Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,599 Members 38,900 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW TO] Root/Run from sd/Install CM10

Tip us?

asawi
Old
(Last edited by asawi; 4th January 2013 at 09:22 PM.)
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 121
Default [HOW TO] Root/Run from sd/Install CM10

I am now making post that there really shouldn't be any need for, because all that's in here is already covered elsewhere. 100% Apparently not easy enough to find for newcomers, so I'm making an attempt to help info collection.

NOTHING here is my work! All I’ve done is trying to make easy to follow instructions to other people’s hard work. Those people deserve your thanks, not me!

I’m a newbie myself and that’s why I can say that this really is very easy! If I can do it without problems, so can you! I try not to chat away too much in the instructions. Make regular searches, here or Google for more info. I found it, so surely you can too! Any questions? Well, being a noob myself I probably can't answer. Google is a very good friend of mine though...
Please do not ask questions through pm. It's better if people that know more than I do get a chance to answer them in the thread instead!

You need to know how to burn an sd image. Separate instructions to that after the other instructions if you don’t.

Step 1: Establish what it is you want to do! Choose A, B or C

A: You do not want to touch the internals of your NT but want to try CM10 anyway
B: You want to stay in the BN environment but would like to be able to install apps from elsewhere (for example Google Play Store)
C: You want to get rid of BN and install CM10 instead.

A: Run CM10 from sd card – no root required
This should work on 8GB Tablet as well as 16GB

When you boot into the card you’re running Android ICS. Remove the card and you’ll boot to internal BN operating system. (Or keep the card in, boot to Cyanoboot Menu and choose “internal boot”)