Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,360 Members 53,711 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I booted TWRP recovery onto kindle fire 2

Tip us?
 
powerpoint45
Old
#11  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1853
Posts: 2,020
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkilo View Post
Like I said, I don't know much, but I wonder if we could mount the recovery partition and make changes and see how it works after flashing.
The partitions aren't going to be mounted correctly.
also, I saw a post a little bit ago that mentioned using adb to simulate volume button presses.(not sure if that's possible)
adb shell
input keyevent <volume button code>
and I also saw this post a little glimmer of hope for cwm..
(I think this is the reason the kf2 is left out.)
Try to make a backup first without flashing anything.. if that works..
Good idea about the key codes. You mean try to make a backup in twrp? ....I think i will flash the cwm recovery made for kfhd and try to get keycodes working...but not now it is 4am over here lol

Sent from my KFOT using xda app-developers app


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
 
fmkilo
Old
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 187
Posts: 288
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mount Vernon, IA,USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerpoint45 View Post
Good idea about the key codes. You mean try to make a backup in twrp? ....I think i will flash the cwm recovery made for kfhd and try to get keycodes working...but not now it is 4am over here lol

Sent from my KFOT using xda app-developers app
you know, making a backup might hurt more than it helps... keycodes sounds better anyway. Central time that stuff rocks, we live in the same timezone. cwm comes before twrp anyway. once we have a workingish cwm, we can start to make a twrp. Knowing that we have the proper setup within a previous build of twrp means it should be easier to do, rather than figure every value out from scratch. you said touch points work correctly... I'll play with twrp when I get my replacement tomorrowish. (or later today depending on how you look at it.) I'm tired of being a leech. I want to start figuring stuff out, maybe contribute a little lol.
 
powerpoint45
Old
#13  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1853
Posts: 2,020
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkilo View Post
you know, making a backup might hurt more than it helps... keycodes sounds better anyway. Central time that stuff rocks, we live in the same timezone. cwm comes before twrp anyway. once we have a workingish cwm, we can start to make a twrp. Knowing that we have the proper setup within a previous build of twrp means it should be easier to do, rather than figure every value out from scratch. you said touch points work correctly... I'll play with twrp when I get my replacement tomorrowish. (or later today depending on how you look at it.) I'm tired of being a leech. I want to start figuring stuff out, maybe contribute a little lol.
Sorry i feel asleep. Yeah that sounds good.

Sent from my KFOT using xda app-developers app


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
 
fmkilo
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 187
Posts: 288
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mount Vernon, IA,USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerpoint45 View Post
Sorry i feel asleep. Yeah that sounds good.

Sent from my KFOT using xda app-developers app
I pmed revkjr and asked him what the output of the button codes was in cwm so hopefully I could try that whenever my replacement is here.
 
powerpoint45
Old
(Last edited by powerpoint45; 5th January 2013 at 07:09 PM.)
#15  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1853
Posts: 2,020
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkilo View Post
I pmed revkjr and asked him what the output of the button codes was in cwm so hopefully I could try that whenever my replacement is here.
Ok cool. You should ask him if the ROM will flash correctly on the kf1 with cwm or even twrp...I think the keycodes wont be too hard.

Sent from my KFOT using xda app-developers app


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
 
powerpoint45
Old
#16  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1853
Posts: 2,020
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Code:
michael@slitaz:~$ adb shell
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
shell@android:/ $ su
shell@android:/ # busybox mount -o remount,rw /system
shell@android:/ # exit
shell@android:/ $ exit
michael@slitaz:~$ adb pull /system/recovery.img
3421 KB/s (4944720 bytes in 1.411s)
michael@slitaz:~$ mv recovery.img Desktop/recovery.img.bak
michael@slitaz:~$ adb shell
shell@android:/ $ su
shell@android:/ # chmod 777 /dev/block/*
shell@android:/ # exit
shell@android:/ $ exit
michael@slitaz:~$ adb pull /dev/block/mmcblk0p9 Desktop/mmcblk0p9.bak
3339 KB/s (8388608 bytes in 2.453s)
michael@slitaz:~$ adb pull /dev/block/mmcblk0p10 Desktop/mmcblk0p10.bak
3271 KB/s (8388608 bytes in 2.503s)
michael@slitaz:~$ adb pull /dev/block/mmcblk0p11 Desktop/mmcblk0p11.bak
3640 KB/s (929038336 bytes in 249.200s)
michael@slitaz:~$
Code:
michael@slitaz:~$ I am now in fastboot mode and i am going to test my recovery b
ackup
/bin/sh: I: not found
michael@slitaz:~$ fastboot flash recovery Desktop/recovery.img.bak  -i 0x1949
sending 'recovery' (4828 KB)...
OKAY [  0.311s]
writing 'recovery'...
OKAY [  0.518s]
finished. total time: 0.829s
michael@slitaz:~$ now i am booting into normal rom
/bin/sh: now: not found
michael@slitaz:~$ adb reboot recovery
michael@slitaz:~$ backup recovery works fine. going back into fastboot
/bin/sh: backup: not found
michael@slitaz:~$ fastboot flash recovery Desktop/revboot.img -i 0x1949
sending 'recovery' (8173 KB)...
OKAY [  0.439s]
writing 'recovery'...
OKAY [  0.869s]
finished. total time: 1.308s
michael@slitaz:~$ now i will test recovery again
/bin/sh: now: not found
michael@slitaz:~$ adb reboot recovery
michael@slitaz:~$ adb devices
List of devices attached 

michael@slitaz:~$ the device just booted into factory recovery );
/bin/sh: syntax error: unexpected ")"
michael@slitaz:~$ fastboot flash recovery Desktop/recovery.img.bak  -i 0x1949
< waiting for device >
sending 'recovery' (4828 KB)...
OKAY [  0.308s]
writing 'recovery'...
OKAY [  0.516s]
finished. total time: 0.825s


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
 
fmkilo
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 187
Posts: 288
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mount Vernon, IA,USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerpoint45 View Post
Code:
michael@slitaz:~$ adb shell
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
shell@android:/ $ su
shell@android:/ # busybox mount -o remount,rw /system
shell@android:/ # exit
shell@android:/ $ exit
michael@slitaz:~$ adb pull /system/recovery.img
3421 KB/s (4944720 bytes in 1.411s)
michael@slitaz:~$ mv recovery.img Desktop/recovery.img.bak
michael@slitaz:~$ adb shell
shell@android:/ $ su
shell@android:/ # chmod 777 /dev/block/*
shell@android:/ # exit
shell@android:/ $ exit
michael@slitaz:~$ adb pull /dev/block/mmcblk0p9 Desktop/mmcblk0p9.bak
3339 KB/s (8388608 bytes in 2.453s)
michael@slitaz:~$ adb pull /dev/block/mmcblk0p10 Desktop/mmcblk0p10.bak
3271 KB/s (8388608 bytes in 2.503s)
michael@slitaz:~$ adb pull /dev/block/mmcblk0p11 Desktop/mmcblk0p11.bak
3640 KB/s (929038336 bytes in 249.200s)
michael@slitaz:~$
Code:
michael@slitaz:~$ I am now in fastboot mode and i am going to test my recovery b
ackup
/bin/sh: I: not found
michael@slitaz:~$ fastboot flash recovery Desktop/recovery.img.bak  -i 0x1949
sending 'recovery' (4828 KB)...
OKAY [  0.311s]
writing 'recovery'...
OKAY [  0.518s]
finished. total time: 0.829s
michael@slitaz:~$ now i am booting into normal rom
/bin/sh: now: not found
michael@slitaz:~$ adb reboot recovery
michael@slitaz:~$ backup recovery works fine. going back into fastboot
/bin/sh: backup: not found
michael@slitaz:~$ fastboot flash recovery Desktop/revboot.img -i 0x1949
sending 'recovery' (8173 KB)...
OKAY [  0.439s]
writing 'recovery'...
OKAY [  0.869s]
finished. total time: 1.308s
michael@slitaz:~$ now i will test recovery again
/bin/sh: now: not found
michael@slitaz:~$ adb reboot recovery
michael@slitaz:~$ adb devices
List of devices attached 

michael@slitaz:~$ the device just booted into factory recovery );
/bin/sh: syntax error: unexpected ")"
michael@slitaz:~$ fastboot flash recovery Desktop/recovery.img.bak  -i 0x1949
< waiting for device >
sending 'recovery' (4828 KB)...
OKAY [  0.308s]
writing 'recovery'...
OKAY [  0.516s]
finished. total time: 0.825s
Have you tried booting it like you did twrp?
 
powerpoint45
Old
#18  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1853
Posts: 2,020
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkilo View Post
Have you tried booting it like you did twrp?
It wont let me. It instantly reboots...I am softbricked from following guide for hd

Sent from my DROIDX using xda app-developers app


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
 
fmkilo
Old
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 187
Posts: 288
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mount Vernon, IA,USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerpoint45 View Post
It wont let me. It instantly reboots...I am softbricked from following guide for hd

Sent from my DROIDX using xda app-developers app
how did you get twrp running then? Why did twrp boot but cwm didn't?
did you try flashing it in boot system and recovery to get it to boot to cwm?
 
powerpoint45
Old
(Last edited by powerpoint45; 5th January 2013 at 09:58 PM.)
#20  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1853
Posts: 2,020
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkilo View Post
how did you get twrp running then? Why did twrp boot but cwm didn't?
did you try flashing it in boot system and recovery to get it to boot to cwm?
Yes. that's what bricked it... I don't know why cwm wont boot.I need to upload a file onto the kindle in order to fix it. Any ideas

Sent from my DROIDX using xda app-developers app


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes