View Poll Results: In your opinion, when looking back at this thread, how easy were the instructions?
Very Easy 67 27.35%
Somewhat Easy 40 16.33%
Easy 67 27.35%
Difficult 26 10.61%
Somewhat Difficult 21 8.57%
Very Difficult 24 9.80%
Voters: 245. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

[ROOT][HOW TO] Root the Kindle Fire HD and 2 with Windows - Noob (Simple) Version

OP prokennexusa

28th December 2012, 12:26 PM   |  #21  
MadJoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 131
 
800 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by prokennexusa

OK, everything looks good with ADB. Looks like we have a pesky Windows 7 issue. Windows 7 Command prompt is only User level by default and will cause these utilities to fail.

If you go into Programs > Accessories or Programs > Accessories > System Tools do you see the Command Prompt? Now Right Hand Mouse click over the prompt and choose Run As Administrator

Once the Command Prompt is opened navigate to each utility using the "cd" "cd.." "cd c:\" etc command.

Once you navigate to the Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry_v17 folder, you will be able to successfully run the batch file through the Administrative prompt.

This still didn't work. I've tried it several times, and I still get nothing from adb. Windows sees the Kindle perfectly, I run a cmd prompt as administrator and manually navigate to the Bin4ry folder, still nothing. I manually navigate to the Qmenu folder and kill server, start server, devices, still nothing. I've installed/uninstalled the drivers so many times I can do it in my sleep. I've tried moving the two folders to the root of my C: and running it there, I've tried Windows 8 pro and Windows 7 on two machines, still nothing. I've changed cables, I've changed USB ports. I've restarted my computer a thousand times, I've rebooted the Fire HD almost as much. I've followed every one of these tuts on rooting the HD on XDA and none seem to work for me. And just to reiterate; yes, install from unknown devices and adb are both enabled on my Fire HD. I've checked several times, I've unchecked them and the rechecked them several times.


It's crazy, because I've used adb to root/mess with my Galaxy S, my wife's Galaxy S, my Kindle Fire, my wife's Kindle Fire, my One S, and my wife's Galaxy S2 with no problem (all in that order). The Fire HD simply refuses to play nice. The one difference is I've switched to an SSD Local/System disk and am dual booting 7 Ultimate and 8 Pro on the computer I previously used to root my devices, but that shouldn't matter.

Sorry for the rant, it's not directed at you, or anyone in particular, it's my Kindle Fire HD. I want to choke it, but it hurts my hands when I try. And it's so pretty I feel bad being mean to it. If anyone had a last ditch effort suggestion for me, I'd be extremely grateful to hear (read) it, even if it doesn't work.

Thanks.


Sent from my KFHD7 using xda premium
28th December 2012, 01:08 PM   |  #22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
When running RootQemu.bat I encountered several errors but still was told I had been given root access. Can you confirm whether this means I have root access or has something gone wrong? Attached are the two errors and the success message.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rooterror1.jpg
Views:	360
Size:	38.9 KB
ID:	1598005   Click image for larger version

Name:	rooterror2.jpg
Views:	334
Size:	44.4 KB
ID:	1598006   Click image for larger version

Name:	rootsuccess.jpg
Views:	300
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	1598007  
28th December 2012, 03:55 PM   |  #23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Guys, great tut and thank you.

Just want to make sure I did the right thing ... after following all steps. I see no difference in the OS. Just that I am able to open up super SU. but all other amazon things keep bugging me to register etc.

So yeah, was this the end result and flashing is what I do next?
28th December 2012, 05:29 PM   |  #24  
Junior Member
Flag Leamington Spa
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
adb devices showing empty list
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadJoe

I've tried this several times, I keep getting the exact same problem regardless of where I get the drivers from, or what computer I use. I'm ready to pull out my hair...

Hi MadJoe, I'm having the same issues. Installed drivers attached to the thread, but still adb-devices is not showing my kindle If you find a solution please share, so I can try it as well! Thanks

P.S: What OS version is your Kindle on? Mine is on "7.2.3_" not sure if this is relevant but it might be? You can check at Settings/Device/About
Last edited by abhischekt; 28th December 2012 at 05:45 PM.
28th December 2012, 05:33 PM   |  #25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by prokennexusa

OK, everything looks good with ADB. Looks like we have a pesky Windows 7 issue. Windows 7 Command prompt is only User level by default and will cause these utilities to fail.

If you go into Programs > Accessories or Programs > Accessories > System Tools do you see the Command Prompt? Now Right Hand Mouse click over the prompt and choose Run As Administrator

Once the Command Prompt is opened navigate to each utility using the "cd" "cd.." "cd c:\" etc command.

