Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,543 Members 37,178 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Problems with GPS: Myth or fact?

Tip us?
 
Imatoasta
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 98
Posts: 280
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Div033 View Post
You don't have to. For some reason enabling WiFi alone will improve the GPS's ability to get a lock. Though this isn't always the case, its one of the first things I do when I have trouble getting a lock.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
It's getting a rough location estimate from access points when your turn WiFi on. WiFi location doesn't have anything to do with GPS. This will only work if you're by access points.
 
socalwrxx
Old
#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jul 2011
I've had problems since day one of owning this phone. I've owned a droid 1 and droid 3. My og droid honestly never failed to lock almost instantly whether in my house or on the road. Its a shame to get such a new phone and have issues like this. Multiple threads show many users are having the same issues. I've tried fixes, clearing caches, flashing new roms and nothing.
 
Jarredw
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 179
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Diego
http://m.cnet.com/news/street-view-c.../20082777?ds=1

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2396403,00.asp

All wifi is used for is helping finding a rough location by send info through Verizon about access points nearby. Turning it doesn't make the internal gps work "better" in regards to seeing satellites it just helps Google get a fix on the phone faster

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
 
Hans5849
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 162
Join Date: Apr 2012
I suspect the Chinese are setting up random gps blockers tuned specifically to the S3. /conspiracy theory
 
b4silver
Old
#15  
b4silver's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 154
Join Date: Jun 2012
All I know is that I can never get it to work. Ever.

My Nexus 10 is better than your tablet. Hah.
 
unique77
Old
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 293
Join Date: Apr 2011
As stated before if you have problems then get the phone replaced. I have never had a single problem getting a lock at all and I live in the cities.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
 
aooga
Old
#17  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 855
Posts: 2,910
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by unique77 View Post
As stated before if you have problems then get the phone replaced. I have never had a single problem getting a lock at all and I live in the cities.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
Same, its probably the rom they're on. Even on 4.2.1 I get GPS though (not inside, but I can on TW roms).
OP: I can get a lock inside my living room
 
potato salad
Old
#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2013
My GPS locks 20% of the time...outside on a clear day in Cali. Not sure what to do anymore. I've tried everything I read on here but returning it. I have a feeling they'll just give me a used refurbished phone so I hesitate to do it.
 
dohturdima
Old
#19  
dohturdima's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 676
Join Date: Jan 2011
I can safely say that S3 gps is the best I've had out of all the smartphones I used. I am frequently in midtown Manhattan and it locks there within 10 seconds, and it works in my livingroom
 
Droid316
Old
#20  
Droid316's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 366
Posts: 1,123
Join Date: Oct 2010
Every time I load a new Rom I open up gps status toolbox get a lock instantly then open maps to locate me then I never have any trouble after that at all.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes