FORUMS

[FTF] Sony Xperia Z Lollipop Release

Sony rolled out a Lollipop update for Xperia Z just yesterday. If you still haven’t gotten … more

Original Moto G Receives Lollipop, OTA Captured

The original Moto G was released almost two years ago. Motorola still continues to … more

Device Review: No.1 X1 Rugged Smartphone

We are almost at the end of Q2 for 2015, and we have seen most of the flagship phones for the … more

When a Friend or Family Member Asks for a Phone Recommendation, What Do You Tell Them?

The majority of us here at XDA would consider … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Unlock Galaxy Note 2 by hidden menu.

24th December 2012, 10:56 PM |#21  
technut's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag TAMPA,FL
Thanks Meter: 133
 
More
I did this,taking the AT&T Note II straight out of the box.I didn't even put a sim in till after.Thanks for the find.
 
 
27th December 2012, 04:02 AM |#22  
vinnyj85's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Hey does att know when you do this?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda premium
27th December 2012, 10:37 PM |#23  
vinnyj85's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
I asj because I have to return a device

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using xda premium
28th December 2012, 06:14 PM |#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Have anyone tried to see if the phone is still unlocked after the recent at&t update? I can't confirm it because I'm on Rogers in Canada and still no update yet . Thanks a million.
24th February 2013, 01:30 AM |#25  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Re: Unlock Galaxy Note 2 by hidden menu.
Hi everyone.
I got my Note 2 in November it came with firmware 4.1.1 and baseband is I317MVLAJ2. I unlocked it with this method it works. Then rooted the device installed Custom Rom. Everything is fine but recently I connect my phone to computer. Samsumg Keir is telling me there is an update 4.1.2 with new baseband (I371MVLBMA3). So my question is if I restore back (unroot) to original firmware 4.1.1. Will I lose the carrier unlock.
Anyone no anything please let me know.
Many Thanks
Last edited by jimaginet; 24th February 2013 at 01:38 AM.
24th February 2013, 02:55 AM |#26  
rotule's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimaginet

Hi everyone.
I got my Note 2 in November it came with firmware 4.1.1 and baseband is I317MVLAJ2. I unlocked it with this method it works. Then rooted the device installed Custom Rom. Everything is fine but recently I connect my phone to computer. Samsumg Keir is telling me there is an update 4.1.2 with new baseband (I371MVLBMA3). So my question is if I restore back (unroot) to original firmware 4.1.1. Will I lose the carrier unlock.
Anyone no anything please let me know.
Many Thanks

you will keep the unlock!
24th February 2013, 03:11 PM |#27  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Re: Unlock Galaxy Note 2 by hidden menu.
Thanks for reply. Is it mean permanent unlock? Even if I unroot with Samsung official late firmware 4.1.2.???
Right now I have 3 options to update to the latest modem I371MVLBMA3.
1) Unroot with Samsung official 4.1.1 then do the update through the phone.
2) Unroot with latest Samsung official firmware 4.1.2
3) Pickup the Canadian modem ( I371MVLBMA3.zip) from Xda and flash it to my existing Custom Rom.

Anyway, I don't care which option to use but at the end. I have an updated modem and my note2 still carrier unlock.

Any thoughts are highly appreciated. Thank s
24th February 2013, 05:42 PM |#28  
rotule's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
I flashed the BMA3 in recovery and worked like a charm, and kept my unlock. I am now using a 4.1.2 custom rom But id won't change anything if you stay/return stock or go custom, you will keep the unlock.

hit thanks button if it works for you
The Following User Says Thank You to rotule For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2013, 03:02 AM |#29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
new phones
Anyone knows why the new phones can't do it anymore? I just got the Note 2 recently from AT&T it doesn't have the [4] option listed. Anyone else have this issue? Any work around?
28th February 2013, 04:18 AM |#30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
IF u see "RAT_FREE_SUPPORITNG ON" or "RAT_FREE_SUPPORTTING ON", update your modem/baseband.

After update, you should see [4]NW Lock NV Data INITIALLIZ and then you are good to unlock.


Noob need some thanks, if this helps!
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Aphang22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes