FORUMS

Unofficial Xposed For Lollipop Touchwiz With Flashable Zip

XDA Recognized Developer arter97 has released an unofficial build … more

YotaPhone 2 Pre-Order, Xperia Z1 Price Cut – XDA TV

Android Wear 5.1.1 OTA downloads are now available. That and much more news is … more

[FTF] Sony Xperia Z Lollipop Release

Sony rolled out a Lollipop update for Xperia Z just yesterday. If you still haven’t gotten … more

Original Moto G Receives Lollipop, OTA Captured

The original Moto G was released almost two years ago. Motorola still continues to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[ROM][AOSP][4.2.1] schnip's ROM w/ TABLET UI (1/12/2013)

8th January 2013, 05:44 AM |#11  
clavicle's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Simla
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
I am getting a message, Location settings aren't working in google now. Are these working or something wrong at my end. Though all location settings are checked, including the gps.
 
 
9th January 2013, 06:34 AM |#12  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Hi clavicle,


another user (billplowman) had the same problems with the location settings. I'm not sure why this happens. I assume it has something to do with the gapps. I used the Cyanogenmod gapps and they might have a bug. Im really new to developing Roms which is why i cant really debug your issue.

As a solution i recommend you to try other flashable gapps packages. (Just pick one of the other Rom threads) If it works I'd be grateful if you could post the working gapps here.


Adding extended power menu is on the top of my priority list. If you know some Howtos or any kind of knowledge on how to implement it please let me know!
9th January 2013, 11:18 AM |#13  
clavicle's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Simla
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Thanks for the reply, I will try to install few more gaps and let you know about it.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
9th January 2013, 09:57 PM |#14  
craigacgomez's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lake Forest, CA
Thanks Meter: 3,352
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by schnip

Hi clavicle,


another user (billplowman) had the same problems with the location settings. I'm not sure why this happens. I assume it has something to do with the gapps. I used the Cyanogenmod gapps and they might have a bug. Im really new to developing Roms which is why i cant really debug your issue.

As a solution i recommend you to try other flashable gapps packages. (Just pick one of the other Rom threads) If it works I'd be grateful if you could post the working gapps here.


Adding extended power menu is on the top of my priority list. If you know some Howtos or any kind of knowledge on how to implement it please let me know!

@schnip here's some help...

For Google Location Service, use the changes in this commit... https://github.com/craigacgomez/andr...5c8fa0b86bb9d1

For the Advanced Power Menu... here's a git diff of the changes... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0#post34280090 but you still need the images...
The Following User Says Thank You to craigacgomez For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th January 2013, 07:35 AM |#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Great start to the exact ROM I am hoping for. Currently I find the time in notification bar to be small and hulu plus doesn't recognize as supported device (which I noticed on paranoid android rom too...). I tried some gapps but they either crash or location service is broken. Also what happened to tiles?

I def check back and test new versions of this rom. Goodluck and great work so far.
10th January 2013, 06:07 PM |#16  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigacgomez

@schnip here's some help...

For Google Location Service, use the changes in this commit... https://github.com/craigacgomez/andr...5c8fa0b86bb9d1

For the Advanced Power Menu... here's a git diff of the changes... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0#post34280090 but you still need the images...


Thank you very much for the advice. I find it quite hard to "get into" rom development. So i really appreciate the help from an experienced developer!
10th January 2013, 07:09 PM |#17  
craigacgomez's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lake Forest, CA
Thanks Meter: 3,352
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by schnip

Thank you very much for the advice. I find it quite hard to "get into" rom development. So i really appreciate the help from an experienced developer!

I'm not an experienced dev... just another newbie dev!! But glad I could help!
The Following User Says Thank You to craigacgomez For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th January 2013, 10:42 PM |#18  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigacgomez

I'm not an experienced dev... just another newbie dev!! But glad I could help!



I very much appreciate it! If you have time probably you can help me with another issue.


Im trying to make an update.zip for the nexus 10 tablet ui. Unfortunately if i exchange this file for example: /system/framework/services.odex I always end up with bootloops and dont know how to debug it.
10th January 2013, 11:10 PM |#19  
craigacgomez's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lake Forest, CA
Thanks Meter: 3,352
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by schnip

I very much appreciate it! If you have time probably you can help me with another issue.


Im trying to make an update.zip for the nexus 10 tablet ui. Unfortunately if i exchange this file for example: /system/framework/services.odex I always end up with bootloops and dont know how to debug it.

Did you also replace the corresponding jar file?? services.jar??
The Following User Says Thank You to craigacgomez For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2013, 02:32 AM |#20  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigacgomez

Did you also replace the corresponding jar file?? services.jar??



Yes. I have a completely stock Nexus 10. Except that i unlocked and rooted the stock Rom.


Then i took the completely stock AOSP and built a Rom. I flashed that rom as otazip package to see if it works and it does.

Then i took the services.jar and services.odex from the AOSP rom and replaced the corresponding files on my stock rooted rom. (I used adb shell to remove the old files and then adb pushed the new ones)


And it results in a boot loop.


I compiled the rom using this for "lunch" full_manta-user. I used "user" to make sure the rom is odexed because using full_manta-userdebug results in a deodexed rom.
Last edited by schnip; 11th January 2013 at 02:37 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes