.1 KB, 2884 views)
Last edited by bodi524; 23rd January 2013 at 03:09 PM. Reason: Cleaned Up Op -Thanks iytrix
The Following 31 Users Say Thank You to bodi524 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th December 2012, 05:44 PM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 429
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I was getting messages saying the google link wasn't working.
I uploaded to dev-host and updated this version to 10.2.3 with root.

http://d-h.st/Pv3
Last edited by bodi524; 14th December 2012 at 02:31 PM.
7th December 2012, 06:09 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 15
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Awesome! Glad to hear you got this working and thanks for posting!

Looks like I need to bust out the soldering iron and build myself a factory cable to get into fastboot mode. Using your backup image I think I have an idea on how to create a rooted 10.2.3 image, but I'm not very confident it will work.

I think i'll have some free time next week, so time to get a CM10 repo/original KF device tree setup on my linux system as a starting point.
Last edited by bqq100; 8th December 2012 at 12:04 AM. Reason: Tried non-cable method for booting into fastboot, but it failed.
8th December 2012, 12:39 AM   |  #4  
bryanchapman9999's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Nice work

Sent from my KFOT using xda premium
8th December 2012, 12:43 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 429
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I got 10.2.3 working and rooted.
I am going to pull a new system image for restore later tonight.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bodi524 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th December 2012, 11:08 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 429
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Sorry guys. I didn't get the image of 10.2.3 yet. But try this method for root:
This is how i got root.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=35156970

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to bodi524 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th December 2012, 08:44 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
root 10.2.3
where is it at exactly was hard to find the root method...please help this device is boring without root and gapps


Quote:
Originally Posted by bodi524

Sorry guys. I didn't get the image of 10.2.3 yet. But try this method for root:
This is how i got root.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=35156970

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app

13th December 2012, 10:54 AM   |  #8  
irve's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Thumbs up I'm in....
Hi bodi524....

I can't download the Recovery Tool, it keeps opening as i should read it, not download it

Quote:
Originally Posted by bodi524

I developed a Recovery Tool based of the one onemeila created for the KFHD.
This will restore your boot/recover partitions (good for if you are gonna mess with the Bootloader Crack)
Restore your system.img to a Deodexed Rooted 10.2.1 Software. I have stripped ALOT of Kindle Apps from this backup.
Erase userdata & cache cleanup should be done when restoring.
Google Docs Link - removed from quote.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bodi524

All those who have offered to help me get a 10.2.1 system.img for the KindFire2

I'm all in - what can I do to help...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bodi524

I'm off to working on the bootloader crack...hopefully the KF2 will be unlocked and have CM10 soon!

Looking forward to it - Get me out of the Amazon world
17th December 2012, 07:26 AM   |  #9  
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodi524

After much trouble figuring out how to backup and restore the KindleFire2 I have made a breakthru!!!
The restore of a KF2 is now a GO!

I developed a Recovery Tool based of the one onemeila created for the KFHD.
This will restore your boot/recover partitions (good for if you are gonna mess with the Bootloader Crack)
Restore your system.img to a Deodexed Rooted 10.2.1 Software. I have stripped ALOT of Kindle Apps from this backup.
Erase userdata & cache cleanup should be done when restoring.

When Launching the "SR Tool.bat" on Windows 7 X64-bit it is not recognizing the device in fastboot. I tried replacing the adb.exe, fastboot.exe files you included and that was no help. Any ideas?
29th December 2012, 09:41 PM   |  #10  
chronicfathead's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sleaford, Lincs
Thanks Meter: 169
 
613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Am I right in thinking that this will recover a KF2 that has the red triangle. I used Rom Toolbox to change the RAM settings, set the SD boost and change the font. When it rebooted I got the red triangle. Rebooting and pushing the power button 5 times reboots to the red triangle again.

Wondering if I should try this or just contact Amazon.

EDIT: The kindle didn't even register on my PC any more. adb devices doesn't list anything anymore either so I think it's truly gone. I think 4 days is a record for me.

Sent using my Jelly fingers.
Last edited by chronicfathead; 30th December 2012 at 11:58 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes