Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,130 Members 53,687 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

WiFi Tether working with TrevE mod

Tip us?
 
jillmoto
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 7
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default WiFi Tether working with TrevE mod

Thanks to TrevE. I got Wifi tethering working on T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy Note II without playing w/ the APNs.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1988735

1. Root according to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1955423
2. Install WifiTether_TrevE_Mod_11_22_2012 provided in the first link above
3. Settings that worked for me:

Set Profile to Samsung Galaxy S3
Set Setup-Method to Netd-Ndc
Check Send Netd Max Client Cmd
Enable WiFi Encryption
Channel 01
Check WiFi-driver reload 2
Check Routing fix

Hope it works for you too!
The Following 30 Users Say Thank You to jillmoto For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mickstick
Old
#2  
mickstick's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2012
Sent from Wa tablet-c using xda premium
 
xghostyxjokerx
Old
#3  
xghostyxjokerx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 851
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jillmoto View Post
Thanks to TrevE. I got Wifi tethering working on T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy Note II without playing w/ the APNs.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1988735

1. Root according to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1955423
2. Install WifiTether_TrevE_Mod_11_22_2012 provided in the first link above
3. Settings that worked for me:

Set Profile to Samsung Galaxy S3
Set Setup-Method to Netd-Ndc
Check Send Netd Max Client Cmd
Enable WiFi Encryption
Channel 01
Check WiFi-driver reload 2
Check Routing fix

Hope it works for you too!
omg!!!!! Thank You !!!! It works perfect
 
xghostyxjokerx
Old
#4  
xghostyxjokerx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 851
Join Date: Sep 2009
Question um is this going to be a issue?

i just tested it it works great then all of a sudden get a text message??? is this a issue or soemthing to worry about?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-12-12-17-12-34.jpg
Views:	4819
Size:	29.1 KB
ID:	1558530  
 
jillmoto
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 7
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xghostyxjokerx View Post
i just tested it it works great then all of a sudden get a text message??? is this a issue or soemthing to worry about?
i haven't got that text message yet but i only used it for like 20 mins. does it prevent you from tethering?
 
xghostyxjokerx
Old
#6  
xghostyxjokerx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 851
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jillmoto View Post
i haven't got that text message yet but i only used it for like 20 mins. does it prevent you from tethering?
I only used it for 2 minutes lol and im still able to tether as of now...

Sent from my SGH-T889 using Tapatalk 2
 
_Dennis_
Old
#7  
_Dennis_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 319
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by xghostyxjokerx View Post
I only used it for 2 minutes lol and im still able to tether as of now...

Sent from my SGH-T889 using Tapatalk 2
I think they look at packets and see if it is desktop/mobile. Try making sure your desktop/laptop whatever's browser's UA is android.

Sent from my handheld Android 'PC', NOTE II
Current device:
AT&T S4 with Wanam lite 1.1
Previous Device:
T-mobile Samsung Galaxy Note 2 unlocked via *#197328640# menu (T-mobile service sucked, and customer care could not figure out how to do anything)
Verizon Samsung Galaxy Nexus(hated battery life & verizon's customer service and CDMA)
Verizon Samsung Stratosphere (loved keyboard, hated processor)
Motorola Atrix 4G (AT&T version)
Softbank X06HT (HTC Desire)
Google Nexus One (I broke a few resistors on the Motherboard)
 
zyrtek69
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 427
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Dennis_ View Post
I think they look at packets and see if it is desktop/mobile. Try making sure your desktop/laptop whatever's browser's UA is android.

Sent from my handheld Android 'PC', NOTE II
How do u change the browser to look like Android?

Sent from my SGH-T889 using xda app-developers app
 
ssCISengineer
Old
#9  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 137
Posts: 400
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: charlotte nc
The reason you are all getting those texts 8s very simple

Tethering STILL doesnt work yet. No matter what you do they'll getcha sooner or later.

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to ssCISengineer For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xghostyxjokerx
Old
#10  
xghostyxjokerx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 851
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Dennis_ View Post
I think they look at packets and see if it is desktop/mobile. Try making sure your desktop/laptop whatever's browser's UA is android.

Sent from my handheld Android 'PC', NOTE II
i do have the unlimited data unlimited everything plan... also is there a guide or vid tuturial if at worst case scenerio to change my pc/browser to make it look to be coming from my mobile?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes