Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,783,129 Members 45,900 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Developers

Tip us?
 
tjmack3rd
Old
(Last edited by tjmack3rd; 4th January 2013 at 12:13 AM.)
#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 12149
Has anyone tried a Kindle fire HD rom? I think the specs are identical except for the screen. I'll do a little research and see what I can do. I would like to see otg working on my son's 2nd generation fire. Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
 
powerpoint45
Old
#12  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,886
Posts: 2,048
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
I might make a kf2 root app


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
The Following User Says Thank You to powerpoint45 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
iytrix
Old
#13  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 220
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Jose
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjmack3rd View Post
Has anyone tried a Kindle fire HD rom? I think the specs are identical except for the screen. I'll do a little research and see what I can do. I would like to see otg working on my son's 2nd generation fire. Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
That's not quite how it works. I would also recommend to NOT TRY ANYTHING ON THE OTHER KINDLE FORUMS. If you check here, people have posted what works. I believe there is one guide for the basic rooting, and another for the steps on using root to make your Kindle do some decent stuff (new launchers, lockscreens, marketplace, all the good stuff!)

However, the issue with the KF2 is not really getting ROMs on, it's the step before it which is getting a working recovery so we can safely flash ROMs onto the device. Once that's done it shouldn't be hard to get a ROM, and it may be even possible to just use a KFHD ROM without any issues, BUT we need the recovery on here first, and getting around the locked bootloader.

To my all caps warning, just check the Q & A forums to see all the people who tried the recovery, rom, and rooting methods for their KF2. Most end up bricked.

If you are experienced in the sort of thing, go ahead and try at your own risk, just be careful. As you may notice, yes, most if not all (can't remember off the top of my head) of the methods we use to root ARE from the KFHD, so yes, some things do work, but way too many times I read about people that tried to put software that wasn't for the KF2 on it and it ends up bricked. Thankfully people seem to be fixing the bricked Kindles, but it's a very unfortunate experience people shouldn't have to go through.
The Following User Says Thank You to iytrix For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
iytrix
Old
#14  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 220
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Jose
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerpoint45 View Post
I might make a kf2 root app
Forgot to multi quote :\

This would be great I think! We have the tools so far, it's just that none have been made specifically for the KF2.

Good luck on the app as I'm sure many new KF2 users will appreciate it!
 
fmkilo
Old
(Last edited by fmkilo; 4th January 2013 at 07:22 AM.)
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 187
Posts: 288
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mount Vernon, IA,USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by iytrix View Post
That's not quite how it works. I would also recommend to NOT TRY ANYTHING ON THE OTHER KINDLE FORUMS. If you check here, people have posted what works. I believe there is one guide for the basic rooting, and another for the steps on using root to make your Kindle do some decent stuff (new launchers, lockscreens, marketplace, all the good stuff!)

However, the issue with the KF2 is not really getting ROMs on, it's the step before it which is getting a working recovery so we can safely flash ROMs onto the device. Once that's done it shouldn't be hard to get a ROM, and it may be even possible to just use a KFHD ROM without any issues, BUT we need the recovery on here first, and getting around the locked bootloader.

To my all caps warning, just check the Q & A forums to see all the people who tried the recovery, rom, and rooting methods for their KF2. Most end up bricked.

If you are experienced in the sort of thing, go ahead and try at your own risk, just be careful. As you may notice, yes, most if not all (can't remember off the top of my head) of the methods we use to root ARE from the KFHD, so yes, some things do work, but way too many times I read about people that tried to put software that wasn't for the KF2 on it and it ends up bricked. Thankfully people seem to be fixing the bricked Kindles, but it's a very unfortunate experience people shouldn't have to go through.
I burnt out my usb port trying to make a fastboot cable. I tied the wrong pin in... I'm waiting on my replacement. I'm going to try to use the revrom to get the cwm on my kf2 if that works, I'm sure we could get someone to make a touch cwm or twrp for the kfhd. If the kfhd cwm works, we could use the touch cwm/twrp. Perhaps it will need to be modified... perhaps not. I suspect that the cwm won't work perfectly and we need to modify it to use the correct partition table.

I should mention that using my current factory cable, I can get to fastboot. I just burnt out the data pin. I tried to use dd to flash the revboot stuff, but I forgot to do the part where you get past the locked bootloader... instabrick
 
powerpoint45
Old
#16  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,886
Posts: 2,048
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkilo View Post
I burnt out my usb port trying to make a fastboot cable. I tied the wrong pin in... I'm waiting on my replacement. I'm going to try to use the revrom to get the cwm on my kf2 if that works, I'm sure we could get someone to make a touch cwm or twrp for the kfhd. If the kfhd cwm works, we could use the touch cwm/twrp. Perhaps it will need to be modified... perhaps not. I suspect that the cwm won't work perfectly and we need to modify it to use the correct partition table.

I should mention that using my current factory cable, I can get to fastboot. I just burnt out the data pin. I tried to use dd to flash the revboot stuff, but I forgot to do the part where you get past the locked bootloader... instabrick
I was trying to make a fb cable earlier today but the connectors were too hard to solder so I need a new cable to work with. I had same idea as u. Trying to boot into a recovery like cwm

Sent from my DROIDX using xda app-developers app


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
 
powerpoint45
Old
(Last edited by powerpoint45; 5th January 2013 at 06:07 AM.)
#17  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,886
Posts: 2,048
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Nvm


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
 
fmkilo
Old
(Last edited by fmkilo; 5th January 2013 at 09:03 AM.)
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 187
Posts: 288
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mount Vernon, IA,USA

 
DONATE TO ME
you should be able to delete a post...
 
chronicfathead
Old
(Last edited by chronicfathead; 5th January 2013 at 04:52 PM.)
#19  
chronicfathead's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 613
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sleaford, Lincs

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerpoint45 View Post
I was trying to make a fb cable earlier today but the connectors were too hard to solder so I need a new cable to work with. I had same idea as u. Trying to boot into a recovery like cwm

Sent from my DROIDX using xda app-developers app
I bought one on eBay for 3 including free next day delivery. I'll try to find the link as he was selling lots and it was delivered fast (in UK).

EDIT :
http://item.mobileweb.ebay.co.uk/vie...d=140893291002

Sent using my Jelly fingers.
[SIZE="1"][FONT="Trebuchet MS"][LIST][*]LG G2 - D80210b-EUR-XX. .................running CloudyG3, rooted with Philz Advanced recovery
[*]Kindle Fire 2 ................................running CM11, rooted with TWRP recovery
 
mindmajick
Old
#20  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,902
Posts: 3,533
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Not devving yet, but as soon as we have our own recovery...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes