Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Problems with GPS: Myth or fact?

OP dunderball

6th January 2013, 09:05 AM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 98
 
280 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Div033

You don't have to. For some reason enabling WiFi alone will improve the GPS's ability to get a lock. Though this isn't always the case, its one of the first things I do when I have trouble getting a lock.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

It's getting a rough location estimate from access points when your turn WiFi on. WiFi location doesn't have anything to do with GPS. This will only work if you're by access points.
6th January 2013, 10:33 AM   |  #12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
I've had problems since day one of owning this phone. I've owned a droid 1 and droid 3. My og droid honestly never failed to lock almost instantly whether in my house or on the road. Its a shame to get such a new phone and have issues like this. Multiple threads show many users are having the same issues. I've tried fixes, clearing caches, flashing new roms and nothing.
6th January 2013, 11:35 AM   |  #13  
Senior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 34
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
http://m.cnet.com/news/street-view-c.../20082777?ds=1

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2396403,00.asp

All wifi is used for is helping finding a rough location by send info through Verizon about access points nearby. Turning it doesn't make the internal gps work "better" in regards to seeing satellites it just helps Google get a fix on the phone faster

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
6th January 2013, 04:15 PM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I suspect the Chinese are setting up random gps blockers tuned specifically to the S3. /conspiracy theory
6th January 2013, 05:38 PM   |  #15  
b4silver's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
All I know is that I can never get it to work. Ever.

My Nexus 10 is better than your tablet. Hah.
6th January 2013, 05:58 PM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
As stated before if you have problems then get the phone replaced. I have never had a single problem getting a lock at all and I live in the cities.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
6th January 2013, 07:22 PM   |  #17  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 930
 
3,138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by unique77

As stated before if you have problems then get the phone replaced. I have never had a single problem getting a lock at all and I live in the cities.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app

Same, its probably the rom they're on. Even on 4.2.1 I get GPS though (not inside, but I can on TW roms).
OP: I can get a lock inside my living room
7th January 2013, 01:39 AM   |  #18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
My GPS locks 20% of the time...outside on a clear day in Cali. Not sure what to do anymore. I've tried everything I read on here but returning it. I have a feeling they'll just give me a used refurbished phone so I hesitate to do it.
7th January 2013, 02:26 AM   |  #19  
dohturdima's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
676 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I can safely say that S3 gps is the best I've had out of all the smartphones I used. I am frequently in midtown Manhattan and it locks there within 10 seconds, and it works in my livingroom
7th January 2013, 02:33 AM   |  #20  
Droid316's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 368
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Every time I load a new Rom I open up gps status toolbox get a lock instantly then open maps to locate me then I never have any trouble after that at all.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes