FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Problems with GPS: Myth or fact?

177 posts
Thanks Meter: 32
 
By dunderball, Senior Member on 4th January 2013, 04:14 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
7th January 2013, 05:36 AM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dohturdima

I can safely say that S3 gps is the best I've had out of all the smartphones I used. I am frequently in midtown Manhattan and it locks there within 10 seconds, and it works in my livingroom

I have to agree. I got mine just before the Xmas and have had no delays locking on satellites. Beats the scrap out of the Bionic.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk 2
 
 
7th January 2013, 08:58 AM |#22  
AngryGibson's Avatar
Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Tried out the GPS once again and it is safe to say that it is a piece of sh1t compared to my previous experiences with other androids. I'll try to see if I can find the thread that was recommended on trying to fix the situation. Returning it to Verizon is not an option since I bought the phone off of a friend. Everything else works great excepted the jacked up GPS.

Tried it while traveling from San Diego to LA earlier today and it was bouncing everywhere from driving on the other side of the 60 against traffic to driving on side streets when I was traveling on the freeway the entire time. GPS is a necessity so it would suck if I seriously have to go out and search out another phone because of this.
8th January 2013, 01:49 AM |#23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Ive said this more than a handful of times, but if your GPS sucks call verizon and get your phone replaced. Just got a 2nd replacement (for data issues this time, GPS issues the first) and the GPS is even better than one. I basically have full satellites before the GPS program is done loading.
The Following User Says Thank You to rmtobler For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th January 2013, 02:59 AM |#24  
AngryGibson's Avatar
Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmtobler

Ive said this more than a handful of times, but if your GPS sucks call verizon and get your phone replaced. Just got a 2nd replacement (for data issues this time, GPS issues the first) and the GPS is even better than one. I basically have full satellites before the GPS program is done loading.

I guess you missed the part where I said the phone was purchased off contract NOT through Verizon Wireless.... Everything about the phone is in excellent condition except the GPS is crap...... So what is your suggestion now?
8th January 2013, 03:16 AM |#25  
kintwofan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Irmo, SC
Thanks Meter: 2,891
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGibson

I guess you missed the part where I said the phone was purchased off contract NOT through Verizon Wireless.... Everything about the phone is in excellent condition except the GPS is crap...... So what is your suggestion now?

Still call them I bought mine off cl and they still have me a replacement

Sent from my VS920 4G using xda app-developers app
8th January 2013, 04:54 AM |#26  
AngryGibson's Avatar
Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kintwofan

Still call them I bought mine off cl and they still have me a replacement

Sent from my VS920 4G using xda app-developers app

Thank you for the response. I will do that tomorrow then.

Did you disclose to them that you purchased it through CL? or did you just mention that you were having issues with the GPS and they walked you through the typical "do this, that, and this" before they said that they would send you another?

One more thing, would you say it would be easier to go to a verizon store and talk to them about it or talking to someone over the phone?
8th January 2013, 08:22 AM |#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 273
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imatoasta

It's getting a rough location estimate from access points when your turn WiFi on. WiFi location doesn't have anything to do with GPS. This will only work if you're by access points.

I'm actually well aware of how WiFi location works, but thanks anyway. I merely suspect there's some "bug" on the software level that Samsung is notoriously known for mucking up which prevents a lock unless WiFi is enabled. No magic here, just the entropy of Samsung always has me second guessing.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
8th January 2013, 03:51 PM |#28  
jonapunk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag clinton township
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Wifi will only help of your not moving away from that location I also only use gps no Google location or verizon and I get a lock with in 5 seconds and about 20 inside a building if I'm down stairs. The only time it doesn't work is if I am in a basement in the city.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium
8th January 2013, 05:29 PM |#29  
niv3d's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Winter Haven
Thanks Meter: 272
 
More
I'm still on a launch day phone and my gps is trash! I've tried every gps fix in the gps thread with no luck. I'm currently on stock vrblk3 unrooted and I still have no lock. My replacement will be here today. Heres to hoping gps will work!

If it does i'll be nervous to root, unlock and flash again lol

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
8th January 2013, 08:24 PM |#30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGibson

I guess you missed the part where I said the phone was purchased off contract NOT through Verizon Wireless.... Everything about the phone is in excellent condition except the GPS is crap...... So what is your suggestion now?

Did you buy a phone without a warranty?
8th January 2013, 08:26 PM |#31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I'm in the same boat as many of you and I've tried the various fixes with mixed results. I remember back when I was struggling with my TP2 running Windows, GPS was always pretty solid, even indoors, while my GS3 doesn't get anything without there being direct line-of-sight to the satellites.

This only led me to believe that the phones operate in different GPS modes since I'd lose GPS lock without data on the TP2 and I could turn off data and still acquire satellites with my GS3.

I began tinkering with the gps.conf file to see if that helped things, but it ultimately only made a moderate improvement. This did however lead me in a better direction. The AGPS fix (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1880411) for GS3 has two device-specific fixes. There is only a minor difference between the two and everything else was identical:
INTERMEDIATE_POS= (either 1 or 0)
ACCURACY_THRES=3000
DEFAULT_AGPS_ENABLE=TRUE
DEFAULT_USER_PLANE=TRUE
DEFAULT_SSL_ENABLE=FALSE
AssistMethodType=1
AgpsUse=1
AgpsServerType=1
AgpsServerIp=3232235555
AgpsMtConf=0
AgpsMtResponseType=1

SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276

SUPL_NO_SECURE_PORT=3425
I found that this fix worked more or less the same as the gps.conf that's standard, so I figured that AGPS wasn't enabled although the configuration file says to use it. There was something in the notes of the AGPS fix that seemed directly related and it's a line in the build.prop file. The notes specifically state "You need to change "ro.ril.def.agps.mode = 2" or "ro.ril.def.agps.mode = 0" to be "ro.ril.def.agps.mode = 1" in order for aGPS to properly function."

Well I tried it and it didn't seem to do anything. AT ALL. I had absolutely no clue what the 0,1, and 2 modes were, so I searched a little more. I figured there had to place in the secret menu or an app that accessed it to change gps modes in plain English, and I stumbled upon AngryGPS in the Galaxy Nexus thread (http://rootzwiki.com/topic/21453-opt...-galaxy-nexus/). It took me installing LauncherPro in order open the program, but when I did, there were four GPS modes listed in the settings:
  • STANDALONE (which was my setting)
  • MSBASED
  • MSASSISTED
  • NETWORK PROVIDER

I thought this made sense and went on to try the other ones. I've been on MSASSITED since this morning and was able to acquire satellites inside my place where I wasn't able to before. Now it wasn't lightning fast or anything, but it was a promising sign. I navigated to work this morning without any of the annoying jumps to hundreds of feet away or hearing "GPS Signal Lost".

That's where I am. I didn't want to come to the discussion empty-handed, so if this helps someone, great. If someone can add on, even better!

Peace.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes