FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

 View Poll Results: In your opinion, when looking back at this thread, how easy were the instructions?

Very Easy
 
73 Vote(s)
57.48%
Somewhat Easy
 
19 Vote(s)
14.96%
Easy
 
20 Vote(s)
15.75%
Difficult
 
4 Vote(s)
3.15%
Somewhat Difficult
 
6 Vote(s)
4.72%
Very Difficult
 
5 Vote(s)
3.94%

[ROOT][HOW TO] Install Google Play Store Noob (Simple) Version

2,637 posts
Thanks Meter: 973
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
29th December 2012, 09:32 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I can't use google play store as default appstore, can I? I mean I really want it to open app links from within the applications but I couldn't get it doing it. Everything is installed and working nicely but can't make it the default external market links app
 
 
29th December 2012, 09:38 PM |#12  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 973
 
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up Google Play to be the default Market
Quote:
Originally Posted by mckennascole

I can't use google play store as default appstore, can I? I mean I really want it to open app links from within the applications but I couldn't get it doing it. Everything is installed and working nicely but can't make it the default external market links app

Did you use our ICS Google Play Store App? If you open Google Play Store, go into Settings, what version is your Google Play Store?

Did you complete this step?

Play Step 16 Finally, to eliminate Amazon from intercepting any Market requests, thus allowing Google Play to be the default Market. Using ES File Explorer move /system/app/MarketIntentProxy.apk to /sdcard/download - Reboot the Kindle
The Following User Says Thank You to prokennexusa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th December 2012, 09:52 PM |#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by prokennexusa

Did you use our ICS Google Play Store App? If you open Google Play Store, go into Settings, what version is your Google Play Store?

Did you complete this step?

Play Step 16 Finally, to eliminate Amazon from intercepting any Market requests, thus allowing Google Play to be the default Market. Using ES File Explorer move /system/app/MarketIntentProxy.apk to /sdcard/download - Reboot the Kindle

it was 3.10.10 before following these steps but now that you warned I realize it's 3.5.16. I don't understand. I'll install 10.10 again.

yes I moved it to another folder long ago...

edit: when i use the 3.8.17 here it updates to 3.8.17 but when I use the phonesky it says 3.5.16
edit #2: ok I upgraded it to 3.10.10 and everything works including play store as the default. thanks...
Last edited by mckennascole; 29th December 2012 at 10:19 PM.
29th December 2012, 10:23 PM |#14  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 973
 
Donate to Me
More
Smile Google Play Software Upgrade to 3.10.10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mckennascole

it was 3.10.10 before following these steps but now that you warned I realize it's 3.5.16. I don't understand. I'll install 10.10 again.

yes I moved it to another folder long ago...

If you download the attached file, it will quickly upgrade you to 3.10.10

Google Play Store Upgrade Step 1: On the Kindle, use Opera or Dolphin to download Phonesky.apk

Google Play Store Upgrade Step 2: Next, choose Open Phonesky.apk

Google Play Store Upgrade Step 3: Next Choose Install

Google Play Store Upgrade Step 4: Reboot the Kindle

Google Play Store Upgrade Step 5: Open /Apps/ Play Store

Google Play Store Upgrade Step 6: Go to Setting, Verify you are on Version 3.10.10
Attached Files
File Type: apk Phonesky.apk - [Click for QR Code] (3.81 MB, 94 views)
31st December 2012, 12:44 AM |#15  
fearwillkeepus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
I'm getting "Sorry, test failed. This feature cannot run on your phone" when trying to check the "Root Explorer" box in ES File explorer.
31st December 2012, 01:29 AM |#16  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 973
 
Donate to Me
More
Smile How To: Root the Kindle Fire 7" HD with Windows - Noob (Simple) Version
Quote:
Originally Posted by fearwillkeepus

I'm getting "Sorry, test failed. This feature cannot run on your phone" when trying to check the "Root Explorer" box in ES File explorer.

sounds like you lost Root.

ES File Explorer calls to the Superuser.apk when you click on the Root Options.

Are you sure you have Root? Are you running the latest version of ES File Explorer?
Attached Files
File Type: apk ES File Explorer_1.6.2.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (2.61 MB, 109 views)
31st December 2012, 02:17 AM |#17  
fearwillkeepus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by prokennexusa

sounds like you lost Root.

ES File Explorer calls to the Superuser.apk when you click on the Root Options.

Are you sure you have Root? Are you running the latest version of ES File Explorer?

I had to manually allow ES in superuser. But I'll try running the apk you provided.
IDK how I could have lost root, seeing as I tried doing this moments after successfully rooting.
31st December 2012, 02:38 AM |#18  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 973
 
Donate to Me
More
Prompt Follow Up - Possible Lost Root
Quote:
Originally Posted by fearwillkeepus

I had to manually allow ES in superuser. But I'll try running the apk you provided.
IDK how I could have lost root, seeing as I tried doing this moments after successfully rooting.

fearwillkeepus,

By the way, I like your Avatar. Yeah, I suspect you are using an older version of ES File Explorer since that is a known bug.

If not, download our Root Checker Basic utility to test both the Superuser.apk and the su binary. Respond with your

results.
Attached Files
File Type: apk suchecker.apk - [Click for QR Code] (93.5 KB, 60 views)
31st December 2012, 03:49 AM |#19  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 973
 
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up Google Play Store Upgrade 3.10.10
We just received an update today.

Google Play Store has been updated to Version 3.10.10

Look under settings, what is your store version?

You may download the update here Phonesky.apk

directly to your Kindle using Opera, Mozilla, Silk or Dolphin. Once the download

has completed, choose "Open", then choose "Install"

Let the install complete, the open the Google Play Store, under settings. It should

now show version 3.10.10
Attached Files
File Type: apk Phonesky.apk - [Click for QR Code] (3.81 MB, 57 views)
31st December 2012, 09:01 PM |#20  
Senior Member
Flag Burbank, IL
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
I had Play Store working before and I rooted my Kindle Fire HD 8.9".

What happened was my 4 year old niece tried using Kindle but she didn't know the pin so she just pressed and held some buttons. I think it was power button. After that Kindle took very long to start, asked me to login into Amazon again and all apps were gone. I think she factory reset it. The root stayed.

Does this method make it persistent or will I have to redo everything if it were to happen again? Maybe there could be something automated to get me back to where I am now with backing up and restoring or something.
31st December 2012, 10:13 PM |#21  
prokennexusa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Petaluma
Thanks Meter: 973
 
Donate to Me
More
Database Factory Reset
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sn8kbordin

I had Play Store working before and I rooted my Kindle Fire HD 8.9".

What happened was my 4 year old niece tried using Kindle but she didn't know the pin so she just pressed and held some buttons. I think it was power button. After that Kindle took very long to start, asked me to login into Amazon again and all apps were gone. I think she factory reset it. The root stayed.

Does this method make it persistent or will I have to redo everything if it were to happen again? Maybe there could be something automated to get me back to where I am now with backing up and restoring or something.

Sn8kbordin,

This method does make it persistent since everything is placed in the /system/app folder. We are working on a simple How to: Backup and Restore the Kindle Noob (Simple) Version. Since it is involved, we need another 48 hours but look for it soon.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
google play market, how to install google play on the kindle, install google play kindle 7" hd, install google play kindle hd
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes