Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[SECURITY] Vulnerability workaround for ExynosAbuse exploit, no root required

OP supercurio

17th December 2012, 02:57 AM   |  #1  
supercurio's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Chambéry
Thanks Meter: 5,072
 
3,529 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
Because an exploit and vulnerability has been released long before vendors had a chance to fix it and distributes patches, I though it could be useful to develop an app that regular people, who don't necessarily want to root or mod their devices can install to avoid being vulnerable.

Vulnerability and exploit by alephzain : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2048511
The application page on my blog



Characteristics of this app:
  • Works on any device, let you know if your system is vulnerable
  • Doesn’t require root to apply the fix
  • Doesn’t modify your system, copy files or flash anything
  • Fix can be enabled or disable at will
  • Free of charge

Limitations:
  • Break proper function of the Front camera on some Galaxy S III and Galaxy Note II Samsung official firmwares when activated.
  • Might alter MHL/HDMI output functions on some devices (not confirmed)
  • Cannot protect efficiently against some potential attacks (typically, on boot).
  • The real fix by manufacturers or some carefully written custom kernels will indeed be the only true solutions to this vulnerability − and won’t introduce any feature regression like this one does with some firmwares on cameras.
  • Comes without any kind of support or warranty.
Last edited by supercurio; 17th December 2012 at 04:54 PM.
The Following 19 Users Say Thank You to supercurio For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2012, 03:13 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
I can't see the download link!
Thanks for the quick response

V0.2 download link is down on your blog
Last edited by ss2i9100g; 17th December 2012 at 03:18 AM.
17th December 2012, 03:14 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Exclamation SPH-L710 is unaffected
It looks like my Samsung Galaxy S III is unaffected by this exploit. I have the Sprint version (SPH-L710). Either Samsung pushed an update or it isn't affected on this model.
17th December 2012, 04:44 AM   |  #4  
Riio's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Thanks for the fix, greatly appreciated! As warned, it breaks camera functionality on my International Note 2 (N7100), green screen instead of normal view.
17th December 2012, 04:45 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
AT&T GS2 tested - not affected
I just downloaded and ran your app. It reported my AT&T GS2 as not affected. Thank you for doing this app.
17th December 2012, 05:25 AM   |  #6  
TrayLunch's Avatar
R.I.P.
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 1,828
 
2,225 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by OmahaBasil

It looks like my Samsung Galaxy S III is unaffected by this exploit. I have the Sprint version (SPH-L710). Either Samsung pushed an update or it isn't affected on this model.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BZJoe

I just downloaded and ran your app. It reported my AT&T GS2 as not affected. Thank you for doing this app.

Neither of your phones have Exynos processors. The international GS2&3 and the Sprint variant of the GS2 are a few of the susceptible devices.

Elite Tester for Mijjz Goodness


---------- Post added at 10:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:22 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by supercurio

Because an exploit and vulnerability has been released long before vendors had a chance to fix it and distributes patches, I though it could be useful to develop an app that regular people, who don't necessarily want to root or mod their devices can install to avoid being vulnerable.

Vulnerability and exploit by alephzain : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2048511
The application page on my blog



Characteristics of this app:

  • Works on any device, let you know if your system is vulnerable
  • Doesn’t require root to apply the fix
  • Doesn’t modify your system, copy files or flash anything
  • Fix can be enabled or disable at will
  • Free of charge

Limitations:
  • Break proper function of the Front camera on Galaxy S III Samsung official firmwares when activated
  • Might alter HDMI output functions on some devices (not confirmed)

Glad folks like you are out there making up for others irresponsible actions. This is probably the exploit used to hack phantom phaker's E4GT, and that guy is a scripting genius.

Elite Tester for Mijjz Goodness
Last edited by TrayLunch; 17th December 2012 at 07:11 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TrayLunch For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2012, 08:09 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag St John's
Thanks Meter: 8
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrayLunch

Neither of your phones have Exynos processors. The international GS2&3 and the Sprint variant of the GS2 are a few of the susceptible devices.

You are INCORRECT, the ORIGINAL AT&T S2 "I777" is an exact replica of the international except for the capacitive buttons....He knows what he's saying it is an EXYNOS device!!!!

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_gala..._i777-4130.php
17th December 2012, 10:13 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 272
 
792 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
the galaxy camera also has this vulnerability, but the camera function still works fine after applying your fix.
The Following User Says Thank You to thedicemaster For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2012, 11:34 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Thanks for such a quick fix. The app says my SGS2 is vulnerable, so I activated it instantly. Good thing both cameras function properly. Is there anything else that could malfunction with the fix applied?
baz77
17th December 2012, 04:41 PM   |  #10  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
why does this app need Internet access permissions? ^^
Last edited by baz77; 17th December 2012 at 06:49 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes