Post Reply

[MOD][ROOT] VZW GN2 GSM Unlock - Add APN Data - Remove Non-Verizon SIM Message

OP joderme

13th December 2012, 03:07 PM   |  #11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by dms76

I am using stock rooted and had issues getting APN Manager Pro to work properly even after converting to a system app. I used APN Global which is free and needs to be converted to a system app. I had no problems with Tmobile other then it's super slow at 2G.

Thanks for the suggestion on APN Global - I will try it out and start recommended it to folks.
13th December 2012, 03:11 PM   |  #12  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by dms76

I am using stock rooted and had issues getting APN Manager Pro to work properly even after converting to a system app. I used APN Global which is free and needs to be converted to a system app. I had no problems with Tmobile other then it's super slow at 2G.

Thanks for the suggestion on APN Global - I will try it out and start recommended it to folks.

What APN name are you using for t-mobile?

Try epc.tmobile.com if you haven't already.
13th December 2012, 04:00 PM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Flag Akron, OH
Thanks Meter: 33
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by joderme

Thanks for the suggestion on APN Global - I will try it out and start recommended it to folks.

What APN name are you using for t-mobile?

Try epc.tmobile.com if you haven't already.

I installed apn global as system app, rebooted, while connected to wifi I ran the app and it download a database. I noticed I had apns for tombile under my phones software. I think it was epc.tmobile.com, honestly I never expected to be able to contribute and didn't pay to much attention. Usually I'm asking the questions. Lol

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
13th December 2012, 05:40 PM   |  #14  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 257
 
381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by dms76

I installed apn global as system app, rebooted, while connected to wifi I ran the app and it download a database. I noticed I had apns for tombile under my phones software. I think it was epc.tmobile.com, honestly I never expected to be able to contribute and didn't pay to much attention. Usually I'm asking the questions. Lol

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2

Thanks - I figured you would be able to get 3G/HSDPA+ on this phone with Tmob.
13th December 2012, 07:50 PM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Flag Akron, OH
Thanks Meter: 33
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1905016

see this link it, it's almost the same thread. It has the radio info which shows only hspa is supported by the Verizon version.
Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
14th December 2012, 02:38 AM   |  #16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Can someone confirm if the Verizon Note II is quad-band GSM/tri-band HSPA or not?
14th December 2012, 03:18 AM   |  #17  
imnuts's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag West Chester
Thanks Meter: 2,985
 
3,434 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMXP

Can someone confirm if the Verizon Note II is quad-band GSM/tri-band HSPA or not?

The FCC test report shows CDMA 800/1900 and then GPRS/EDGE 850/1900 and UMTS 850/1900, plus LTE band 13. Not sure if there are other frequencies it supports or not, but maybe you can dig through the report to find more.
14th December 2012, 07:07 AM   |  #18  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
If that's true then the VZW Note II is useless outside of the Americas. In Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and Africa, the GSM bands used are 900/1800. Seems kinda dumb that it works on AT&T's frequencies but not on frequencies used in the rest of the world.
14th December 2012, 12:32 PM   |  #19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMXP

If that's true then the VZW Note II is useless outside of the Americas. In Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and Africa, the GSM bands used are 900/1800. Seems kinda dumb that it works on AT&T's frequencies but not on frequencies used in the rest of the world.


From phone Scoop here are the Frequencies for the VZW GN2:

Modes

LTE 750
WCDMA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100
CDMA 850 / 1900
GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
14th December 2012, 01:53 PM   |  #20  
Senior Member
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 79
 
401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Its already been confirmed that the vzw n2 works great on gsm in other countries, speedtests and all

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy Note II Android Development by ThreadRank