Once you navigate to the Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry_v17 folder, you will be able to successfully run the batch file through the Administrative prompt.

im sorry but i am not too familiar with how the cd command works, is there any way you can show me an example of what i need to type in the cmd prompt if the files are on my desktop like it reads below

C:\Users\GRAPHIC-MARIO\Desktop\Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry_v17


ok i think i figured out how to use CD
ran cmd promt as administrator
typed in <DIR> then CD Desktop, then CD Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry_v17 then typed in RunMe.Bat and it should work right?

ok i tried this, and it just stays at *daemon started successfully* and nothing changes
-_______________- cmon now.
Last edited by urbannerdmaeio; 28th December 2012 at 06:49 PM.
28th December 2012, 05:51 PM   |  #26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Sorry, in update to previous post everything has worked.

However everytime I reboot the kindle it updates itself. ive delete OTAcerts and dont know what else to do
28th December 2012, 07:39 PM   |  #27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Thumbs up
I registered for the forum just to say thanks! I received a Kindle Fire HD for Christmas and immediately set about trying to root - your guide was clear, simple and most importantly worked!

I have worked my way through all of your guides and now have Google Play installed and a bunch of launchers installed. Thanks for taking the time to put these guides together.
28th December 2012, 07:40 PM   |  #28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Pc User....?
Is it possible that this is not working for me because I am on a work pc?
My user account is set to administrator though, but there seems to be another user account/domain ?

heres a screen shot
http[semi-colon]//s2.postimage.org/sphif6q2x/users[dot]jpg
28th December 2012, 07:43 PM   |  #29  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 959
 
2,637 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Prompt ADB Communication Issues
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadJoe

This still didn't work. I've tried it several times, and I still get nothing from adb. Windows sees the Kindle perfectly, I run a cmd prompt as administrator and manually navigate to the Bin4ry folder, still nothing. I manually navigate to the Qmenu folder and kill server, start server, devices, still nothing. I've installed/uninstalled the drivers so many times I can do it in my sleep. I've tried moving the two folders to the root of my C: and running it there, I've tried Windows 8 pro and Windows 7 on two machines, still nothing. I've changed cables, I've changed USB ports. I've restarted my computer a thousand times, I've rebooted the Fire HD almost as much. I've followed every one of these tuts on rooting the HD on XDA and none seem to work for me. And just to reiterate; yes, install from unknown devices and adb are both enabled on my Fire HD. I've checked several times, I've unchecked them and the rechecked them several times.


It's crazy, because I've used adb to root/mess with my Galaxy S, my wife's Galaxy S, my Kindle Fire, my wife's Kindle Fire, my One S, and my wife's Galaxy S2 with no problem (all in that order). The Fire HD simply refuses to play nice. The one difference is I've switched to an SSD Local/System disk and am dual booting 7 Ultimate and 8 Pro on the computer I previously used to root my devices, but that shouldn't matter.

Sorry for the rant, it's not directed at you, or anyone in particular, it's my Kindle Fire HD. I want to choke it, but it hurts my hands when I try. And it's so pretty I feel bad being mean to it. If anyone had a last ditch effort suggestion for me, I'd be extremely grateful to hear (read) it, even if it doesn't work.

Thanks.


Sent from my KFHD7 using xda premium

Sorry for the delay, I was up late last night.

Excuse me if we already performed these steps, I just need to be sure.

Drop to the Administrative Prompt, navigate to the Qemu folder

Type the following and respond with the results:

Code:
adb kill-server
adb start-server
adb devices
The main part, does it display the Kindle Serial Number?

Are you absolutely sure you enabled ADB under Security on the Kindle? Did you allow "Installation of Applications" under Device?

What is the date and time of the adb.exe daemon in the Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry_v17 Stuff Folder? How about the date and time of the adb.exe daemon in the Qemu folder?
The Following User Says Thank You to prokennexusa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th December 2012, 07:47 PM   |  #30  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 959
 
2,637 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Prompt Test Root Access
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macalester

When running RootQemu.bat I encountered several errors but still was told I had been given root access. Can you confirm whether this means I have root access or has something gone wrong? Attached are the two errors and the success message.

Macalester,

If you go into /Apps do you see Superuser?

If yes, click on Superuser and see if it opens?

I have attached a simple Superuser Checker utility. Download it and test the Superuser Account.
Attached Files
File Type: apk suchecker.apk - [Click for QR Code] (93.5 KB, 49 views)
Last edited by prokennexusa; 28th December 2012 at 07:57 PM. Reason: Add info

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
how to root kindle fire 7" hd, root kindle fire, root kindle fire hd
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in 7" Kindle Fire HD General by ThreadRank