FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

(MOD) how to add more rows of tiles on surface

23 posts
Thanks Meter: 44
 
By tamarasu, Junior Member on 6th January 2013, 11:01 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
guys and gals,


I have been searching for multiple days on a way to increase the number of rows that surface supports for metro apps. see below for the reg tweak:

1. open notepad
2. post following line:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00




[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Explorer\Scaling]

"MonitorSize"="12.1"

3. save as a .reg file
4. import into regedit
5. restart surface
6. enabled will be 4 rows and 9 rows in portrait when you go: settings: tiles: show more tiles



hope you all enjoy


edit: changed to 12.1 as you still get the 4 rows but the keyboard is bigger. any input is appreciated.
Last edited by tamarasu; 7th January 2013 at 03:10 AM.
The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to tamarasu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
6th January 2013, 11:12 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
It also shrinks the virtual keyboard down to an unusable size.
7th January 2013, 12:22 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
this is just round 1 in the tweak. researching keyboard size now....



Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80

It also shrinks the virtual keyboard down to an unusable size.

The Following User Says Thank You to tamarasu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th January 2013, 12:54 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
posted a slight change that should help. tested it on mine and the keyboard is more usable
The Following User Says Thank You to tamarasu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th January 2013, 01:16 AM |#5  
tboy2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 237
 
More
Do we just delete this entry to revert?
7th January 2013, 01:18 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
yes to revert simply delete the entry.




Quote:
Originally Posted by tboy2000

Do we just delete this entry to revert?

The Following User Says Thank You to tamarasu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th January 2013, 01:36 AM |#7  
tboy2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 237
 
More
Works great. Will add to my tips thread. Best thing is that this makes us scroll less. Thank you.
7th January 2013, 03:15 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Nice!
Last edited by Wupideedoo; 7th January 2013 at 04:21 AM.
7th January 2013, 03:37 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
I don't have the option to enable more tiles..
7th January 2013, 03:54 AM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
You must do the following to get 9 tiles in portrait mode.
Hold surface in portrait mode
Swipe for charms
Select settings charm
Select tiles
Turn on option for show more tiles. This option only appears in portrait mode.



Quote:
Originally Posted by wardo5757

I don't have the option to enable more tiles..

7th January 2013, 03:57 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamarasu

You must do the following to get 9 tiles in portrait mode.
Hold surface in portrait mode
Swipe for charms
Select settings charm
Select tiles
Turn on option for show more tiles. This option only appears in portrait mode.

Yep, that was it! Thanks!

---------- Post added at 09:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:56 PM ----------

Works great, I like it!

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes