Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,360 Members 50,189 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

(MOD) how to add more rows of tiles on surface

Tip us?
 
tamarasu
Old
(Last edited by tamarasu; 7th January 2013 at 03:10 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 23
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default (MOD) how to add more rows of tiles on surface

guys and gals,


I have been searching for multiple days on a way to increase the number of rows that surface supports for metro apps. see below for the reg tweak:

1. open notepad
2. post following line:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00




[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Explorer\Scaling]

"MonitorSize"="12.1"

3. save as a .reg file
4. import into regedit
5. restart surface
6. enabled will be 4 rows and 9 rows in portrait when you go: settings: tiles: show more tiles



hope you all enjoy


edit: changed to 12.1 as you still get the 4 rows but the keyboard is bigger. any input is appreciated.
The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to tamarasu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jhoff80
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 152
Join Date: Apr 2008
It also shrinks the virtual keyboard down to an unusable size.
 
tamarasu
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 23
Join Date: Dec 2009
this is just round 1 in the tweak. researching keyboard size now....



Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post
It also shrinks the virtual keyboard down to an unusable size.
The Following User Says Thank You to tamarasu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tamarasu
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 23
Join Date: Dec 2009
posted a slight change that should help. tested it on mine and the keyboard is more usable
The Following User Says Thank You to tamarasu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tboy2000
Old
#5  
tboy2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 233
Posts: 1,517
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London
Do we just delete this entry to revert?

Unlocked Samsung Ativ S 8.1
Dell Venue 8 Pro 64gb Windows 8.1
Dell Inspiron One 2320 AIO (QuadCore i7-2600S 2.80GHz, 8gig Ram, 2TB HD) Windows 8.1


*List of WP8 Apps & Games at Full Screen Resolution, No Black Bars*


*My Surface Hints, Tips and Registry Tweaks Thread*


*My Leo Hints, Tips and Registry Tweaks Thread*


*Make your own HD2 self-contained Kickstand*
 
tamarasu
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 23
Join Date: Dec 2009
yes to revert simply delete the entry.




Quote:
Originally Posted by tboy2000 View Post
Do we just delete this entry to revert?
The Following User Says Thank You to tamarasu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tboy2000
Old
#7  
tboy2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 233
Posts: 1,517
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London
Works great. Will add to my tips thread. Best thing is that this makes us scroll less. Thank you.

Unlocked Samsung Ativ S 8.1
Dell Venue 8 Pro 64gb Windows 8.1
Dell Inspiron One 2320 AIO (QuadCore i7-2600S 2.80GHz, 8gig Ram, 2TB HD) Windows 8.1


*List of WP8 Apps & Games at Full Screen Resolution, No Black Bars*


*My Surface Hints, Tips and Registry Tweaks Thread*


*My Leo Hints, Tips and Registry Tweaks Thread*


*Make your own HD2 self-contained Kickstand*
 
Wupideedoo
Old
(Last edited by Wupideedoo; 7th January 2013 at 04:21 AM.)
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jan 2007
Nice!
 
wardo5757
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 152
Join Date: Mar 2010
I don't have the option to enable more tiles..
 
tamarasu
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 23
Join Date: Dec 2009
You must do the following to get 9 tiles in portrait mode.
Hold surface in portrait mode
Swipe for charms
Select settings charm
Select tiles
Turn on option for show more tiles. This option only appears in portrait mode.



Quote:
Originally Posted by wardo5757 View Post
I don't have the option to enable more tiles..

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes