Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

{Mod }Display, gestures & buttons *updated 2.16.13* for 2.04.605.2 710RD

OP nitsuj17

12th December 2012, 01:39 PM   |  #1  
nitsuj17's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 17,091
 
10,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
As promised in my ukb thread, here is an independent zip flash for the mod to activate the ability to change the mapping of the "recents" button
  • changes settings.apk
  • turns verizon specific flag to on that otherwise excludes the mod
  • works on stock deodex
  • should work on odex replacing settings.apk and settings.odex with deodexed apk only (reported as working)

****this will not give you a menu on rosie homescreen....that is a different mod, though it requires this mod to work***


Download

***Feel free to include this in your rom/project, just properly credit, thanks!

For 2.04 Verizon 2/15 OTA
button_mod_2.04.zip: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390288116658474820
md5: 10ebdf27969415d6a90e8591b33024e0

For 1.15 Verizon Release Software:
button_mod_1.zip: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390225151984926744
mirror: http://d-h.st/9N5
MD5sum: 525215760058b1941d5a3bd5469fccf6

***if you found the mod useful, just click the thanks button
Last edited by nitsuj17; 16th February 2013 at 10:50 PM.
The Following 46 Users Say Thank You to nitsuj17 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th December 2012, 01:40 PM   |  #2  
nitsuj17's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 17,091
 
10,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Code Changes for Developers:

decompile the settings.apk (if deodexed) the changes are in the classes.dex (smali) so if you are trying to do it on the odexed version, you ll need to baksmali the settings.odex file....im not gonna hold your hand and explain that to you

navigate to:

com/android/settings/framework/flag/feature/HtcDisplayFeatureFlags.smali

find this method:

Code:
.method public static supportRecentAppsButton
wholesale change the method to this:

Code:
.method public static supportRecentAppsButton(Landroid/content/Context;)Z
    .locals 1

    const/4 v0, 0x1

    return v0
.end method
(i did this differently in the 1.15 version, but this is simpler)


Screenshots


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	device-2012-12-12-073712.jpg
Views:	6464
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	1557287   Click image for larger version

Name:	device-2012-12-12-073735.jpg
Views:	6465
Size:	33.2 KB
ID:	1557288   Click image for larger version

Name:	device-2012-12-12-073747.jpg
Views:	6483
Size:	28.9 KB
ID:	1557289  
Last edited by nitsuj17; 16th February 2013 at 10:54 PM.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to nitsuj17 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th December 2012, 01:52 PM   |  #3  
JWhetstone02's Avatar
Senior Member
Hollow Creek
Thanks Meter: 829
 
937 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Thumbs up
Running stock rooted odex ... works fine! Thanks
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to JWhetstone02 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th December 2012, 01:53 PM   |  #4  
rfarrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag OKC
Thanks Meter: 348
 
2,740 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
This looks awesome!
12th December 2012, 01:53 PM   |  #5  
nitsuj17's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 17,091
 
10,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhetstone02

Running stock rooted odex ... works fine! Thanks

im outta thanks for the day , but thanks for the report
14th December 2012, 01:09 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Flashed this in recovery and now I don't have settings. When I try to select settings from the notification field it does nothing. I'm rooted on CODIS
14th December 2012, 01:22 AM   |  #7  
jonah1234's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,090
 
1,761 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj17

im outta thanks for the day , but thanks for the report

Tapatalk give you unlimited thanks

Sent from my Team 420 themed HTC Droid DNA

---------- Post added at 04:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:21 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apex i ITR

Flashed this in recovery and now I don't have settings. When I try to select settings from the notification field it does nothing. I'm rooted on CODIS

Codis already had it.

Sent from my Team 420 themed HTC Droid DNA
14th December 2012, 01:26 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
damnit, now i HAVE to root! so lazy though..lol.. why couldn't HTC have put this in stock?!!?? ugh.
14th December 2012, 01:52 AM   |  #9  
nitsuj17's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 17,091
 
10,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by earthrocker

damnit, now i HAVE to root! so lazy though..lol.. why couldn't HTC have put this in stock?!!?? ugh.

There's actually an exclusion made for verizon phones coded in, which is why it doesn't shoe up stock
HTC/vzw went out of their way to remove it for us lol

I just activated it after digging around to understand why it was happening and found why
The Following User Says Thank You to nitsuj17 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th December 2012, 02:04 AM   |  #10  
jonah1234's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,090
 
1,761 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj17

There's actually an exclusion made for verizon phones coded in, which is why it doesn't shoe up stock
HTC/vzw went out of their way to remove it for us lol

I just activated it after digging around to understand why it was happening and found why

I wonder why Verizon didn't want that. Why does Verizon care so much about what we do to our device. We purchase the device so we should be allowed to use it to its full potential, right?

Sent from my Team 420 themed HTC Droid DNA

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes