Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,698 Members 50,114 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

{Mod }Display, gestures & buttons *updated 2.16.13* for 2.04.605.2 710RD

Tip us?
 
nitsuj17
Old
(Last edited by nitsuj17; 16th February 2013 at 09:50 PM.)
#1  
nitsuj17's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 17052
Posts: 10,100
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Default {Mod }Display, gestures & buttons *updated 2.16.13* for 2.04.605.2 710RD

As promised in my ukb thread, here is an independent zip flash for the mod to activate the ability to change the mapping of the "recents" button
  • changes settings.apk
  • turns verizon specific flag to on that otherwise excludes the mod
  • works on stock deodex
  • should work on odex replacing settings.apk and settings.odex with deodexed apk only (reported as working)

****this will not give you a menu on rosie homescreen....that is a different mod, though it requires this mod to work***


Download

***Feel free to include this in your rom/project, just properly credit, thanks!

For 2.04 Verizon 2/15 OTA
button_mod_2.04.zip: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390288116658474820
md5: 10ebdf27969415d6a90e8591b33024e0

For 1.15 Verizon Release Software:
button_mod_1.zip: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390225151984926744
mirror: http://d-h.st/9N5
MD5sum: 525215760058b1941d5a3bd5469fccf6

***if you found the mod useful, just click the thanks button
The Following 46 Users Say Thank You to nitsuj17 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nitsuj17
Old
(Last edited by nitsuj17; 16th February 2013 at 09:54 PM.)
#2  
nitsuj17's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 17052
Posts: 10,100
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Code Changes for Developers:

decompile the settings.apk (if deodexed) the changes are in the classes.dex (smali) so if you are trying to do it on the odexed version, you ll need to baksmali the settings.odex file....im not gonna hold your hand and explain that to you

navigate to:

com/android/settings/framework/flag/feature/HtcDisplayFeatureFlags.smali

find this method:

Code:
.method public static supportRecentAppsButton
wholesale change the method to this:

Code:
.method public static supportRecentAppsButton(Landroid/content/Context;)Z
    .locals 1

    const/4 v0, 0x1

    return v0
.end method
(i did this differently in the 1.15 version, but this is simpler)


Screenshots


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	device-2012-12-12-073712.jpg
Views:	6406
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	1557287   Click image for larger version

Name:	device-2012-12-12-073735.jpg
Views:	6407
Size:	33.2 KB
ID:	1557288   Click image for larger version

Name:	device-2012-12-12-073747.jpg
Views:	6426
Size:	28.9 KB
ID:	1557289  
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to nitsuj17 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JWhetstone02
Old
#3  
JWhetstone02's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 802
Posts: 922
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hollow Creek
Running stock rooted odex ... works fine! Thanks

HTC One m8

ROM: custom
Kernel: stock
Radio: 0.89.20.0321




HTC Touch Diamond > HTC HD7 > HTC Imagio > HTC DInc > HTC DInc2 > HTC Thunderbolt > HTC ReZound > HTC Droid DNA > HTC One (m7) > HTC One (m8)

| HTC Elevate | DropBox |
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to JWhetstone02 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rfarrah
Old
#4  
rfarrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 316
Posts: 2,657
Join Date: May 2008
Location: OKC
This looks awesome!
Now test-driving the Awesome LG G3
 
nitsuj17
Old
#5  
nitsuj17's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 17052
Posts: 10,100
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhetstone02 View Post
Running stock rooted odex ... works fine! Thanks
im outta thanks for the day , but thanks for the report
 
Apex i ITR
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 181
Join Date: May 2006
Flashed this in recovery and now I don't have settings. When I try to select settings from the notification field it does nothing. I'm rooted on CODIS
 
jonah1234
Old
#7  
jonah1234's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1090
Posts: 1,762
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj17 View Post
im outta thanks for the day , but thanks for the report
Tapatalk give you unlimited thanks

Sent from my Team 420 themed HTC Droid DNA

---------- Post added at 04:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:21 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apex i ITR View Post
Flashed this in recovery and now I don't have settings. When I try to select settings from the notification field it does nothing. I'm rooted on CODIS
Codis already had it.

Sent from my Team 420 themed HTC Droid DNA
Other TEAM 420 threads below
One S ICS Sense 4 | JB Sense 4+
EVO 4G LTE ICS Sense 4 | JB Sense 4+
EVO 3D ICS Sense 4 & 3.6 | ROM SHOP
One X JB Sense 4+
DNA JB Sense 4+
Sensation ICS Sense 4 & 3.6
One X+ JB Sense 4+ Keyboards
 
earthrocker
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 169
Join Date: Dec 2012
damnit, now i HAVE to root! so lazy though..lol.. why couldn't HTC have put this in stock?!!?? ugh.
 
nitsuj17
Old
#9  
nitsuj17's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 17052
Posts: 10,100
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by earthrocker View Post
damnit, now i HAVE to root! so lazy though..lol.. why couldn't HTC have put this in stock?!!?? ugh.
There's actually an exclusion made for verizon phones coded in, which is why it doesn't shoe up stock
HTC/vzw went out of their way to remove it for us lol

I just activated it after digging around to understand why it was happening and found why
The Following User Says Thank You to nitsuj17 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jonah1234
Old
#10  
jonah1234's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1090
Posts: 1,762
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj17 View Post
There's actually an exclusion made for verizon phones coded in, which is why it doesn't shoe up stock
HTC/vzw went out of their way to remove it for us lol

I just activated it after digging around to understand why it was happening and found why
I wonder why Verizon didn't want that. Why does Verizon care so much about what we do to our device. We purchase the device so we should be allowed to use it to its full potential, right?

Sent from my Team 420 themed HTC Droid DNA
Other TEAM 420 threads below
One S ICS Sense 4 | JB Sense 4+
EVO 4G LTE ICS Sense 4 | JB Sense 4+
EVO 3D ICS Sense 4 & 3.6 | ROM SHOP
One X JB Sense 4+
DNA JB Sense 4+
Sensation ICS Sense 4 & 3.6
One X+ JB Sense 4+ Keyboards

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes