FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] How To Use Another Android Phones Rom On Another Android Phone?

29 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By Renzler, Junior Member on 5th January 2013, 07:31 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I am new to android and was wondering can we use another android phones rom on a another phone? Like can we use Galaxy Mini Cyanogenmod on Xperia Mini? And Can we do this by changing the firmware or kernel version?
 
 
5th January 2013, 07:36 AM |#2  
dkmali's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bhilwara
Thanks Meter: 103
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renzler

I am new to android and was wondering can we use another android phones rom on a another phone? Like can we use Galaxy Mini Cyanogenmod on Xperia Mini? And Can we do this by changing the firmware or kernel version?

You can't use Galaxy Mini Cyanogenmod on Xperia Mini . Other wish you break your phone.



Sent from my Android Smartphone
Last edited by dkmali; 5th January 2013 at 08:53 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to dkmali For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th January 2013, 09:00 AM |#3  
zelendel's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Mod. Cttee. Retired - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 14,726
 
More
As stated above only do this if you need a brick. Only flash things ment for your device.

Batcom2
The Following User Says Thank You to zelendel For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th January 2013, 09:01 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Flag Dhaka
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkmali

You can't use Galaxy Mini Cyanogenmod on Xperia Mini . Other wish you break your phone.



Sent from my Android Smartphone

can i use another cell phones rom instead of cyanogenmod? and is there any way to use the rom without breaking my phone?
5th January 2013, 09:15 AM |#5  
zelendel's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Mod. Cttee. Retired - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 14,726
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renzler

can i use another cell phones rom instead of cyanogenmod? and is there any way to use the rom without breaking my phone?

You were already told no.

Batcom2
5th January 2013, 11:06 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Flag Dhaka
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Thumbs up
thanks for the info zelende and dkmali. And last question can flash another mobiles firmware or kernel version to my android? and yes can I then use things meant for those android? don't by the question get irrigated just wanted know !!
5th January 2013, 12:28 PM |#7  
Soul reaper's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag UltraMusic Fest
Thanks Meter: 269
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renzler

thanks for the info zelende and dkmali. And last question can flash another mobiles firmware or kernel version to my android? and yes can I then use things meant for those android? don't by the question get irrigated just wanted know !!

u cant use a rom
but there is something called porting
u cant even flash kernel because drivers are different
but there are some things u can use like stock apps that too if its same version
6th January 2013, 08:44 AM |#8  
sashank's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 566
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renzler

thanks for the info zelende and dkmali. And last question can flash another mobiles firmware or kernel version to my android? and yes can I then use things meant for those android? don't by the question get irrigated just wanted know !!

Dude you asked the same question thrice, just differently worded. For god's sake.

Read up on porting ROMs if you want to know how a ROM for one device is made to work on another. It usually requires a device specific kernel that's made to be compatible with the other device's ROM, and then there's resizing work to be done for all the apps if the other device's screen is of a larger resolution.

Judging by your questions, it's obvious you don't have any developer knowledge, and porting requires quite a bit of it. So, for the last time, NO you can't do whatever you're asking.
8th May 2013, 09:18 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
same specs device
hi,
i have a similar question but for an identical hardware phones.
my device is with mt6577 cpu (neo n002), and running ICS i searched for a JB rom but didn't find one.
there are other devices with that chipset even same ram (size), screen resolution, maybe same camera, so i wonder if i can port
the JB rom to my device or even install the rom as it is?
if so, can i keep specific drivers from the ICS version, in case i get a problem with gps/camera/mic.....?

thanx.
14th August 2014, 08:34 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I want to ask can i install htc ONE's ROM on HTC DESIRE HD...?
14th August 2014, 10:12 AM |#11  
ShapesBlue's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,176
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by umernisar07

I want to ask can i install htc ONE's ROM on HTC DESIRE HD...?

No you can only use a rom from the same device, ex one S3 to another S3. YOU CANNOT use one rom like the question your asking for another device. Different specs....

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes