5,597,354 Members 32,826 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q]How to flash firmware in LG optimus G korean version F180L

Tip us?
 
kathir.
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 106
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Shanghai
Default [Q]How to flash firmware in LG optimus G korean version F180L

Hi,
I've a LG optimus G Korean version (F180L). I'm facing issues to update official firmware in my mobile. While I try updating firmware using LG mobile support tool , I get error 'Not enough free disk space'.It's a brand new mobile and have lot of free space. I searched the forum for resolving this issue, but I couldn't find suitable solution.

Then I tried updating the firmware using KDZ tool as per instructions in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1861854

I entered into software mode by power button and volume up key simultaneously and upon LG logo pressed volume down key twice and then connected the device. I got a message as in the attachment(software mode),I don't know korean hence assumed it to be software mode. Then upon flashing I got the message as in attachment(flash error).
Can someone help me flash an english firmware in my mobile.

TIA
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Flash error.png
Views:	1626
Size:	25.8 KB
ID:	1582970   Click image for larger version

Name:	Software update mode.jpg
Views:	1208
Size:	262.2 KB
ID:	1582972  
 
Tim4
Old
(Last edited by Tim4; 22nd December 2012 at 08:56 AM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 988
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seoul
The screen says:
This is a state for service center's backup and upgrade.
Usual users, please dont use this state and leave it by holding the power button for 8 seconds.
Something like that.

Your logs says:
Port= -1
and PHONE NOT FOUND.

I bet you didnt install the drivers properly or you didnt choose the proper port
Sorry for my bad english
The Following User Says Thank You to Tim4 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kathir.
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 106
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Shanghai
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim4 View Post
The screen says:
This is a state for service center's backup and upgrade.
Usual users, please dont use this state and leave it by holding the power button for 8 seconds.
Something like that.

Your logs says:
Port= -1
and PHONE NOT FOUND.

I bet you didnt install the drivers properly or you didnt choose the proper port
Thanks mate . My win 7 laptop didn't like the phone . Tried with xp laptop and LG support tool worked like a charm.
Still I've Korean firmware only. Is it possible to flash an English firmware in this phone ? If yes , plz give me the firmware DL links if anyone have got. The DL links in firmware thread have been removed .

Sent from my Xperia S using xda app-developers app
 
chevro1et
Old
(Last edited by chevro1et; 24th December 2012 at 01:14 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 260
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Busan
Contemplating trying to flash .kdz to downgrade firmware and regain root. Battery life seemed better when rooted, with 50+processes frozen (Titanium) and cpu profiles set (setCPU).

Before flashing the .kdz, which PC Connection mode do you select for the device (charge only/ mtp/ lg software)?
 
vschaitu
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default How to flash english version on Korean model

same prob here.. trying to find some english firmware where i can flash on my korean mobile. Is it okie to flash a canada/US carrier kdz on korean version? I dont have much knowledge.. but desperate to remove korean frm my LG; some one pls let me know... i wll be very thankful//
thks in adv.
 
Tim4
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 988
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seoul
No its not ok.

There no english ROM for Korean devices yet.
Btw why just dont change the language to English in settings?
Sorry for my bad english
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tim4 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
vschaitu
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim4 View Post
No its not ok.

There no english ROM for Korean devices yet.
Btw why just dont change the language to English in settings?
thanks fr ur reply much appreciated! i have already changed tht to english.. still qvoice app is in korean.. wish a voice service like tht in english
 
kathir.
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 106
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Shanghai
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevro1et View Post
Contemplating trying to flash .kdz to downgrade firmware and regain root. Battery life seemed better when rooted, with 50+processes frozen (Titanium) and cpu profiles set (setCPU).

Before flashing the .kdz, which PC Connection mode do you select for the device (charge only/ mtp/ lg software)?
I didn't flash it using kdz tool, just updated firmware using LG mobile support tool and I used LG software mode for that.

Sent from my Xperia S using xda app-developers app
 
alin_32b
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default same problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by kathir. View Post
Hi,
I've a LG optimus G Korean version (F180L). I'm facing issues to update official firmware in my mobile. While I try updating firmware using LG mobile support tool , I get error 'Not enough free disk space'.It's a brand new mobile and have lot of free space. I searched the forum for resolving this issue, but I couldn't find suitable solution.

Then I tried updating the firmware using KDZ tool as per instructions in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1861854

I entered into software mode by power button and volume up key simultaneously and upon LG logo pressed volume down key twice and then connected the device. I got a message as in the attachment(software mode),I don't know korean hence assumed it to be software mode. Then upon flashing I got the message as in attachment(flash error).
Can someone help me flash an english firmware in my mobile.

TIA
dear sir,
i have also LG optimus G Korean version (F180L) - unlocked... i think... by the ebay seller but i have many U+ - this is a mobile carrier in Koreea - applications on it.
i need a "clean firmware" - is that possible?
note - for example i have both Korean and 1- 0 classical figures on the dial buttons

any help?
thanks
 
chevro1et
Old
(Last edited by chevro1et; 28th December 2012 at 01:13 AM.)
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 260
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Busan
I tried downgrading firmware via flashing .kdz but keep getting the PORT -1 error, not sure what I'm doing wrong...

- PC running Vista
- downloaded and installed LG USB driver using LG Mobile Support Tool, message indicates successful
- turn off device, reboot into service mode (hold power + vol up)
- connect device to PC via USB
- Device Manager, no LG modem listed **I think my problem lies here somewhere?**
- run Windows Enabler as admin, click in tray so "ON" is displayed
- run KDZ_FW_UPD_EN as admin, Type = 3GQCT
- navigate to appropriate .kdz file, press "launch software update"
- unpacks .kdz, then PORT -1, DEVICE NOT FOUND error occurs

any advice or insight would be appreciated. and Happy Holidays to everyone as well!

EDIT:solved. need to put device into Download Mode. power off. insert usb. hold power/ vol up/ vol down. release buttons when Download Mode icon apperars on screen. proceed. Cheers to boakun and l0ng0ne on the ICR channel.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes