Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Root kindle fire hd 7.2.2/7.2.3 success!!

OP vida69

15th December 2012, 09:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
After several hours i have finally been able to root my brand new kindle fire hd which came preloaded with 7.2.2. While setting up it updated to 7.2.3 on its own. Anyways here are the steps i took:

Prereq:
1. Download the ADB Drivers and QemuRoot method files. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1893838
2. Download Binary v17 Method http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1886460
3. Download and install the latest java. http://www.java.com/en/ This is a very important step in which allowed me to succesfully root my device.

Steps:
I recommend uninstalling all drivers in order to start fresh and do a factory reset on your kindle.

1. Install ADB drivers. Extract Qemu Root and Binaryv17 files.
2. Open cmd run as admin and execute runme.bat from binaryv17.
3. Select Method 1 and your kindle should have a screen pop up requesting a restore.
4. Simply tap on Restore on your kindle and it should reboot after that. Kindle will be slow and sluggish. Thats ok.
5. After Binaryv17 is done run qemuroot.bat from Qemuroot method.
6. Choose option 1 to root.
7. Executable should go through different steps in order to root your kindle.

I saw people posting about not being able to root 7.2.2/7.2.3 devices which have not been rooted before. I can confirm it does work if you follow the above steps. The trick that it for me was the installation of JAVA. I kept getting multiple errors when i did not have it installed on my computer. Hope it works for you all.
The Following 20 Users Say Thank You to vida69 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th December 2012, 03:01 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Thumbs up
Thank you very much vida69!
I used Windows 7 Ultimate 64 sp1
installed the lastest Java
Kindle Fire ADB drivers.exe --- 8,96 MB (9.402.392 bytes)
Kindle factory reset ***
Binary v17 Method
QemuRoot method

I bought my Kindle Fire 7 HD 32g last week, my Kindle was version 7.2.2 from factory, and updated to 7.2.3 (have not been rooted before)
I did a factory reset, *** and then without registered my Kindle with my Amazon account, and the device Language >English (USA), I followed the vida69's instructions step by step.
and my Kindle is rooted
The Following User Says Thank You to thrb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th December 2012, 03:34 AM   |  #3  
markbc01's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pacific Grove, CA
Thanks Meter: 223
 
442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Results of Updating MY KF HD 7" to 7.2.3
Quote:
Originally Posted by vida69

...I saw people posting about not being able to root 7.2.2/7.2.3 devices which have not been rooted before. I can confirm it does work if you follow the above steps. The trick that it for me was the installation of JAVA. I kept getting multiple errors when i did not have it installed on my computer. Hope it works for you all.


Thank you for this information --although my case is a bit different. I rooted my Kindle Fire HD 7" when I first got it and it had &.7.1.?/3. Put Google play on it, Titanium BU, Screenshot Es, and Root Explorer. Disabled the OTA updates (I did not get affected by either 7.2 or 7.2.3!). However I was interested in trying the 7.2.3. So I downloaded it and did the upgrade.

The update was smooth and provided me with the latest including Swype Keyboard (especially for the Swype Keyboard).

Much to my surprise, however, every single app that I had sideloaded or purchased and loaded from Play after I first rooted was still there! And all of them were functional. Except that all of the "Root-requiring" apps won't work now (Tintanium, Screenshot ES and Root Explorer in the RW mode).

The rest are there, and I can still access the Play store . . . So I will try the root process using your tips, but have no hurry since I have my apps and market too --not bad. Only thing is I will have to get root eventually so as to turn off the future OTA updates!

Really surprised since on my original Kindle Fire, whenever I updated it basically wiped the machine clean. This update was like flashing a rom and not clearing the cache or the dalvik or (especially) not doing a factory reset! I am surprised it worked!
16th December 2012, 04:35 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Kindle Fire HD 7" 7.2.3

So i didn't even know my KF updated from 7.2.2 to 7.2.3. I previously rooted 7.2.1. so I already had a pretty good idea of what needed to happen. One thing that I will note is that when I plugged my kfhd in I opened a cmd prompt and typed in "adb devices" when my serial number showed up I knew that I could proceed with the scripts.


Hope it helps.


ded
16th December 2012, 07:54 AM   |  #5  
JAG50's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 371
 
528 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Glad to hear you we able to re-root. We've got some discussions going as to how to can disable future updates.

Sent from my KFTT using xda premium
16th December 2012, 04:02 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Thumbs up
Thanks a lot for putting together a step-by-step guide!
Please keep it updated.
17th December 2012, 09:28 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
hi everybody!
i'm on windows 7 professional 64 bit and i have a kindle fire hd 7.2.3. i'm trying to root my device but i've got always the same problems: when i plugin my kindle and run "Runme.bat" it can't find the device. in fact when i run the command "stuff\adb devices" the list is empty. I've followed all the steps in the guide! i'm lost

ps sorry for my english
17th December 2012, 09:49 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
After running "runme.bat" its still stopping at *daemon started successfully*.......

Still does not show anything when I run "adb devices". But does show up under Device Manager.
Last edited by fireslayer26; 17th December 2012 at 09:51 PM.
17th December 2012, 10:22 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireslayer26

After running "runme.bat" its still stopping at *daemon started successfully*.......

Still does not show anything when I run "adb devices". But does show up under Device Manager.

I have the same problem. The program just doesn't recognize the device even if the adb drivers are installed. Have Widows 7 x64 and normal ADB Drivers 29.08.2012.. Hope, that CM10 will be published soon..
18th December 2012, 11:24 AM   |  #10  
yadavshyam's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Thumbs down root useless
i follow you steps, gets rooted but can't able to install file exper app. still have superuser app. runs smooth. any help how to install apps now because I can't use amazon due to geographical restrictions in Australia.
if i can't install any app root is useless.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes