Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,560 Members 53,071 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I booted TWRP recovery onto kindle fire 2

Tip us?
 
fmkilo
Old
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 187
Posts: 288
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mount Vernon, IA,USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerpoint45 View Post
Yes. that's what bricked it... I don't know why cwm wont boot.I need to upload a file onto the kindle in order to fix it. Any ideas

Sent from my DROIDX using xda app-developers app
what do you mean? what do you need to upload when?
 
powerpoint45
Old
#22  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,892
Posts: 2,048
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkilo View Post
what do you mean? what do you need to upload when?
Nvm. I have another idea. I'm downloading stock rom now

Sent from my DROIDX using xda app-developers app


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
 
powerpoint45
Old
#23  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,892
Posts: 2,048
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
I need a system.img aaaaaaaaa

Sent from my DROIDX using xda app-developers app


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
 
fmkilo
Old
#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 187
Posts: 288
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mount Vernon, IA,USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerpoint45 View Post
I need a system.img aaaaaaaaa

Sent from my DROIDX using xda app-developers app
what if we replaced the recovery.img in /system with cwm or twrp? then made it update by placing a newer system version in the kindleupdates folder? replace recovery, reboot. then try to update?
 
powerpoint45
Old
#25  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,892
Posts: 2,048
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkilo View Post
what if we replaced the recovery.img in /system with cwm or twrp? then made it update by placing a newer system version in the kindleupdates folder? replace recovery, reboot. then try to update?
I just created a sparse image from a system backup i made. Flashing via fastboot now

Sent from my DROIDX using xda app-developers app


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
 
powerpoint45
Old
(Last edited by powerpoint45; 6th January 2013 at 05:26 AM.)
#26  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,892
Posts: 2,048
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Ok I'm trying to flash a new boot img


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
 
powerpoint45
Old
(Last edited by powerpoint45; 5th January 2013 at 11:47 PM.)
#27  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,892
Posts: 2,048
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
I just restored my kf2. Hell yes. That was sooo stressfull. At least I have experience now!


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
 
tabormeister
Old
#28  
tabormeister's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 90
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Waynesboro, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerpoint45 View Post
I just restored my kf2. Hell yes. That was sooo stressfull. At least I have experience now!
I had to do that with a KF1 one time, repartitioned everything from SCRATCH. Sucked.
CM10.2 Galaxy S4
CM10.2 TF300T

Retired:
CM10.2 Galaxy S3
CM10.2 Epic 4g Touch
Kindle Fire CM10.2
Epic 4g CM10.1, faithful friend & start of my Android journey
LG Lotus, pandora + opera hacks
LG Muziq, first hacks with a phone
Samsung A920, early music phone w/transflash.
Sanyo MM-8300, early camera phone
The Following User Says Thank You to tabormeister For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
powerpoint45
Old
(Last edited by powerpoint45; 6th January 2013 at 12:41 AM.)
#29  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,892
Posts: 2,048
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Ok so the twrp img. Wont let me flash anything because it says
E:unable to mount splash...

I guess we will need to build from source


Donate by buying my launcher: Lucid Launcher Pro
The system wants you dead; be cautious!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to powerpoint45 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
idontwanttobeanoob
Old
#30  
idontwanttobeanoob's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 86
Join Date: Sep 2011
Hell yes somebody is working on this

The Following User Says Thank You to idontwanttobeanoob For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes