Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,941 Members 38,280 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[REF] Dead/Bricked phone after JB OTA, QHSUSB_DLOAD

Tip us?
 
Vauix
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 161
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default [REF] Dead/Bricked phone after JB OTA, QHSUSB_DLOAD

Hi All,

There are more and more reports coming in from people who ended up with a dead/bricked phone after the JellyBean Update 4.1.1 , 3.16.401.8 OTA. As you connect it to your PC you will soon find out it's in QHSUSB_DLOAD mode.

The purpose of this threat is to see how many people are affected, what people have done to attempt to recover their phone, and to find a possible solution (this chance seems rather small though).

There are alot of post about this in the JellyBean Speculation/News/Discussion threat, starting from page 157.

There are 2 threats about it in Q&A:
One S in QHSUSB_DLOAD mode
My HTC to really died

Reported attempts to recover:
QHSUSB_DLOAD Fix by team Unlimited
Unbricking HTC devices with the QHSUSB_DLOAD issue tutorial by kgs1992
Step 3 (and some others) from [TUT] Downgrade/Unbrick Ville S4
Another HTC one V recover guide where i can't find the link for.

Please report here if you have this issue. Please mention your CID, in what country you downloaded the OTA, the software version you upgrade from and the hboot version.

Also any new ideas to recover our phones our self are welcome!

My phone:
2.31 Unbranded Europe
1.14 Hboot
Downloaded in The Netherlands
1111111 Supercid
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Vauix For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jujusito
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 44
Join Date: Nov 2007
I have exactly the same problem, waiting...
 
usaff22
Old
#3  
usaff22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,467
Posts: 3,447
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Unfortunately, Maps has stopped.
As far as I know the issue is only caused by people who previously had SuperCID.

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk 2
 
Vauix
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 161
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by usaff22 View Post
As far as I know the issue is only caused by people who previously had SuperCID.
I thought I saw a report of a fully stock device and one htc__001 cid as well. I can't find them at the moment, but this is also why I started this threat. But there seem to be more of these reports of supercid indeed, though there are also allot with supercid who successfully updated.
 
gauron
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2009
My phone is bricked too

Orginal CID was HTC_0001 (maybe), branded by 1&1 Germany
but changed to 11111111 to flash a unbranded RUU (what had worked)

I had Stock Recovery and relocked bootloader
 
KeroG
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Dec 2012
My phone is bricked too

SuperCID 11111111 Hboot 1.14 Recovery Stock y Relocked bootloader.
 
hellgod
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 33
Join Date: Jul 2007
My phone is bricked too

Orginal CID was HTC_203 (maybe), not branded by telecom company - France
but changed to 11111111

I had Stock Recovery and relocked bootloader and flash the 2.31 RUU
The Following User Says Thank You to hellgod For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Darknites
Old
#8  
Darknites's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,326
Posts: 5,682
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellgod View Post
My phone is bricked too

Orginal CID was HTC_203 (maybe), not branded by telecom company - France
but changed to 11111111

I had Stock Recovery and relocked bootloader and flash the 2.31 RUU
Dam it didnt mean to hit thank so enjoy that lol.

@Vauix, did you run a RUU before updating? if so what one?
The Following User Says Thank You to Darknites For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
inetdua
Old
#9  
inetdua's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 28
Join Date: Sep 2012
let's discuss who and what options tried to output the list of sections? How you think why it happened?
 
usaff22
Old
#10  
usaff22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,467
Posts: 3,447
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Unfortunately, Maps has stopped.
All of them seem to be caused by SuperCID. But the updater script allows flashing for SuperCID, so I wonder why they get bricked.

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk 2

The Following User Says Thank You to usaff22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes