Post Reply

[Q]How to flash firmware in LG optimus G korean version F180L

OP kathir.

22nd December 2012, 06:46 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Shanghai
Thanks Meter: 12
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Hi,
I've a LG optimus G Korean version (F180L). I'm facing issues to update official firmware in my mobile. While I try updating firmware using LG mobile support tool , I get error 'Not enough free disk space'.It's a brand new mobile and have lot of free space. I searched the forum for resolving this issue, but I couldn't find suitable solution.

Then I tried updating the firmware using KDZ tool as per instructions in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1861854

I entered into software mode by power button and volume up key simultaneously and upon LG logo pressed volume down key twice and then connected the device. I got a message as in the attachment(software mode),I don't know korean hence assumed it to be software mode. Then upon flashing I got the message as in attachment(flash error).
Can someone help me flash an english firmware in my mobile.

TIA
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Flash error.png
Views:	2094
Size:	25.8 KB
ID:	1582970   Click image for larger version

Name:	Software update mode.jpg
Views:	1553
Size:	262.2 KB
ID:	1582972  
22nd December 2012, 08:54 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Seoul
Thanks Meter: 95
 
999 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
The screen says:
This is a state for service center's backup and upgrade.
Usual users, please dont use this state and leave it by holding the power button for 8 seconds.
Something like that.

Your logs says:
Port= -1
and PHONE NOT FOUND.

I bet you didnt install the drivers properly or you didnt choose the proper port
Last edited by Tim4; 22nd December 2012 at 08:56 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Tim4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd December 2012, 06:06 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Shanghai
Thanks Meter: 12
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim4

The screen says:
This is a state for service center's backup and upgrade.
Usual users, please dont use this state and leave it by holding the power button for 8 seconds.
Something like that.

Your logs says:
Port= -1
and PHONE NOT FOUND.

I bet you didnt install the drivers properly or you didnt choose the proper port

Thanks mate . My win 7 laptop didn't like the phone . Tried with xp laptop and LG support tool worked like a charm.
Still I've Korean firmware only. Is it possible to flash an English firmware in this phone ? If yes , plz give me the firmware DL links if anyone have got. The DL links in firmware thread have been removed .

Sent from my Xperia S using xda app-developers app
24th December 2012, 12:37 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Busan
Thanks Meter: 45
 
270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Contemplating trying to flash .kdz to downgrade firmware and regain root. Battery life seemed better when rooted, with 50+processes frozen (Titanium) and cpu profiles set (setCPU).

Before flashing the .kdz, which PC Connection mode do you select for the device (charge only/ mtp/ lg software)?
Last edited by chevro1et; 24th December 2012 at 01:14 PM.
24th December 2012, 03:59 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
How to flash english version on Korean model
same prob here.. trying to find some english firmware where i can flash on my korean mobile. Is it okie to flash a canada/US carrier kdz on korean version? I dont have much knowledge.. but desperate to remove korean frm my LG; some one pls let me know... i wll be very thankful//
thks in adv.
24th December 2012, 04:28 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Seoul
Thanks Meter: 95
 
999 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
No its not ok.

There no english ROM for Korean devices yet.
Btw why just dont change the language to English in settings?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tim4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th December 2012, 01:17 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim4

No its not ok.

There no english ROM for Korean devices yet.
Btw why just dont change the language to English in settings?

thanks fr ur reply much appreciated! i have already changed tht to english.. still qvoice app is in korean.. wish a voice service like tht in english
25th December 2012, 01:17 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Shanghai
Thanks Meter: 12
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevro1et

Contemplating trying to flash .kdz to downgrade firmware and regain root. Battery life seemed better when rooted, with 50+processes frozen (Titanium) and cpu profiles set (setCPU).

Before flashing the .kdz, which PC Connection mode do you select for the device (charge only/ mtp/ lg software)?

I didn't flash it using kdz tool, just updated firmware using LG mobile support tool and I used LG software mode for that.

Sent from my Xperia S using xda app-developers app
25th December 2012, 11:26 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
same problem
Quote:
Originally Posted by kathir.

Hi,
I've a LG optimus G Korean version (F180L). I'm facing issues to update official firmware in my mobile. While I try updating firmware using LG mobile support tool , I get error 'Not enough free disk space'.It's a brand new mobile and have lot of free space. I searched the forum for resolving this issue, but I couldn't find suitable solution.

Then I tried updating the firmware using KDZ tool as per instructions in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1861854

I entered into software mode by power button and volume up key simultaneously and upon LG logo pressed volume down key twice and then connected the device. I got a message as in the attachment(software mode),I don't know korean hence assumed it to be software mode. Then upon flashing I got the message as in attachment(flash error).
Can someone help me flash an english firmware in my mobile.

TIA

dear sir,
i have also LG optimus G Korean version (F180L) - unlocked... i think... by the ebay seller but i have many U+ - this is a mobile carrier in Koreea - applications on it.
i need a "clean firmware" - is that possible?
note - for example i have both Korean and 1- 0 classical figures on the dial buttons

any help?
thanks
26th December 2012, 03:38 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Busan
Thanks Meter: 45
 
270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
I tried downgrading firmware via flashing .kdz but keep getting the PORT -1 error, not sure what I'm doing wrong...

- PC running Vista
- downloaded and installed LG USB driver using LG Mobile Support Tool, message indicates successful
- turn off device, reboot into service mode (hold power + vol up)
- connect device to PC via USB
- Device Manager, no LG modem listed **I think my problem lies here somewhere?**
- run Windows Enabler as admin, click in tray so "ON" is displayed
- run KDZ_FW_UPD_EN as admin, Type = 3GQCT
- navigate to appropriate .kdz file, press "launch software update"
- unpacks .kdz, then PORT -1, DEVICE NOT FOUND error occurs

any advice or insight would be appreciated. and Happy Holidays to everyone as well!

EDIT:solved. need to put device into Download Mode. power off. insert usb. hold power/ vol up/ vol down. release buttons when Download Mode icon apperars on screen. proceed. Cheers to boakun and l0ng0ne on the ICR channel.
Last edited by chevro1et; 28th December 2012 at 01:13 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Optimus G Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank