Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD][ROOT] VZW GN2 GSM Unlock - Add APN Data - Remove Non-Verizon SIM Message

OP joderme

12th December 2012, 11:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 273
 
452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Overview:
There are a number of threads out there discussing if the VZW GN2 is carrier unlocked and what methods work, etc and I am creating this thread to pull it all together.

First and foremost, the VZW GN2 comes SIM unlocked out of the box. It is global ready and you can technically put in any SIM (assuming it is active) and not need an unlock code or the unlock method you have seen in other posts (AT&T or T-Mobile variants). This includes domestic carriers such as AT&T and T-mobile. Also voice should work without any changes, however, data will not work unless you add APN data.

Verizon chose to only put their APN data on the phone and block the ability to add APN data via settings. Most likely so you use their global services to make more $$$.

How to add APN data:
In order to get data working you have to add carrier specific data to the apns-conf.xml file. While you may have been able to do this is in the past on other devices under settings, VZW has blocked this.
Method 1:
See Adrynalyne's post below (Post #2) for a flashable mod (via custom recovery) that will enable the Add APN menu by removing Verizon's block. (For deodexed roms only)

Method 2:
  1. Ensure your phone is rooted
  2. adb pull /system/etc/apns-conf.xml
  3. Add the carrier data to apns-conf.xml with your favorite text/xml editor and save
  4. adb push your modified apn-conf.xml file back to /sdcard/
  5. Copy this file back to /system/etc/ and change permissions (I use root explorer)
  6. Power down and change your SIM card (AT&T, T-mobile, whatever) if you hadn't already done so
  7. Power back on and go to Settings -> More Settings -> Mobile Networks -> Access Point Names (if done properly you should see the APN data you entered for your respective carrier).
  8. Select one of the APN listings and then you should have working data
  9. Profit
VZW & AT&T APN Settings:
A working example so you can see how I added additional lines at the beginning for AT&T 3G/HSDPA+/Tether/MMS
http://pastebin.com/ms7a07sE

Removing the Non-Verizon SIM message :
This will occur on roms that include Samsung's Setup Wizard (including stock) - all others can ignore
Method 1:
- Freeze "Setup wizard 1.0" in Titanium Backup

Method 2:
See imnuts' post below (Post #4) regarding replacing a file (for deodexed roms only)
Credits:
Adrynalyne: Removing VZW's lame Add APN block
GermanGuy: AT&T APN data
GitNick: Helping me tinker around and finding the secret menus
imnuts: Removing non-VZW SIM nag and APN list from international GN2
thevsg: Testing SinTel sim to confirm unlock with foreign carrier

NOTE: I am not responsible for any issues caused by tinkering around with this due to the nature of root and messing with /system. Use this at your own risk and ask someone if you have any question before doing something that may mess up your device.
Last edited by joderme; 14th December 2012 at 01:57 AM.
The Following 31 Users Say Thank You to joderme For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th December 2012, 11:48 PM   |  #2  
adrynalyne's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,750
 
9,740 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Ok, I have confirmed this to work, and works well with imnut's mod to remove the sim warning.

http://www.mediafire.com/?wqmad2ypgsyd75z

This enables the apn editor under settings.

Go to Settings, More Settings, Mobile Networks, Access Point Names, menu button.

This is a flashable mod!




Note to rom devs: Feel free to use this, but give credit where due. Trust me, I will know if you kang it
Last edited by adrynalyne; 14th December 2012 at 06:49 PM.
The Following 26 Users Say Thank You to adrynalyne For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2012, 12:32 AM   |  #3  
imnuts's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag West Chester
Thanks Meter: 3,011
 
3,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
If anyone is interested, I combined the International Note 2 (N7100), AT&T, T-Mobile, and Verizon apns-conf.xml file to create what is hopefully a fairly complete APNs list. Not saying it will work for your carrier, or that it works at all (remember, I don't have a device yet ), but people can use it if they wish. I put it on Pastebin for everyone's viewing pleasure and you can get it here.
Last edited by imnuts; 15th December 2012 at 02:21 AM. Reason: New URL
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to imnuts For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2012, 03:22 AM   |  #4  
imnuts's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag West Chester
Thanks Meter: 3,011
 
3,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
I hate double posting, but if people also want to get rid of the annoying ongoing notification when using a non-VZW SIM card, I've found the culprit and fixed it. Download this apk for a deodexed ROM and replace the original in /system/app/, then reboot. Make sure that /system is mounted as read/write before copy/pasting, and also that you're on a deodexed ROM. After copying it over, reboot and you shouldn't have the ongoing notification anymore.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to imnuts For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2012, 04:24 AM   |  #5  
xxxxmarkxxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. Pete
Thanks Meter: 38
 
225 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Thanks will be needing this in January

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by xxxxmarkxxx; 13th December 2012 at 04:39 AM.
13th December 2012, 06:15 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Dover, NH
Thanks Meter: 23
 
146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Thank You! I'll be needing this in 1 week! Perfect timing
13th December 2012, 07:44 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
If your phone is rooted can you just use an app like APN Global or APN Manager Pro to add the APN's you need if you are uncomfortable with manually screwing around with files?
The Following User Says Thank You to beefchopper For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2012, 07:46 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 273
 
452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by beefchopper

If your phone is rooted can you just use an app like APN Global or APN Manager Pro to add the APN's you need if you are uncomfortable with manually screwing around with files?

You have to install APN Manager Pro to /system/app for it to work properly. You should then be able to use it.
The Following User Says Thank You to joderme For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2012, 07:55 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by joderme

You have to install APN Manager Pro to /system/app for it to work properly. You should then be able to use it.

If someone would explain how to do that for a noob I'd be eternally grateful.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beefchopper For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2012, 11:25 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Akron, OH
Thanks Meter: 35
 
393 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by joderme

You have to install APN Manager Pro to /system/app for it to work properly. You should then be able to use it.

I am using stock rooted and had issues getting APN Manager Pro to work properly even after converting to a system app. I used APN Global which is free and needs to be converted to a system app. I had no problems with Tmobile other then it's super slow at 2G.

The Following User Says Thank You to dms76 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes